We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jack S
London, United Kingdom

A very convenient hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 16, 2019
This was a very convenient hotel in which to spend a night on our journey through this part of France. We were made welcome on our arrival, the room was adequately furnished and the bed comfortable. The attached restaurant provided us with a very good meal and, by choosing items from the menu of the day, we agreed tha it was good value for money. Useful if you are touring in this area.
Date of stay: July 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$202
C$180
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
9.1 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
C$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$124
9.1 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
C$119
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
9.1 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • hotelF1
    C$53
  • StayForLong
9.2 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$155
9.2 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Brit Hotel Saintes Espace Petit déjeuner
C$111
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$111
9.2 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Guest room with queen bed(s)
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$107
  • Expedia.com
    C$112
9.2 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$103
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.3 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$243
C$232
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$232
9.5 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE SUPERIEURE
C$110
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$110
9.6 km from Domaine des Chais
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thenac
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
36
24
21
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
24
21
9
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We spent one night at the hotel on our way to Bordeaux. I knew we had a room “à l’etage” but we weren’t warned that access was by a very steep wooden staircase. No problem for us but care was needed. And it definitely wouldn’t be suitable for anyone unfit or with any mobility problems. The room itself was big, with a good-sized bathroom. The wi-fi didn’t work.

We sat in the grounds after our arrival and enjoyed the surroundings.

We were the only guests in the hotel and in the restaurant that evening. We had a lovely meal and the owner was friendly and attentive.

Because of the history of the building I don’t see how access to the rooms could be improved, which is a shame.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MarBen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luc S, Propriétaire at Domaine des Chais, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour, désolé nous ne savions pas que vous étiez handicapée car, nous avons une chambre adaptée pour vous au RDC sachez le pour votre prochain passage chez nous. Agréable journée à vous. Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

This place could be wonderful but everything just isn't quite right. The ornamental fountain dominated by a big black plastic pond pump sums the place up for me.

Our first issue was that we booked a room with two beds but we were then told that the room would have to be a double. So we paid more to get a room to sleep 3. But the extra bed felt rickety and unstable so we reverted to sharing the double bed.

The hotel is not good for those with any kind of accessibility problems or infirmity. The entrance to the main road has a large conservatory affair perched on blocks which are a trip hazard for anyone. The rooms are up very very steep stairs so need to be taken with care.

Then finally the meal was a disappointment. The chef clearly has some great skills: the traditional fish soup we were served was excellent, and meat was cooked to perfection. But some dishes just failed: e.g. scallops served with mango is a combination not to be tried again. Most dishes were given a liberal swirl of balsamic syrup as if it was supposed to show some kind of culinary flair.

Staff were all very friendly although we felt the proprietor was a little over familiar with customers, and not much else except telling the staff how to do their jobs.

We really can't understand how this place has got such high ratings from Logis. It may have been 'up there' at one time but it certainly wasn't the evening we stayed.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisH-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here one evening on my way through purely based on its convenient location just off the motorway.

Well I got a lot more than I expected, the rooms are fantastic and extremely spacious, the wifi signal in the rooms is great with decent speeds, the people are very accommodating, and the meal served was very tasty including the expertise on cognac!

I would definitely go again and would recommend this place to anybody going to this area

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We stayed at this Logis hotel overnight on our way from Spain to U.K. It was built in the 1700's and converted into a hotel relatively recently. Each room has a theme, we were in the Mediterranean room, which was large, with an enormous ensuite bathroom. We were very comfortable. The restaurant is in the same beautiful building. The restaurant closes at 9:00pm and we realised we wouldn't make it in time due to traffic in Bordeaux. We called to explain and the chef waited so that he could cook for us! That's what I call customer service. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreadawn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We found the hotel easily and we're delighted to find that I had booked the Bridal Suite although not yet married! A magnificent room with all mod cons. Lovely shower and enormous bathtub. However the highlight was the delicious meal served in the courtyard in the evening. I wish I had know about their swimming pool. It was well hidden in the grounds and the weather was perfect for a swim.

Room tip: Bridal suite (referred to as married room) has access up stairs which could be difficult for some people.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luc S, Gérant at Domaine des Chais, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup au plaisir de vous revoir pour que je puisse vous ouvrir la piscine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews