We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember "The Shining"?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Templi
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This hotel is very old and creepy. It has carpets on all the floor, including the reception lobby. The furniture looks not antique, just simply old and scraped. In winter it was so lonely and silent, that we were afraid to find a boy in a tricycle wandering in the long and lonely corridors...

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Dei Templi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

it is not a nice hotel it felt like you were back in england a building site in front of my room i complained then the air con unit was leaking and made my son sick then we called the maid to clean it up she refused so i had to clean it up and she got paid for it, the pool is ugly children can not swim in it nither parents and birds drink the water and dragonflys swam you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucam6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

I had a very large room, as a single, with a large bathroom, but that was the only good part. The tub had dark mold in spots, and everything just seemed dingy. I was there as part of a tour group and had stayed in this same hotel, also for one night only, four years ago. I must say that it looked as grim then as it did on this visit. There were two tour groups there, the first in several months according someone at the front desk, so I guess the hotel doesn't feel the need to revamp the facilities. The food at the dinner was plentiful, but not really appealing. I had little contact with the staff, but they seemed pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We were a group of 10 on a tour of Sicily and this hotel was our home for one night on Oct 15 2007. I must say the staff were helpful, and the food was better than average. But the first room we were given had a toilet that was leaking at the base. The staff sent a handyman up to take a look and when the problem couldn't be solved we were given another room. Well, that room also had a problem with the toilet...it wouldn't flush. By now we were tired and it was late so my husband rigged up the shower hose over to the toilet and we were able to use the toilet that way. In the morning we informed the staff again, but I have no idea if anything was done. Also the halls were very shabby. The hotel really needed to be closed and renovated to bring it up to a 4 star that it was advertised as.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Char1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

On an ABC tour, we stayed at the Dei Templi for one night. One night was enough. The room smelled, the rugs were worn, the shower door leaked, and the beds (twins) sagged. However, the food, both the dinner and breakfast the next morning, were above average. There was an ATM across the street, a 3-4 minute walk, which was convenient. The location of the hotel near the Valley of Temples was very good. The rooms should be overhauled, as well as the rugs in the hallways.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We were part of a tour of Sicily and prior to arriving at this hotel we had visited the Greek temples - out of this world!

But, the hotel - no to be recommended. Whilst I cannot agree entirely with the comments of the previous observer, whe has captured the gist of the matter!

Stay away if you can.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Using the inflated star system common in Sicily, we would rate Dei Templi Grand 2 stars – if we were being generous. We found it pretty bad and comparable to an inexpensive motel. When we got there, it was mobbed with tours (we were on a tour also). Checking in and getting to our room was a problem because of the crush, especially since the hotel has 2 slow, tiny elevators (you can just barely squeeze in 2 people with luggage). Considering the number of new guests involved, the front desk did seem to tackle the task efficiently. We could find no porter and the front desk receptionist didn’t understand our sign language pointing to our luggage while pretending to lift it or our English asking: “Porter??” We had requested nonsmoking rooms and so we asked the front desk if our room was nonsmoking. She replied: “Yes.” It wasn’t. Communication is clearly a problem here. The lobby was hot – no AC. The dining room was also hot – also no AC and mobbed with 3 or more large tour groups. The room décor was extremely “tired,” there were no tissues in the room and only one glass for two people. The flexible hand held shower hose connection came out of the wall at 90 degrees to where it’s holder was, causing you to hit the hose each time it was replaced, spraying water all over the place. The room had two double beds and the windows couldn’t be locked. Not a good experience.
The best part of the hotel is its proximity (5 minute car ride) to the fabulous 2500 year old Greek temples – a must see (we had a bus to take us there so, for us, proximity was not a factor). Don’t miss seeing the temples lit up at night – breathtaking! If you can, avoid this place and stay at a nicer hotel -- but don’t miss visiting the Valley of the Temples.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.0 km away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
384 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tre Torri
Hotel Tre Torri
#12 of 23 in Agrigento
339 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
823 reviews
4.0 km away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
554 reviews
4.0 km away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Templi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Templi

Address: Viale Leonardo Sciascia | Villaggio Mosè, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $166 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Templi 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Templi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Agrigento
Grand Hotel Dei Templi Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing