We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One could do a LOT worse ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“One could do a LOT worse ....”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Arriving late evening we searched high and low for a hotel and were told to look for this one on the road out to Syracuse. Upon finding the rate an agreeable 60 Euro, we stayed here. In retrospect I'm glad we DIDN'T see reviews on Trip Advisor or Booking.com or we probably wouldn't have stayed here. The only reason I am rating this hotel, 'poor' instead of 'average' is that the airconditioner didn't work in our non-descript room. This wasn't apparent until we returned from dinner (they recommended a nice restaurant rather than 'pushing' their own). When we asked someone to come, they did, however it did not get better. We were offered a chance to change rooms but declined, as we had our stuff all over the place.

The breakfast (buffet) was better than average for our (basically 2-star hotel) trip. Their wireless internet also worked (in the lobby), and this was very welcome. The receptionist was one of the most helpful of any hotel we stayed at. Folks, I'm here to tell you, you can do a LOT worse!

This is NOT a 4-star hotel, but at least they don't charge 4-star prices. If you're going to Agrigento, make certain you plot out a hotel to stay at before you get there ... however, if you don't, the Hotel Dei Templi is a half-way decent option.

Room Tip: Check airconditioner BEFORE unpacking your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    22
    39
    49
See reviews for
22
43
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were in this hotel for only one night. Can't say that much. Staff is friendly, room is clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesariaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a coach tour. Even before we arrived our guide was apologetic about the quality. I would have to agree with many other reviewers- definitely not 4 star. The whole place needs a major upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

we booked this on the last minute during our visit to sicily and got a great deal. Was a bit hesitant as someone had said it was a terrible hotel on a review, it was great, not luxurious as could do with an update but all was great especially the pool.staff were helpful and friendly, rooms very clean. idela for a couple of restaurants across the road from there, try Chez Jean just 2 mins walk away, great seafood and pizza. would stay here again and its ideally located for the valley of the temples.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suejayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
302 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This hotel is very old and creepy. It has carpets on all the floor, including the reception lobby. The furniture looks not antique, just simply old and scraped. In winter it was so lonely and silent, that we were afraid to find a boy in a tricycle wandering in the long and lonely corridors...

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

it is not a nice hotel it felt like you were back in england a building site in front of my room i complained then the air con unit was leaking and made my son sick then we called the maid to clean it up she refused so i had to clean it up and she got paid for it, the pool is ugly children can not swim in it nither parents and birds drink the water and dragonflys swam you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucam6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

I had a very large room, as a single, with a large bathroom, but that was the only good part. The tub had dark mold in spots, and everything just seemed dingy. I was there as part of a tour group and had stayed in this same hotel, also for one night only, four years ago. I must say that it looked as grim then as it did on this visit. There were two tour groups there, the first in several months according someone at the front desk, so I guess the hotel doesn't feel the need to revamp the facilities. The food at the dinner was plentiful, but not really appealing. I had little contact with the staff, but they seemed pleasant.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Mold in the bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Mose
Grand Hotel Mose
#8 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.0 km away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
4.0 km away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#14 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel del Viale
Hotel del Viale
#15 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#17 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Templi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Property: Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Address: Viale Leonardo Sciascia | Villaggio Mosè, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Templi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Templi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Agrigento
Grand Hotel Dei Templi Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing