We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Colonial on Arundel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadium Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Roys At The Sea(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishops Inn(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Chapman Manor House(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
227
18
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drive with conorat homeb baddo areawonderful hostsgreat gameprivate safariguided toursouth africasecond visitsweet doglip balmdetailed informationrestaurants in the areasuperb experiencenice couplecitrus orchards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have been to the Colonial at Arundel twice now, both times with family from the United States. As a group of 4 adults and 3 children under age 5, we loved that in this intimate location of only 2 rooms, we adults were able to enjoy our stay while the children could be children as there were no other guests to disturb. Molly and Conor went out of their way to make everyone feel at home and were of great assistance when a sick child needed medication on a public holiday! When my 4 year old accidently broke a pane of glass, Molly handled the situation with a calm demeanor that I can only hope to replicate in my own home should the situation ever present itself.

The on-site dinner was amazing and the perfect meal to arrive to after a days drive from Outdshoorn. Molly kindly prepared a kid-friendly pizza dinner for the kids upon arrival, which allowed them to eat and go to bed before the adults sat down to one of the best dinners we've ever had. With Addo only a 15 minute drive away, I was able to take the early-rising child for a lovely self-drive and return for breakfast while my husband slept. The made-to-order breakfasts were a huge hit, and we loved that the large yard allowed us to excuse the children to play while we finished eating.

Overall, I can't think of a single detail that was overlooked in making this a family friendly, amazing 3 day stay for all of us! Should you visit, do go to Addo park of course, but consider going to the Daniel Cheetah Farm for an amazing encounter with cheetahs and baby lions! Schotia safaris are also amazing- we saw a lion pride eating a kill, hippos out of the water, and a baby lion less than a month old!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely and have private pools!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We've been in South Africa now for 3 weeks staying at B&Bs and guesthouses. The rooms here are excellent, very large, well laid out and comfortable. We had one dinner here which was really outstanding and very reasonably priced, which was due to Molly's cooking skills that also showed in the great breakfasts. On our game drive to Addo with Conor he was able to sight several animals such as 3 caracals that we had never seen before in the wild despite other safaris in east Africa. One morning we told Molly of some difficulties we were having arranging a cultural tour of a Zulu area at our next stop. She got on the phone with contacts and promptly helped arrange it all (we have now done the tour and it was excellent). Similarly, she was able to get us into a special Sunday performance of the Drakensberg Boys Choir, after she learned we wanted to do that but would not be there for the Wednesday one. We cannot say enough good things about all the help and assistance both Molly and Conor gave us both to improve our stay in the Addo area and to make later parts of our trip better. The Colonial is a great location, very pleasant grounds, excellent rooms and with incredible hosts. You can't go wrong with it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Colonial At Arundel – It was the best B&B we have experienced in our many trips to South Africa.. We had a lovely time – the Drive in Addo NP with Connor was amazing – he is so knowledgeable! We loved the elephants and it was a bonus being able to see lion (even though they were a long way off!). Thank you for the lovely evening meal too – the steak was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and we even managed to relax by the pool for a short time!!

We would recommend you to anyone wanting to visit Addo and will certainly tell all our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerksJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you want to be looked after in comfort, you won't be disappointed at the Colonial. You will be treated much more as "a paying guest" with Conor to take you on a guided tour of Addo. While I understand that it may be necessary to put notices up about "dos and don'ts", it just detracts slightly from the excellence of Molly and Conor's hospitality, reminding you that it is a B+B, but at least 4 star
I liked their follow up email, to say that they hoped that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Colonial for a 4 night stay with friends we relaxed. Our suite was luxurious with private pool, and we were extremely well looked after and fed like fighting cocks. Molly's cooking is to die for, likewise Conor's charm, friendliness and knowledge of game. We had one of the best, if not the best, game drives we have ever had due to Conor's experience. We also learned a lot about the Addo area. We hope to return as it was absolutely brilliant! Many thanks to Molly and Conor for arranging visits to other game parks for us. Best wishes also to labrador Zach!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews