We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most stunning homes I've ever stayed...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Atelier House

Day space and mezznine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night
Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Infinity pool viewed through the entrance hall
Lush planting all around the half acre garden
Infinity pool and sea views
Pool deck and day space
Sunset over the pool - perfect place t start your evening
Another sunset!
Master bedroom with expansive sea views
Master bedroom with covered terrace
Limestone throughout bathrooms
Bedroom adjacent to the pool and sun deck
Dusk at the front of the house
Roof terrace
Approaching Atelier from the front garden
Sunny roof terrace
Stunning living/entertaining space
Breakfast bar and pool/sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lower Carlton, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
Wow, Tim, that's a stellar Review. Thank you.
We might be able help with your final comment too:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claudette...
1 review
“Perfect Family Vacation Home Rental”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had the most wonderful vacation at Atelier House. The location was perfect and welcoming. The home offered views of the ocean and the lush green landscape. Upon arrival to Barbados, we intended to explore this beautiful island but instead most days we opted to lounge around the beautiful infinity pool. With the open layout of the home, it felt as if we were residing in an all inclusive resort. Kudos to Mollie and Donna for making the home so comfortable. We certainly did appreciate Chef Dale's innovative meals. We would return to Atelier House in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineL...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Loved loved loved it here!

The house is amazing, on top of a hill, incredible views, very well maintained outside, could do with a lick of paint, some new doors and beds inside. It is four bedrooms but one is two single so not suitable for 4 couples.

Chef Jen was amazing and the cleaning staff were good although be careful with washing anything expensive, i think the water and detergents there are not the best.

Food was great, views incredible just a few little maintenance tweaks to be made. Loved the open lounge although it could do with some extra aircon units in there as they are only in the bedrooms and it can get very hot.

Would highly recommend and would go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expeditio...
1 review
“Beautiful home that becomes part of the natural surroundings.”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Atelier House is the perfect design for letting you enjoy a comfortable, relaxing home while naturally bringing the beautiful outdoor surroundings into the house. The interior relationship to the outdoor courtyard space is amazing. The doors opening up across the first floor make it feel as if you are always connected to the valley.
The view of the ocean across the infinity pool is perfect. The openness brings the house functions together and provides a natural gathering place where the view is stunning morning, noon and night. The perfect place to enjoy Barbados

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin t
2 reviews
“OH MY GOSH”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

So I am lucky enough to have stayed in some lovely places over my 53 yrs on this mortal coil...I found this beautiful house on multiple websites and was immediately smitten...can I just say the pictures online , although beautiful , don't do the scale and beauty of the place full justice . Sean the owner is an absolute gent ...although other 3rd party charlatans advertise atelier house without the owners permission he was a dream to deal with. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Donna who looked after us like kings for our 10 days in the house...Sean had hooked us up with chef Dale for our stay too ...an investment well worth making ...his curry night was awesome!!!..the house views are amazing we have stayed many times on the beach but for me this place tops them all including sandy lane.im sitting here working out how to go back and I've only just landed back in the UK .if u are looking at this house and u aren't sure please please please don't look anywhere else ...it's a game changer thank you molly and Donna thank you chef Dale but mostly thank you Sean the owner for building and allowing me to stay in the best house I will ever sleep in ...Martin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Oh my gosh indeed Martin. Thanks for such a glowing review. Hope to welcome you back some time..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triciakel...
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic holiday at Atelier House”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My lovely mum took our whole family to this beautiful villa. It really is the most spacious luxurious villa we have ever stayed In. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spacious with the master bedroom having a small balcony with magnificent view. The infinity pool and breath taking view of the Caribbean Sea are one of the best views you will see in Barbados. Sitting , having an evening drink by the pool and watching the most magnificent sunsets was truly wonderful.
The maids - Donna and Molly made our stay so welcome and nothing was of too much trouble. The Chef Ricardo cooked us some delightful meals especially the flying fish and garlic Prawns. He was always more than happy to cater for more guests when friends dropped in.
All in all I would highly recommend Ateluer House - it was just so relaxing, peaceful with first class accommodation and stunning location. I am not sure if I would return to a hotel again except for the watersports for the children. Getting to the beach was very easy and only 5 mins , however I would recommend you have a car.
One of our highlights was taking a sail from Bridgetown up the West Coast - snorkelling with Turtles and drinking too many Rum punches!!

We hope to return to Paradise again soon !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thanks for your kind words Tricia. So glad you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Architectural awe and congenial staff affording a magical and unforgettable stay.”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our mixed group of extended family and friends, with ages ranging from 18-80 all throughly enjoyed their stay. The well mediated design afforded the utmost luxury to every member of the group throughout the stay, with the house and its grounds offering space and comfort in a range of different guises. The whole design of the building is breathtaking and really a sight to behold, not to mention the well considered spaces that are consistent throughout the house, from the open living area to the private outdoor spaces/ balconies assigned to the main double bedrooms; one of which is attributed with astonishing views out towards the west coast line of the island from. The sublime architecture also allows these same views to be enjoyed from the shower in this room. The interiors and artwork have been perfectly curated in each room which effortlessly gives each room its' character and provides subtle references to Bajan history and life on the island.

The staff servicing the house constantly went above and beyond their duty to make our stay as special and memorable as possible. From the minute we arrived to the second we left we were made to feel welcome, with our every wish met and then some. They made sure the whole trip went swimmingly with no drama what so ever. The whole team (Deb, Donna, Molly and Anthony) became part of the family somewhat. More often than not we opted to sample the culinary delights of the house chef Anthony; unfortunately, there aren't yet the words in the english language to quite afford his talents the acclaim they deserve. We offered him a oneway ticket and a full time job at our house, to which he politely declined. Sunny Manchester clearly not enough to entice him away from that awful Bajan climate he has to endure.

The Location of the property also suited us perfectly. set up in the hills that provide the sensational panoramic views, you are still only a short walk from local amenities such as the convenience store, Mullins beach as well as the reverent Mullins' bar. I would personally recommend a morning run or brisk walk between 6-7:30 am to Mullins' beach to enjoy the warm charm of the locals, spot sting rays, turtles and their babies and enjoy a calm swim. The house itself being set back from the main road up the hill offered sublime peace and quiet; the house isn't overlooked at any point, allowing you to relax feeling as though you're the only people on the island. As somebody who isn't keen on the idea of returning to the same place for a holiday, I can honestly say this is somewhere where I will be returning time and time again. It is perfect for families and large groups to make lasting memories in paradise, whilst enjoying the height of luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and pleasure afforded by the Architectural design and the hospitality of the staff.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Wow Josh, what can I say, thank you. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing