We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here on a recommendation and reading the other reviews it sounded great. However we found the whole hotel very disappointing.
It took us weeks to book a room, either the staff couldn’t speak English, there was no one to answer the phone, or a failure to acknowledge emails. We were determined and in the end had to rely on the help of an Italian speaking relative.
When we arrived we were greeted by (as it happened one of the few) friendly members of staff, and it was a relief to finally find out we had successfully made the booking. However the room we offered was very poor for a family (no bath) and incredibly hot – the air conditioning was simply inadequate.
We stayed half board – dinner was pretty good for this kind of arrangement (select from a limited menu rather than the usual buffet affair) but still became rather repetitive. The waiting staff were professional if a little aloof.
Our son really enjoyed the musical entertainment on Saturday night, it is a shame that this wasn’t laid on every evening.
Finally unexpected items on the bill on our day of departure (€18 per day car parking and €20 per day for use of beach). The manager explained that the beach was not theirs and they only had 40 spaces for 100 guests. As we were not informed about the car parking charge the manager agreed to deduct the cost. We won't be staying here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NPGFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    106
    35
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
112
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

.Situated virtually on the beach at the eastern end of Alassio the Hotel Savoia started life as a 1920’s villa which contributes much to it’s style and character. This is continued inside where the public areas are spacious and pleasant with much attention to architectural detail.
Our room, overlooking the sea, was modern, of good size and in very good condition with lovely floor and wall tiling. A flat screen TV, safe, fridge and a bidet were all included. The bed was the joined together two single mattresses style which was large and comfortable enough but the pillows were hard. These were replaced without question. The towels were good quality, not thin skimpy ones that are often encountered in Italy. There was a full sized bath with showerhead included. Regrettably there was no wall fixing for the shower head nor was there a shower screen or curtain.
The solarium/summer restaurant is in front of and at the same level as the first floor seaward facing bedrooms and maybe a problem for some.
Breakfast was included in the price and offered a good selection of food and beverages. The staff were friendly, helpful, efficient and willing to make restaurant recommendations even though the hotel has its own restaurant. Because there are many restaurants in Alassio and we were staying only for the hotels’ three night minimum, we didn’t get round to eating there.
Alassio has a nice, long, but fairly narrow sandy beach stretching the whole length of the town. Adjoining is a meandering promenade from where the view is frequently obscured with that Italian obsession, beach huts. Paralleling this is are pedestrian streets with many shops and services, the prices in many were surprisingly reasonable. After that comes the main through road with frequent buses and a train station. All in all a nice low rise resort of some quality mainly frequented by Italians, but English was widely spoken.
We visited in May and paid €130 per night which we thought, as the French, say was
bon rapport qualité/prix. Both hotel and town are well worth another visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Savoia in the Spring for two nights and had room 104, a corner room from where we could hear the waves lapping on the beach and see a lovely old stone tower to our left, from our little balcony. The bathroom was very nice and the room large enough for a cot and furnished nicely.

In the summer, a room on a higher floor maybe nicer, as our room was directly in line with the terrace, which was closed when we stayed.

The hotel is perfectly located and is within walking distance of a lovely old town, with great shopping, a park for children and the beaches. We were able to park easily just beside the hotel, although I imagine in Summer it is more difficult.

The staff were very nice, helpful, polite and friendly. We ate in the restaurant both nights with our little boy who is two, and it was all very easy, infact the restaurant was opened early for us ! The food was good, simple but nice.

We had a lovely breakfast both mornings and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definately stay again at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartie6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

We took a chance by booking a hotel under a 4 star, and were very pleasantly suprised by this place. The place was super clean, very cute. No, they dont have the best elevator, but they have a huge staircase - stop complaining and take the stairs people!
The owners greeted us each morning, asked us where we were going that day, gave us very good tips on what to see and provided an overabundance of fresh food.
The rooms were very clean, our room had a balcony that we used to sit and watch the real town activities.
This place is so close to the center of town, yet far enough away to be dead quiet at night. A short walk each day took us to the town, to the docks, to the train station - we never used a vehicle on our stay.
In our two weeks in Italy, the few days we spent in Sorrento we among the best anywhere, and this little, perfectly located hotel was the icing.
We are a young couple in our 30's - and we have decided to stay there again on our next trip to Italy. Highly recommend this hotel. Do not let the 2 or 3 stars it has fool you.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient -Great Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandtonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissfamilykoehler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Great place to be.
Excellent food, very nice staff, great location (directly on the beach)!
They were very nice with our two daughters and helped us with every demand we had.
We will certainly go back!!!

  • Liked — Food and extremly helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing! It was perfect!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swissfamilykoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Great location, very good food and friendly staff. We loved our stay in Alassio and would highly recommend the Savoia. Although not all of the staff spoke English, they all worked with us and our limited Italian (we may be have been the only Americans in Alassio - seriously - but that made it all the more interesting for us; we did meet a couple Brits, but on the whole I felt that we had no reason to expect anyone to cater to English-speakers, but if I want to hear English I will stay at home). A couple of the staff seemed a little cold, but they may have just seen that as being very professional. For the most part, the staff was very friendly, and if we ever find ourselves on the Italian Riviera again, this would be our first choice. We were there during high season and thought the place was a relative bargain. It is in a great location right on the water and convenient to all the major spots in town. Also, we booked full board, but they would ask at breakfast whether we were having lunch and dinner. On the nights we planned to explore the restaurants in the area, they did not charge us for dinner - I expected that we would be charged regardless. All in all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grover_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

The last time I stayed at the Savoia, I was greeted, not only by the Front desk personnel, but also by the Manager AND the woman who straightened up my room on the previous trips. She even brought her co-worker down to greet me.
The Hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and well maintained, the personnel are pleasant and helpful. One of the Front Desk personnel even suggested his favorite restaurant, when we asked about alternative eating facilities. I can hardly wait to return there.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank JHCESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alassio hotels
1.7 km away
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
#6 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Alassio
Grand Hotel Alassio
#5 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#2 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Ristorante Toscana
0.1 km away
Dei Fiori
Dei Fiori
#17 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#20 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Milano 14, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alassio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alassio
#11 Family Hotel in Alassio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Alassio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing