We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Gite in Stunning Rural France!”
other travellers have booked this property
Chill out at the pool overlooking the rolling vineyards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chill out at the pool overlooking the rolling vineyards
Relax in the hammock under the shade of the mulberry tree Your fully decked dining and relaxing area with a barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Chill out at the pool overlooking the rolling vineyards
Relax in the hammock under the shade of the mulberry tree
Your fully decked dining and relaxing area with a barbecue
A view of the vines from the pool
The bedroom with amazing oak beams and comfortable king sized bed
The 'day bed' or spare single, for relaxing or reading and the traditional dressing table.
The bathroom with large walk-in shower area, fully tiled and spacious
The living area with stone fireplace housing log burner, comfortable seating and old French dresser
Dining and fully equipped kitchen area with washer and dishwasher
The living area with a view on to the gardens and pool
The contemporary kitchen with everything you need to cook your purchases from the French markets
The mulberry tree and relaxing seating area
The old hangar with captivating views across the valley and the summer lavender in bloom
Vineyard views across the valley
A summers evening glass of rosé
The picturesque River Dordogne - 10 minutes away
The beautiful Saint Émilion, a world UNESCO site with plenty of superb restaurants and bars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Auriolles, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sherpa365...
1 review
“Beautiful Gite in Stunning Rural France!”
Reviewed October 31, 2019 for a stay in October 2019

The vineyard views looking out from our gite were amazing!
The stylish gite was perfect. It was scrupulously clean, very very comfortable and exceptionally well equipped. We enjoyed cooking there especially with the local fresh ingredients. There was a lovely welcome basket of food and wine on our arrival.
Thank you to Mike and Penny for your hospitality, enthusiasm and excellent knowledge of the local area and beyond.
We visited Bordeaux, Saint-Émilion and some wonderful vineyards and markets nearby.
The area is great for running. There are some wonderful scenic running routes along the quiet roads, rural areas and vineyards in this beautiful region of France.
Le Cousserat is the ideal venue for total relaxation and rejuvenation.
We hope to come back soon!

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anonI9373...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cycling Heaven!”
Reviewed October 30, 2019 for a stay in October 2019

First of all the hosts, Mike and Penny are very welcoming and the gites are very well appointed, situated in the heart of French wine country.

This is also superb road cycling country with good surfaced undulating roads and vineyards either side. It's easy to do different routes in any direction from Cousserat - each way is fantastic scenery. Recommend cycling to the wine 'capital' St Emilion which is only about an hour away - a 60k round trip. The roads are very quiet, even the main roads - and of course French drivers respect cyclists.

There are cafes, bars and chateaus for refreshments and when you get back to the gite there's always time for a swim. Mike was kind enough to allow me to keep my bike under lock and key in the barn.

Thoroughly recommend Cousserat, even in October we had superb weather.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baz1M
Comber, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Relaxing”
Reviewed September 17, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation was great with everything you needed, and a very well equipped kitchen. Mike and Penny, the hosts, were very informative, helpful and friendly. The gite was immaculate with outside seating looking over the expansive garden and neighbouring vines. Good pool and sun loungers. All furniture, inside and out were of a good quality. This was a lovely location, peaceful with great roads to walk along and very little traffic. We would be happy to return.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfection in South West France”
Reviewed June 30, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

I cant think of anything not to like about this lovely place. Set in a rural setting idyllically peaceful yet close enough to many small picturesque towns a visit here is a must. The gites themselves are spacious & beautifully decorated with modern appliances. My wife & I stayed in one part of the gite which had 2 bedrooms whilst my daughter & her husband stayed in the 1 bedroom accomodation. The grounds were substantal with numerous tables chairs & areas shaded by trees which made our alfresco dining fun as we were able to adjust where we sat according to how warm it was.The swimming pool was well used (we were here in the heatwave) with plenty of loungers & umbrellas. There was also a table tennis table & bats which we made use of.The whole enjoyable experience was made complete by the hosts Penny & Mike who couldnt have been more welcoming & helpful nothing was too much trouble for them the love & hard work that they have obviously put into to this venture makes a visit a no brainer.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2019
Thank you for your amazing review Gilly! You were fantastic guests and we really enjoyed getting to know you. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to keep as cool as possible during the hottest recorded June in France. We hope you return one day - thank you again. Penny & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire72...
2 reviews
“A great place to watch the wine growing and more”
Reviewed October 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A wonderful calm gite, beautifully decorated, surrounded by vineyards growing wine. Penny and Mike have a pretty as a picture of a holiday home set in the French countryside, which is the perfect way to escape the pressures of a modern hectic life. There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas, Penny and Mike arranged for us to visit the local wine maker, there is a local micro brewery for craft beer and plenty of French markets taking place almost every day in the nearby local towns and villages. We spent our time being tourists, shopping and then cooking our purchases and sunbathing by the pool. There is no light pollution so the sight of Venus and Mars lit up by the full moon was just perfect. The gite is a home from home, very comfortable with one of the most comfy beds ever and I took away some décor ideas too! The peace and quiet (and the sunshine) was a perfect end to a busy year and we came home refreshed and relaxed ready for the oncoming winter. Thank you so much Penny and Mike and may your gite always be full - Sally & John xx

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2018
Thanks for your kind words Sally and John. It was great to meet you and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to unwind and relax. We hope your visit to Cousserat does keep you going the whole winter and that you come back to recharge again in the future. Penny & Mike xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a very relaxing stay at Le Peuplier. Everything was just right. The gite the pool, the location and the hosts.
We can thoroughly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review Helen, we really appreciate it. It's fabulous that you were able to relax and unwind at Le Peuplier. You were great guests and we look forward to seeing you again some day. Best wishes,
Penny & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture73...
1 review
“A lovely quiet retreat”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Nestled in amongst the vines the location is peaceful. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Gite comfortable, swimming pool unheated at present so rely on warm weather to warm it up. Plenty to daily markets to visit and lots of lovely buildings to explore.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased you found all the information we provided for you before and during your stay so helpful. Happily, the weather is now back to normality - sun, sun, sun - and the pool is currently at a balmy 26 degrees :). We note from your very positive feedback in our visitor’s book that you would return to Le Peuplier and hope to welcome you back again. Penny & Mike.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.