We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolultely perfect - very cosy and well...”

Review of Red Cottage

The Red Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Red Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The Red Cottage
Fire Place in Lounge
Reading corner in the livign room
View from Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
The Twin Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Upstairs landing
Beamed double room
Double Room
Cosy beamed double room
Kitchen
Breakfast in the Garden
Cottage courtyard
Stow-on-the-Wold 1 mile from Cottage. Lots of wonderful shops, restaurants and tea rooms.
Bibury Village 8 Miles from Cottage
Stanton 4 miles from village (fantastic walk Snowshill to Stanton)
Our family picnic in Lower Slaughter couple of miles from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie R
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolultely perfect - very cosy and well appointed.”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Red Cottage with my husband and two teenage daughters plus our labrador. The cottage was perfect. It was very comfortable and had a lovely homely feel. The courtyard garden was perfect to relax and soak up some sun. The cottage catered for all our needs. The wood burning stove was very cosy. The location was fabulous with a local and very friendly pub ( The Fox). There was a lovely village green with swings which even my teenage girls enjoyed. A perfect base for seeing the Cotwolds. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all perfect.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our cottage. We are always looking for ways to make our guests stay's as pleasant as possible. Hope you return to the Cotswolds again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireeh2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect, away from it all cottage”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had an incredible weekend in Red Cottage. Broadwell couldn't have been more perfect and the cottage was like something from a film! The cottage had that lovely rustic cottage feel whilst still being cosy and clean.

Red Cottage is the perfect spot to feel away from it all whilst on the doorstep for exploring plenty of Cotswolds highlights. By car we visited Broadway, Bourton on the water and the slaughters. We also managed a 4 hour walk on Sunday, along with a visit to the church for harvist service. We couldn't have been more welcomed by everyone we met and we couldn't have been sadder to leave!

We enjoyed breakfast in the garden every morning and didn't even leave the cottage on 2 out of the 3 evenings - instead too tempted to stay in front of the fire!

Both the twin room along with a vaulted loft double room were charming, well sized and perfect for retiring to after a night of (rather competitive) board games!

The cottage is placed on a quiet street away from the "centre" of the village. The village is untouched by Cotwolds tourism with simply one pub and a church, we hadn't wanted to stay in the heart of a busy area so this was perfect for us.

The owners John and Stephanie were incredibly helpful and friendly, we will certainly be back!



Claire x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Not having a shower head holder
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at our cottage, and would certainly love you to return.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What makes Red Cottage special is the fact that it feels like a proper home with all the little touches. The facilities are good and the log burner lovely, the owners provide wood etc for the first night (I would recommend buying wood in advance of your stay to give it time to dry out as the local wood can be a tad damp). Being tall I did hit my head a few time on the beams in the top room but that's more my fault after a few glasses of wine! Quality of beds/bedding was great and resulted in late mornings!!

Thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
We are really pleased you liked our cottage, and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
Lightwater
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely well equipped property in superb location”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Red Cottage was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and in a lovely, quiet Cotswold village. I would recommend this cottage for anyone who wishes to explore the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Liked least: Banging my head on low ceilings!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and also enjoyed exploring the Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnsh...
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best we have stayed in”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was the best we have ever stayed in - description was accurate and everything you could possibly need was provided. However, if you are Male, Tall, Bald & Stupid like me "Mind your head" and remember it is a cottage with low doorways. The cottage was very clean and a joy to stay in. The surrounding Cotswolds are extremely lovely and the cottage is ideally placed for touring the area. Very many thanks to the owners for a holiday to remembered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was all very good
Liked least: we have no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thanks very much, glad you had a lovely holiday. Sorry about the bumps on your head, people must of been much shorter when the cottage was built, being 5 foot I have never had a problem :)... thanks again and I hope we can welcome you to the cottage again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Xmas Cottage & Location”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with Husband and another couple. Very well equipped cottage and really comfy beds. Special thanks to John and Stephanie for personally decorating the cottage with Xmas decorations which was done beautifully. (we appreciate the distance you came to do this,also thanks for the Turkey tray.) We visited Morton in the Marsh Market held every Tuesday well worth a visit and we were able to buy all local fresh produce. Christmas Eve we booked a meal in the local pub the Fox very good food (Chef has MBE for cooking for the troops in Afghan etc). Xmas Day lit the log fire meandered to the local at lunch time and made to feel welcome by the locals. Broadwell is a very pretty village and in a great location to visit the Cotswolds, Stratford and Oxford all within easy reach.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you liked the cottage, and I agree it is a lovely location for Christmas. I hope you come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipholu...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably better in Summer”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very pretty, well equipped and well placed for touring the Cotswolds.
However it smelt strongly of Dog (maybe the previous occupants, or a permanent state, don't know), had to use a lot of Febreze every day. The heating was supposedly on a timed system but didn't seem to work so I ended up controlling it manually which was a nuisance,
especially having to switch on the water before showering. (But again it might be that this is down to a previous occupant tinkering with the system).
I think it would be super in the summer, but a bit dismal in October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Chilly
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing