We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
143
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kind regards time consuming eggs made to order helpful owners island resort seaplane transfer onward travel one night wonderful hosts excellent place to stay quality hotel nice bathroom stayed longer baked beans quick check welcome drink fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 157 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

This is a great BnB managed by a very warm, and lovely couple. Staying there for a night as we arrive late night. Room was clean and comfortable. The owner coordinated with our next resort on the transfer timing so everything went smoothly. Airport pick up was slightly later than expected as I couldn’t find anyone with the lodge signboard after exiting the arrival halls. Anyway we called lodge and waited not longer before the pick up. Breakfast is very nicely done and the owners took special care of our young boy during our stay.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank chiachiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaakanaaLodge, Manager at Maakanaa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you for staying at Maakanaa Lodge and for your kind comments and 5 star review.
Regarding airport pickup, we do send our rep with signboard for all arrivals if we know the flight number in advance, but because there are several flights very close together at certain times such as late evening, one of the below situations may sometimes arise:
- Guests miss our hotel rep as there are many reps from different hotels and arrivals area is crowded.
- Parking is not available as there are many vehicles from different hotels, so rep/driver waits outside in the car and goes inside to pick up guests from the information counter once they call.
- We have several guests from the same flight or flights very close together, and the car is not able to fit all guests together comfortably or guests who come out earlier will have to wait too long if combined. In this case, depending on the flight timings, the driver may have to drop off one group at the hotel first and go back for the others. But round trip between hotel and airport is about 30 minutes, so it will not be a very long wait even in this situation, and we will be able to give an estimated time once the guest arrives and calls us from the information counter.
Thank you once again, and we hope to host you on your next visit to the Maldives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Has value for money, it gives you a safe feeling , really clean and they are really hospitalble people, i couldn't ask for more and will totally recommend! I usually wanted to try other places but if you dont want to gamble your comfort and sleep then this is the place for you.

The only thing that should improve is the internet, speed is average its just that there are times that you'll be logged out or momentarily slow. But all in all, still the best.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Stayed overnight before catching the next morning flight to Dharavandhoo Island. The Lodge is new & clean & complimentary bottled water, tea & coffee is provided. Best of all, they provide a free pickup & drop off service from & to the airport which is only 10 minutes away. The beach is a short walk just on the next street from the Lodge.
The owners, Mr Habeeb & his wife, Mrs Shaheen, were wonderful hosts.
If you require a nice clean place for a short transit stay, we definitely recommend Maakanaa Lodge without hesitation!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YongHuaLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaakanaaLodge, Manager at Maakanaa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you for your stay and your lovely review and recommendation. We look forward to host you at Maakanaa Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

We are a couple and stayed at Maakanaa Lodge as our transit hotel before going back to Los Angeles. Im not the type that likes to write reviews but I feel like this is the only way I can thank the staff for making our brief stay enjoyable and stress free. The room was very clean and modern, all the basic things you need are provided. From arrival to departure Shaheen (owner) and her husband made us feel very comfortable. We stayed at 2 different 5-star resorts in Maldives before going to Maakanaa as our transit point and we're glad we chose this transit hotel, the service that Shaheen and staff provided exceeded the service provided by the 2 other resorts we stayed in. Staff would go out of their way to meet your needs. Excellent communication even before we arrived. The owners even escoted us to the car when we departed. There are too many good things to say about this place. If you need a transit place while in Male/Hulhumale then Maakanaa Lodge is the place to be !!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chrismandia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Hotel is nice. Good bathroom, good airco. The hotel has different type of beds (hard/less hard). Pick up from and drop off to airport service worked well. Owners are very nice. Hotel has now elevators.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CaSc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews