We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
aleksiniemela
London, United Kingdom

Disappointing experience

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 23, 2019
The hotel is well situated next to the Duomo of Alba and the place is clean, these were the two best things about it. Unfortunately the hotel is very noisy, the rooms are not soundproofed in any way and the whole place echoes like a church. You can hear every step, and move of other hotel guests to the room like you can hear when other guests are having a shower or use the toilet. Not only this but the Duomo next door will start ringing its bells at 7.45am and 8am and so on... Another big fault was that there was no internet connection in the room, no signal whatsoever. Maybe some other rooms get signal closer to the reception but the room where we were staying at the end of the corridor had none. Besides this the bed was rather uncomfortable and there was a strong, unpleasant smell of detergent lingering everywhere in the hotel.The place felt unloved and it lacked attention to details. Overall it was unfortunately not a very nice experience, especially since we had high hopes after reading positive reviews of the place.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room next to the reception, maybe there will be wi-fi signal and pack a pair of...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$165
0.8 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$112
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$111
  • Tripadvisor
    C$111
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$231
  • Priceline
    C$231
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$231
1.6 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$170
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • BBIT
    C$127
  • Agoda.com
    C$170
4.3 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$126
  • ZenHotels.com
6.1 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
La camera
C$245
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
  • Hotels.com
    C$245
  • Tripadvisor
    C$245
0.4 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Room service
C$299
C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$299
  • Expedia.com
    C$299
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$118
C$115
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$118
  • Hotels.com
    C$118
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$163
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Website
    C$285
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
7.3 km from Albergo San Lorenzo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alba
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
40
81
50
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
81
50
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 190 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We were coming for 1 night during truffle season. The hotel is right by the catehrdreal, top center, very easy to reach with parking on the facility. You can reach everything within max 5 Min walk.
The room was nice, good single bed and clean bathroom.
Breakfast is rather basic.
Price level is excellent value for money, given high truffel season.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Cheap. You get what you pay for. Indifferent and inadequate staffing, uncomfortable bed, clean, mediocre breakfast, unreliable hot water, noisy, but great location and Alba was charming. Many festivals and preparations for big truffle festival which was to begin a week after our departure. Would go back to Alba but not to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 124aldos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a six day walking holiday and so we knew what to expect from the regions hotels.

The reception and rooms are upstairs above a restaurant. The reception is not manned after 20:00 and so you need a door key. In fact it appeared that there was rarely anyone in reception at any time.

Breakfast was awful, there is no excuse for day old sliced bread in a hotel right next to a bakery or cool capuccino in the land of coffee.

Room tip: Go out for breakfast
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a marvelous setting in the square within a few steps of the cathedral. Around the square are lots of small coffee shops and lovely restaurants. The main shopping street is just a couple of minutes away. Reception could not be more helpful and friendly. Rooms are small and basic, but what else would you expect in such a historic setting? Beds are comfortable and the bathroom is a decent size. Breakfast is simple but tasty. This is my kind of hotel. Price/Quality is exceptionally good. It's the second time to stay here, and I'll be back again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barolo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ValerioL393, Proprietario at Albergo San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your review!
We are very glad you had a good time in our hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

+ Good rooms with what you need for a few nights.
+ Nice breakfast
+ Nice central location.
+ Very nice, service minded and friendly staff. Among the nicest staffmembers I've met.

- No air-condition in the rooms. With +27 at night it is hard to sleep.
- Lots of noise from outside since we had to sleep with the balcon door open.
- Viscious mosqitous. You will never hear them coming and they arrive while you sleep.
- The church bells rings from 7 a.m. At 7:45 they ring 70 times (We counted..)

But overall a nice experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Annika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Valerio L, Direttore at Albergo San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you very much for your review, it's very important to us!
We are aware of the noise of the bells and the streets, unfortunately is one of disadvantages to be in the very city centre and we are working to improve our a.c service.

A particular thank you from the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews