We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A casa di Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A casa di Max
Ranked #23 of 201 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Warm hospitality. Nice rooms.
Dont miss antonia cooking dinner for you.

Nice view from the room.

The front room is better.

Lots of interesting things to do arround the city.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank I F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    36
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
163
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our family (2 adults, 3 children) stayed at Casa di Max on July 1st, 2011. We strongly recommend that you have dinner at this artful B&B where authenticity and interior design meet. Knowing that we were going to be tired from a long day of touring (from Taormina to Agrigento, stopping at Enna, Piazza Armenia and Villa Casale), we had arranged to have dinner at Casa di Max. We did not regret it: everyone enjoyed the hospitality of Antonia and her husband who had dinner with us. It was a great opportunity to learn about Sicily and Sicilians. Although our Italian is limited, we managed to talk about social, political and economic issues. Dinner was a feast: Sicilian cheeses, Panella (fried squares of dough made from chickpea flour), Cavaletti alla Norma, Slow cooked veal and potatoes and several typical Sicilian desserts, all accompanied by a tasteful local white wine. Breakfast: Brioche di Granita di Limone and other wonderful pastries. Both rooms and both bathrooms are tastefully decorated and insonorized. The modern room which can accommodate 3 persons has a stunning view of the Valley of the Temples which are lighted at night. The owners are very discreet, yet helpful. Our children also liked the experience. We felt so welcomed that we almost forgot to pay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Finding A Casa di Max in the winding streets of Agrigento turned out to be difficult, but after a quick phone call to the owners Antonia turned up to rescue us and guide us home. Very pleasant room with a great view of the Valley of the Temples. Although the street is quite busy, we were able to park easily and close by, and the room in the apartment was very quiet once the door to the balcony was closed. Good breakfast in pleasant company. An enjoyable experience. We were sorry not to meet Max.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenwithenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I would assume that when in Agrigento, the two things people are interested in are
the Valley of temples and historical center (centro storico). Most persons want their B&B to be located in centro storico for easy access to the most charming parts of the city. Casa di Max is not in historical center, instead it's some 5-10 minutes walk from it. That distance is not a problem for any person with healthy feet. As bonus for being outside centro storico, one can actually find a place where to park one's car. Not once did I have issues on getting a free parking spot near the B&B.
Now the second thing people are interested in: Valley of temples. The view from Casa di Max towards Valley of temples is unobstructed. Casa di Max is in apartment building, near 10th floor or so (high anyway) and the building itself is on hillside. That will result to great view from the balcony. And when it comes to the the access to valley of temples: you are already on the same side of the city thus not too far away from it. I would suggest using car or bus though instead of walking there.

I would describe the accomodation as normal room with nice private bathroom, balcony and great view. The bed was harder to what I've used to but OK. Special mention on the bathroom as I would call it stylish (Hansgrohe shower etc). Style and desing is present also in the living room where breakfast is served. The breakfast was not the usual Italian style breakfast with cup of coffee (or tea) and couple of biscotti. Instead it was very versatile with many items to choose from, including yougurt, fresh cornettos/pane, grapes, etc. Even as a Finn who, as Finns do, eats a big breakfast there was more than enough to eat.

Only drawback on Casa di Max is that English is not spoken. German yes, French yes, but not English. Some very basic English was used for communication which made it possible to agree on the time of breakfast, get information on where to get good pizza, etc. but not anything that is complicated or what one could describe as conversation. That was a disapointment as our host had lots of information to share with us. With our limited Italian skills only small parts of it was understood. Our hostess (Hi Antonia!) also appeared very positive and social person, the kind of person whose smile and positiviness would light up even the darkest day. I'm sure I would have enjoyed real discussion with both of them had we spoken the same language.

PS. If you go to the B&B with car and navigator, I recomend using Via Antonio Gramsci as intermediate route point (only if not arriving from north) to ensure reasonable route to the destination.

PSPS. Actually travelled on September 2010, not October as stated below.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lenkkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniaAgrigento, Proprietario at A casa di Max, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
I would like to publicly thank these two dear guests, not only for the detailed and positive, which facilitates the traveler, and that gratifies us, but for the great education and refinement, which have addressed the problem of language especially given the fact that they housed by us for 4 nights.

We managed to communicate the same, certainly no conversation, but never forget that great sympathy and flowers offered me both at the time of the greeting.

Thanks again and see you soon.

Antonia e Franco

Agrigento
A casa di Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The owner is a really nice person and we had a good time chatting with her. Breakfast was very good. Location-wise, it is walking distance to the town center and in a quiet area. The owner gave us also a lot of good advice about the area. However, we were a little disappointed by our room - we didn't check carefully enough and thought there was only one room with a great balcony and big bed... but there is a second one (I believe it is the room of the owners when they are not staying at their beach house) with a bed too small for us and a little balcony on the side that we had to share with the water heater that smelled of gas when running.
Therefore, I recommend to ask for the other room with the big balcony (we saw it, it's really nice!).

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

A beautiful experience, with only one regret: that we stayed in Casa di Max for only one night!
A perfectly located appartment, with the most amazing panoramic view on the Valley of Temples and the seaside.
Perfectly taken care of, with nice design, and a great "home" spirit.
Kind and extremely helpful hosts (great recommendations for places to eat and sights to visit), who made our stay the most touching experience out of our whole trip in Sicily!
Not to mention a perfect price/quality relation.
Grazie mile, Antonia!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

One of the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever been: the house was very nice and our room was very clean. The bathroom had a good size and everything looked pretty new.

There was also a stunning view on the "valle dei templi" from our room!

But the most amazing thing was the breakfast with a lot of typical sweets from Agrigento like "brioche con gelato" and "miele al pistacchio" (pistachio honey) and many others.

The owner was lovely and she stopped to talk with us during the breakfast and gave us a lot of good advices.

A plus also for the area: it is not in the center but at a walking distance from it and there are a lot of free parking spots.

If I go back to Agrigento, this will be my first choice!

Room Tip: Both rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giocalitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.4 km away
Arco Ubriaco
Arco Ubriaco
#36 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.0 km away
"Casa fiorita" Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
B&B Tranquillo
B&B Tranquillo
#44 of 201 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
La Casa di El
La Casa di El
#7 of 201 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.9 km away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#2 of 201 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Casette di Lu
Le Casette di Lu
#12 of 201 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A casa di Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A casa di Max

Property: A casa di Max
Address: Piazza Diodoro Siculo no 8, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast A Casa Di Max was born from the cult that the owners have for their hospitality.It is located in Agrigento, a short distance away from the central University and near the cliff of the same name, rich in archeological and natural values.For the exclusive use of guests the Bed & Breakfast offers a wide and bright room with bathroom, equipped with all comforts (air conditioning, panoramic balcony, television), which can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.The strategic location provides easy accessibility, ample parking, quiet and enviable panoramic view to the Valley of the Temples and the Mediterranean Sea.Antonia and Franco, the owners of Bed & Breakfast A Casa Di Max, in the traditional spirit of the B & B, share with guests their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ostrovok and Priceline so you can book your A casa di Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Casa Di Max Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing