We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Rosa(Abano Terme)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Formentin(Abano Terme)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aqua(Abano Terme)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mioni Pezzato(Abano Terme)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AbanoRitz Thermae & Wellness Hotel(Abano Terme)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$163
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Savoia Thermae & SPA(Abano Terme)
US$138
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
228
188
42
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
188
42
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua gymair condining roomcuringdegreesclassicgermanfangomudpaduatreatment
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 468 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way through Italy. I cannot remember when I was so disappointed by a 4-star hotel:
- sound insulation in rooms is very bad. You can hear when your neighbors go to the restroom which is awful.
- it seems our room 320 was located close to some technical room or equipment because for the whole night we were hearing some rattling sounds from behind the outer wall.
- it is impossible to fully turn off the air conditioning in our room. It keeps turning back on again. I spent an hour wrestling with it until I finally figured out a workaround is to lower the temperature on the thermostat until the whole thing turns off.
- we ordered rooms with full board but only 2 types of hot meals were offered to us on breakfast (scrambled eggs and small sausages). Everything else was billed additionally.
- the breakfast was attended by elderly people in swimming suits and bath robes. In my opinion, only swimming pool bar should be allowed to be visited with no clothes on.
- the only restaurant on site serves lunch and dinner for just 1:15. That is a very tight time slot even for Europe.
- there is literally no room service menu available. To find out was is offered for today you have to call the reception each time. I wonder what is the problem with printing out the menu for the whole week for example and putting it in guest rooms. Or at least having some food that can be ordered any time a day.

I do not recommend visiting this property.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Кирилл Ю
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Dear mister Kirill,

We were surprised from your review, over the last Christmas period we were fully book and this is the first big complain for our hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t find the right location for your holidays and referring to your points, we put in evidence that :
• We have two regular clients coming since 10 years, which they take always the junior suite 220 and 420. The two suite are one above and the other under your junior suite 320, but they never said to us that there are some noise problem coming from the bathroom
• The night between 4 and 5 January we had a very strong wind during all the night and some of the Christmas illuminations disconnected from the attack’s point, so they beat on the external wall of the hotel. We sorry for the noise caused, but it was really a very strong wind , very unusual for Abano .
• If you just said at the reception that you have a problem with the regulation of the heating, we could have sent our technical or our bell boy to give some more information about our system, to regulated the temperature direct from the room
• In the breakfast room there are more than 100 products ( from brioches, cakes to cheese, cold cuts, champagnes and all the typical products for breakfast) that you can choose from the buffet , for hot meals at breakfast we have 2 types of eggs, sausages two types, toasted bread , besides we have a special small menu à la carte for the plates not included , like smoked salmon, special omelet , exotic fruits
• The breakfast room is near our spa center , so the clients can come with bath robe , but not in swimming custom
• The entrance time to the restaurant a is from 7.45 to 09 p.m., but you can stay in the restaurant until 10, 10.30 o’clock
• We have rooms service from 7.30 a.m. in the morning, till 12 p.m.in the night . At the breakfast time, lunch and dinner time, you can order all you like and prefer, in the other time there is a bar room service with sandwich, toast ham and cheese , fruits and small cakes.

Like we told you at the beginning, we didn’t have any particular complain , rather we had a lot of compliments, for the service, the food and for all the nice entertainment we had organized during this Christmas period.
We sorry that you didn’t fill in the right place, but said just after 1 night the hotel is not recommended, it seems to be too much.
Anyway thanks for your review, that’s always help us to improve our service for the clients.
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

Last year in September I was the 3rd time at the Spa (Fango) and massages and the experience has always been great, the staff is professional, friendly and always helpful. The facilities (four outdoor and one indoor swimming pool) beautiful landscaped gardens and the food is fantastic. I am hoping we can fly over again this year because it really helped us, it was the first time for my husband and he enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the gardens and pools have balconies are quiet and not very large.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Dear Helga,
it’s a pleasure to read your review, we are glad that you find the right place for your holidays .
September is a very nice month to spend a thermal holidays in Abano.
Thank you for your details about our services and hoping to meet you soon at Metropole, we send our best regards form all the Metropole team and Borile family.
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I was there just for a business dinner. So hopefully my experience there is unique. I was very disappointed with the service. The waiter was very agressive and he took away dishes before we has finished. He did not want to serve the available choice on the menú, he tried to have all of us (8 persons ) eating the same thing. food was terrible, nothing yo do with a 4 Star S hotel. I won't never go there, nor our customers.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank AnnaMariaDalPonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Dear Miss Dal Bianco,
we were surprise from your review.
From you company we had more than 30 people in the hotel and they were happy with the service and quality of meals, especially for the breakfast and the Spa areas .
We are sorry that you fill like we wont to serve the same dishes to everyone, maybe was a misunderstanding with the waiter.
If you look to the reviews from our clients , you can see that they were happy with our services and restaurant, you just came for 1 evening and maybe you have choose the wrong dishes for your taste.
When our clients don’t find or like any dishes from the menu, we are always at their disposal to propose many other choices.
You live not so far away from Abano, we would like to invaded you to taste again our restaurant, for sure you will find the right menu for you.
In awaiting to have you as welcome guest , we send our best regards
The Manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2014

The hotel of Меtropole very pleased me! Comfortable rooms,
excellent treatment and very delicious meal! But most important
responsive and kind workers of hotel! I especially want to mark
Лucia as an irreplaceable worker of this hotel, Russian knows!
she always helped, gave advices and she is a very sociable, kind
and beautiful girl! Фederiko and Paul any question is decided
very quickly and always glad to help! It is very important that
Paul knows Russian to perfection! Arrive in this hotel and you
will not feel sorry!!!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kocakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your review and appreciations for the services offered and courtesy of our staff.
We are happy that you have spent an unforgettable holiday at Hotel Metropole .
All the Metropole’s team, await you as soon as possible for a new dive into our relaxation world !
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2014

I was a little disappointed with the Metropole as I have been used to the very good Due Torri for the last few years. ( Same group) .The elder lady at reception is far from friendly, very " dry" attitude and while explaining some things , she said " that's how we do it in Italy!" She made me feel unwelcome. Though I must say the other receptionists were very polite. The food was good quality but highly lacking in flavor. Though I must say the fruit, cheese and bread selection were excellent. As was the breakfast. The dining room staff were a bit " over the top" , and it didn't come through as being sincere, and the breakfast staff were nearly all miserable and just looked as if they wanted to close up and leave! That said, the ladies in the spa and fango are marvellous, the cleanliness perfect, and the pools and aqua gym wonderful. My superior room was very small, a very worn out mattress, old fashioned and unfortunately not one English TV Channel, except CNN for average news. Only 2 very limited French channels. Nice bathroom. I must say that for the difference in price, the Due Torri is much better.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a pool side room, you can hear early morning traffic entrance side.also ask if the bed mattress is new!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juanaise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear guest,
we are happy that you have appreciated most of the services and staff from our hotel , we regret that it’s wasn’t for all the services and staff.
We would like to put in evidence some aspects you mentioned:
- At the reception, the phrase used by from our receptionist, was referred to your billing request , where the Italian low doesn’t permit us to do what your required, that's why she answered that” in Italy we do like this” she didn’t want to make you feel unwelcome
- For the waiters that you really appreciated for the service in the restaurant, were the same at breakfast, we don’t understand what has occurred and we are sorry if you had this feeling
- The room you received was completely renovated in 2009 with the exception of the wall wardrobe , if you just told us that you didn’t like the room, we would change, we have at least six types of rooms and for sure we could found the one you liked
- We have 2/3 TV channels for each language, for English we have CNN and Europort, we will see to reinforce the English channels.
- The 2 Torri is a 5-star Hotel, compared to us that they are four star, you will always find more services and facilities in a 5 stars hotel
We apologize for to the little details (but very important for us ) that wasn’t as you expected , we would like to inform you that, you will be always welcome at the Metropole hotel or 2 Torri and awaiting you soon for a new spa vacation, we remain with best regards .

The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews