We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality and Lots of Laughter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonial on Arundel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colonial on Arundel
Ranked #1 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality and Lots of Laughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was our 3rd visit to The Colonial on Arundel and each time we arrive to find something new (or old) has been added to enhance the experience. This is a lovely colonial home set in a beautiful garden amongst the citrus orchards. Each spacious room is beautifully furnished and has its own lounge and en-suite bathroom so big one could have a party in it. Each suite now has the use of its own private pool and there is a lovely old ball and claw bath with hot and cold running water set up high on a wooden deck overlooking a pond where you can either chill out or wallow - depending on the weather. The beds are really comfortable and the fridge is well stocked.

Molly is a gracious hostess and ensures that her guests have everything they could possibly require whilst Conor entertains with his wicked sense of humour. Unfortunately we arrived very late on this visit and couldn't fit in a game drive with Conor but would recommend that if you spend a couple of days here you should really go to the Addo Elephant Park with him. We have been to the park on our own several times and couldn't believe how much more we learnt and saw with Conor at the wheel.

We didn't get to sample Molly's cooking due to a change in our plans and a last minute booking but we had a very good TBone steak at a restaurant just a few kilometres away. The rave reviews about Molly's food are just another reason to make this one of our favourite B&B's in the country!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
177
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have been to the Colonial at Arundel twice now, both times with family from the United States. As a group of 4 adults and 3 children under age 5, we loved that in this intimate location of only 2 rooms, we adults were able to enjoy our stay while the children could be children as there were no other guests to disturb. Molly and Conor went out of their way to make everyone feel at home and were of great assistance when a sick child needed medication on a public holiday! When my 4 year old accidently broke a pane of glass, Molly handled the situation with a calm demeanor that I can only hope to replicate in my own home should the situation ever present itself.

The on-site dinner was amazing and the perfect meal to arrive to after a days drive from Outdshoorn. Molly kindly prepared a kid-friendly pizza dinner for the kids upon arrival, which allowed them to eat and go to bed before the adults sat down to one of the best dinners we've ever had. With Addo only a 15 minute drive away, I was able to take the early-rising child for a lovely self-drive and return for breakfast while my husband slept. The made-to-order breakfasts were a huge hit, and we loved that the large yard allowed us to excuse the children to play while we finished eating.

Overall, I can't think of a single detail that was overlooked in making this a family friendly, amazing 3 day stay for all of us! Should you visit, do go to Addo park of course, but consider going to the Daniel Cheetah Farm for an amazing encounter with cheetahs and baby lions! Schotia safaris are also amazing- we saw a lion pride eating a kill, hippos out of the water, and a baby lion less than a month old!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely and have private pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We've been in South Africa now for 3 weeks staying at B&Bs and guesthouses. The rooms here are excellent, very large, well laid out and comfortable. We had one dinner here which was really outstanding and very reasonably priced, which was due to Molly's cooking skills that also showed in the great breakfasts. On our game drive to Addo with Conor he was able to sight several animals such as 3 caracals that we had never seen before in the wild despite other safaris in east Africa. One morning we told Molly of some difficulties we were having arranging a cultural tour of a Zulu area at our next stop. She got on the phone with contacts and promptly helped arrange it all (we have now done the tour and it was excellent). Similarly, she was able to get us into a special Sunday performance of the Drakensberg Boys Choir, after she learned we wanted to do that but would not be there for the Wednesday one. We cannot say enough good things about all the help and assistance both Molly and Conor gave us both to improve our stay in the Addo area and to make later parts of our trip better. The Colonial is a great location, very pleasant grounds, excellent rooms and with incredible hosts. You can't go wrong with it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Colonial At Arundel – It was the best B&B we have experienced in our many trips to South Africa.. We had a lovely time – the Drive in Addo NP with Connor was amazing – he is so knowledgeable! We loved the elephants and it was a bonus being able to see lion (even though they were a long way off!). Thank you for the lovely evening meal too – the steak was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and we even managed to relax by the pool for a short time!!

We would recommend you to anyone wanting to visit Addo and will certainly tell all our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerksJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you want to be looked after in comfort, you won't be disappointed at the Colonial. You will be treated much more as "a paying guest" with Conor to take you on a guided tour of Addo. While I understand that it may be necessary to put notices up about "dos and don'ts", it just detracts slightly from the excellence of Molly and Conor's hospitality, reminding you that it is a B+B, but at least 4 star
I liked their follow up email, to say that they hoped that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Colonial for a 4 night stay with friends we relaxed. Our suite was luxurious with private pool, and we were extremely well looked after and fed like fighting cocks. Molly's cooking is to die for, likewise Conor's charm, friendliness and knowledge of game. We had one of the best, if not the best, game drives we have ever had due to Conor's experience. We also learned a lot about the Addo area. We hope to return as it was absolutely brilliant! Many thanks to Molly and Conor for arranging visits to other game parks for us. Best wishes also to labrador Zach!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed there for 3 Nights at the end of February, it was a perfect start for our holidays there. Molly and Connor are great hosts, the dinner excellence and all the sourroundings they are giving to you are just perfect. And alo not to forget the Hous-Dog Zack, which is amazing.
Everytime again!! Thank you Molly and Connor again for this wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollomuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunland
1.2 km away
Africanos Country Estate
2.7 km away
Woodall Country House and Spa
5.0 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
5.7 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
13.3 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial on Arundel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial on Arundel

Property: The Colonial on Arundel
Address: Arundel Farm, Rietfontein Road | 12 kms from Addo Elephant Park, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonial on Arundel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, "Colonial Africa" is the theme in architecture, decor, setting and atmosphere of The Colonial on Arundel. Nestling in citrus orchards on a working farm, only 10 minutes from the malaria free Addo Elephant National Park, this 4 star 2-suite facility offers understated luxury, coupled with relaxed, friendly attention, and is enhanced by highly acclaimed cuisine. Each suite has private entrance, its own private lounge and private swimming pool. Attention to detail in the suites is a trademark of Molly's personality...luxury guest amenities, toweling gowns, tea & coffee facilities, safes, swimming towels, coffee table books and magazines, alarm clock. In-house safaris with Conor, the owner and a registered guide, to the Addo Elephant National Park, will enhance your African adventure. These tours are undertaken in a air-conditioned vehicle and offer the visitor an experience in wildlife, culture and unforgettable scenery. Conor and Molly have created a truly special place that goes to the very heart of relaxation and comfort. Within easy reach are mountain walks, horse-riding, elephant back safaris, farm excursions, cheetah breeding farm tours and visits into nearby private reserves. The Colonial is truly a place where our guests leave as friends, to return time and time again. The warm welcome feeling extends right down to our Head of Public Relations, Marley the Labrador, who successfully creeps into everyone's heart. Within a 45-minute drive of Port Elizabeth Airport and the beaches, and also the gateway to the Karoo, as well as to the Garden Route to Cape Town, The Colonial on Arundel is truly the desirable Eastern Cape place to be in every respect. Welcome to the real Africa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing