We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful hidden gem!”
other traveller has booked this property
Dusk picture of the front porch and entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk picture of the front porch and entrance
Our super comfy queen beds with custom wood headboards that you just have to sleep in to believe! Early morning grazing wildlife on the 4km stretch from the main road to Isaac House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Dusk picture of the front porch and entrance
Our super comfy queen beds with custom wood headboards that you just have to sleep in to believe!
Early morning grazing wildlife on the 4km stretch from the main road to Isaac House
Side view of the house. We use solar energy for water heating
Large porch where you can hang out or enjoy your meals. We have great weather almost all year!
Large porch where you can hang out or enjoy your meals. We have great weather almost all year!
Porch seat for two -
 with awesome views of the Lukenya hills
Our rustic main door - a promise of what's to come!
Detail of the main door
Welcome to Isaac House! Our main house has 7 rooms and we have 4 extra adjacent annex rooms.
Double sided fireplace means a fire can be lit on the porch or the house side!
Fireplace detail
Comfortable sitting room area. The huge windows let in lots of light and have bay seats.
Bar area overlooking the kitchen
Our rustic wood kitchen fitted with modern appliances- stove, microwave, fridge, freezer & toaster
Our rustic wood kitchen fitted with modern appliances- stove, microwave, fridge, freezer & toaster
Our custom extra-large dining table easily seats 12
Wrought iron staircase leading to upper floors
A couple of our rooms have double queens
Our penthouse suite with great views from the large windows
Towels provided in the rooms
Each room has a safe for valuables
Spacious, well lit bathrooms in each of our 11 rooms.
Welcome! We can't wait to host you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Athi River, Eastern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

719samg
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 22, 2020 for a stay in December 2020

Totally loved the getaway! Ambience is stunning and the service exemplary. Keep it up !
The chef had an array of foods to choose from. Very impressed with the landscaping . Kids has alot of activities to do

Date of stay: December 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agraham20...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible”
Reviewed June 7, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
2
people found this review helpful

This is my second time staying at Isaac House. I returned because I loved it so much. The hospitality is amazing. Great food. Very clean rooms. Hot shower. Beautiful views. Beautiful vegetation and gardens. Lukenya Getaway is next door and you can take advantage of their amenities and see their impalas! A couple highlights at Isaac House is their large front porch, their gazebo with fire pit for great late night chats, and then a large living room for hanging out. Then the motorcross is very close where we rode ATVs into the hills and saw zebra, giraffe, gazelles, and wildebeest with incredible views. I’m looking forward to continuing to bring friends to Isaac House! A true gem of Kenya.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolarinwa
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed November 19, 2018 for a stay in November 2018
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I visited Isaac House in November 2018 and we were blown away by the the breathtaking view of Lukenya hills and the serene surroundings.
If you’re up early enough at dawn, get ready to view some wildlife grazing in the vicinity.
This is definitely our most restful experience of 2018!
Thank you Isaac House for a beautiful time with you.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireneoyli...
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Out of Africa" Karen Blixon's house feel to this "Issac House"”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

As a first time visitor to Kenya from the US, I found this wonderful 7 guest room resort house/experience at beautiful Lukenya Hills reminiscent of Karen Blixon's house from "Out of Africa" - a place I have been dreaming about for years. This house just gave me that deep feeling of natural beauty, history, home comfort & serenity as I settled into the guest house.

No idea what kind of sweet hospitality treat we were in for when we met the house's incredible staff upon arrival - who cared meticulously and cooked spectacular meals for us for 3 days (breakfast inside and evening dinners in the veranda). We stayed at the beautiful penthouse bedroom suite on the 3rd story. I asked for some hospitality requests of the staff and on the next day the owners made sure I got them right away. First class global hospitality and care!

This is a great guest house for corporate, family and business retreats for a dozen plus travelers/vacationers from any place in the world. For me (as a former hospitality executive for 250 hotel properties in America) this property is a house with SOUL and care that will bring peace, serenity and comfort to any traveler and party/team.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Hi Irene, thank you so much for your lovely review! We truly enjoyed hosting you and your group. We look forward to keeping in touch and to hosting you again in the future! Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanfan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Blessed Kenyan Retreat”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We got to stay here with our team of 11 while attending a conference in the area. The house easily fit all of us, and the on-site chef and staff provided great food and service. It was a blessing to have our own space to relax and enjoy the surrounding nature, including some visiting monkeys.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Hi Emmanuel, thanks for your review! We were blessed to host your team for three days you stayed with us. Look forward to seeing you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanceskil...
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful escape into nature and just a short drive outside Nairobi. The house was beautiful inside and out. We would definitely visit again!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Hi Lance, thanks for your great review! Thanks too for staying with us. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to seeing you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must-see garden haven! ”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Isaac house is the perfect place to stay while visiting Nairobi! Just outside the city, the house sits on beautiful land next to a wild life park. The gardens at the house are stunning, but that's nothing in comparison to the team of locals who work there. They are so kind and welcoming and make the best food. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay with a large group, then Isaac house is the place for you!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Hi Alex, thanks so much for staying with us and for your review. So glad you got to see some of the wonderful wildlife on the way to the house. Our team loved hosting you. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.