We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Like staying with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giardino della Rupe B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agrigento
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Giardino della Rupe B&B
Ranked #139 of 197 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like staying with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We spent three nights with Nerella and Salvatore who made us feel right at home. Our room was spacious with an amazing view of the Valley of the Temples. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was small but more than adequate.
We were able to leave our car parked in front of the B&B and walk into the main downtown area where we took a bus to the temples. This is very useful since, as Salvatore said when we met him: "Agrigento has no streets" - it actually does have streets, but they're narrow and difficult to navigate. The B&B is located at the highest point of Agrigento, offering a view of the city, the sea and the temples. The walk to the city center is about 10 minutes- a bit longer to get back as it is an uphill climb.
We definitely suggest Il Giardino della Rupe for the location, the comfortable rooms and especially the friendly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AminBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Salvatore made us feel very welcome in his lovely home and even cooked us a wonderful dinner. The view over his garden, encompasses the whole town since it is perched up on the hill. A great walk if you enjoy walking holidays! Unfortunately, construction works started at eight am next door so no late mornings but there is much to see at the museum as well as the ruins.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cometes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We greatly enjoyed staying in this beautiful location on the top of a hill overlooking Agrigento. Downtown was an easy walk away, and this location was quiet with a beautiful view of the temples in the distance.
Our hosts Nerella & Sal truly made us feel at home. They were warm and friendly - that made it one of our favorite Sicilian stays.
We took them up on their offer to make dinner for us, and we had a great feast of Sicilian food - Risotta, Sausages, Bread, well-cooked pork, and home-grown fruit. We enjoyed the conversations over dinner as well. In the morning, Sal served us a simple breakfast, but one of the nicest we had in Sicily. It helped that he made rich, hot chocolate for our teenagers - greatly enjoyed.
We only stayed one night, but the apartment that we stayed in would have served very well for a longer visit, with cooking facilities, a bedroom and sleeping room in the living room. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJenJoeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed in the B&B for 11 nights with my boyfriend, and it was a fantastic place to spend the holiday. The sorrunding nature, beaches and cities are fabulous, and il giardino della rupe is the nicest place to return to after a long day of swimming and sight seeing. The family is very relaxed and welcoming, and we immediately fell at home in their house: the great wiew from the balcony, fresh fruit and greek ruins in the garden, the hosts great cooking skills makes it a very recommendable place. We sure hope to return one day

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

Salvatore and his family were a delight to meet and stay with! The room was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the Temples. Salvatore went out of his way to accomodate us during our brief time in Agrigento. His advice and information was invaluable; dinner with his family was one of the true "Italy experiences" of our trip and and opportunity to connect with the local culture and realize how much we all have in common.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffLarson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

I stayed in il giardino della rupe with my girlfriend for one night last may. Room is spacious and with a good view of the valley. Breakfast was disappointing, we had it in the kitchen's owner and consisted only of a coffee and little home bread and jam. (a little!). Not really what you are expected to have for 35 euros per person.
I have stayed in many places in Sicily, this was the most expensive: for less price you get much better breakfast, I can assure it.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank italianinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

Wow. What a three day stay. One of the highlights of our trip. Nerella & Sal Passarello, the hosts, live on the property and treat you like family. We went to Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples and for day trips. And we ended up meeting great hosts. We stayed in two other B and Bs and they didn’t come close to our say here.

We had a car and I would recommend a car in Sicily. I drove in Italy two years ago and wouldn’t do it again unless out in the country. But Sicily was much better for driving. We pretty much drove to the bed and breakfast (we had to stop and ask directions once, remember it is on top of the hill). When we arrived, we had just traveled for about 24 hours. Sal offered us Sicilian olives, cheese, and local homemade wine. We took him up and it was great. Nerella saw we were tired and offered to prepare some extra food and that we could dine with them. We went down to our room to shower while Morella made diner. We had pasta with homemade pesto, garden vegetables, a very delicou8s pumpkin squash, a salad and fish. This was followed by gelato and whiskey if you wanted.

The room was large and very clean. The room itself was very basic. It you want real fancy, this may not be the place for you. The bed was very comfortable. The street out front is cobblestone, so you do hear the cars when they go by. But you are near the end of the road, so not many cars go by. The views of the Temples were fantastic. But the best part was the hosts. Even thought we were on an off-season visit, we notice the room did not have air conditioning. But, the B&B location, situated on top of a ridge (ocean facing with wooded terrain on the other side) gives it plenty of airflow to keep it cool. So I wouldn’t be too concerned by the lack of air conditioning, even during the summer. The room was heated by a radiator.

Sal was full of information. His English is much better than our Italian. He did a better job explaining stuff than he thought he did. He told us about the different names the city has had depending on who was in control at the time. He showed us on a map how to get around. Even though we had a car, we walked into town to see a Norman, a Baroque, and a Catholic church he had told us about. If you are not in shape, the walk back up might be intimidating. There was a market not far from the B&B where we bought bread, cheese, and fruit for snacking.

On Sunday, a lot in town is closed (the Temple sites are open daily, the museum which is great closes early). Nerella offered to cook for us again. We took her up on it. Again, a fabulous Sicilian meal. We gave her 35 Euros for each meal, and as it turns out, during our three week visit, they were some of our most inexpensive meals while being the best meals. Perhaps we should have given here more money in hind sight.

The breakfast was also the best of our B and B stays. (One hotel we stayed in Florence for 5 days, Hotel Casci, had a breakfast almost as good, but not as friendly). We had fresh fruit and/or fresh squeezed orange juice. The first day we just had bread and cheese with the fruit. The second and third day, Nerella make soft boiled eggs to go along with the fruit, bread, and cheese. She couldn’t get over how much coffee we drank. We were able to schedule breakfast to suit what our plans were.

When we left she gave us some pumpkin seeds and ground espresso coffee to take with us. We would welcome Sal and Norella into our home. If you want to experience real Sicilian life and hospitality, this is the right place to go to.

  • Liked — The hosts and views
  • Disliked — Some cobblestone road noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross-Tehachapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
4.8 km away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
8.3 km away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
4.8 km away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
35.0 km away
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#1 of 1 in Ravanusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino della Rupe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino della Rupe B&B

Property: Il Giardino della Rupe B&B
Address: Via Minerva 20, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Della Rupe B&B Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing