We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Tuscan Hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
Main entrance of the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance of the property.
1- Entrance of the property Front of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Main entrance of the property.
1- Entrance of the property
Front of the property
3- Entrance of the flat
4- Entrance of the flat
Kitchen & dining
Dining & sitting
8- Sitting, kitchen & exit
Double bedroom
Wardrobe & drawers
Seating inside the bedroom
11- Bedroom and wardrobe
12- Bathroom
13- Shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Peter H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Traditional Tuscan Hospitality”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Nestling in the little village of Croce just outside Lucignano, a charming hill-town, Dario's property is a comfortable and cosy base for exploring Tuscany. It has great views of Lucignano and the surrounding countryside, and is within easy reach of Siena, Arezzo, Cortona and Montepulciano. In the immediate vicinity there are also numerous less-touristy villages well worth exploring. Dario is a kind and genial host who anticipates all your needs and is anxious to satisfy them. We loved staying here in this atmospheric retreat surrounded by vines, olives, chickens and excellent views. Dario's fine, home-produced wines, grappa and limoncello also contributed to relaxed evenings and sound sleep. We look forward to returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafrnhm
lexington, kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in all of Tuscany and a place to call home”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were here in April 2012, planning to spend a week and staying two weeks with a very special "family" Easter meal with the Casini's. We kept in touch and wanted to return. Sometimes memories embellish actual places. Not so at Dario's, 10+ on everything. We were met with hugs like only long lost friends embrace. The apartment was as warm and cozy as we remembered. Guests have a full kitchen, complete with American size refrigerator, gas stove, pots, pans, dishes, flatware, and gadgets to please the most finnicky of chefts. The king size bed has the perfect firmness to insure a good night's sleep and the wood burning fireplace creates a peaceful ambiance for chilly evenings. Private bath and use of two washing machines complete the area. We settled in and I took an all too familiar walk arournd the barnyard where we received fresh eggs, meandered down the lane to the manicured vineyards, and down the country road where I stopped at the local bakery (a frequent occurance during our stay) before returning to our home away from home. Gosh it was so good to be back. The farm, quietly nestled at the base of Lucignano, is minutes from city center, less than 30 minutes from Cortona, Pienza, Montisi, and Montelcino, less than an hour from Assisi, Siena, and other favorite towns, not to mention some lovely spas.

During our stay Dario helped us find that perfect door knocker to adorn the front door of our home back in the US and provide a quiet reminder of a very special place where we always feel at home. We shared another special Easter dinner with Dario and his mama who has a smile that will melt your heart and break down any verbal language barriers, not to mention her cooking which would challenge even the most famous of chefs. Dario took us to a nearby fair where we heard a local band, shared the best gelato places in all of Tuscany which just happens to be in city center Lucignano, and told us of special must see places, off the beaten path but not to be missed. These will remain a secret for you to discover after you too fall in love with this centuries old farm, a picture perfect hillside town, and most of all two very special Italians that we feel oh so blessed to have met and befriended. We'll certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything....but Dario made it special
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
My dearest Renee' & Steve, I have no words to thank you, your company it is always a special occasion to have a lovely conversation, Easter has been a fantastic day, also together my mother who love you, tasting her old Tuscan food my organic Chianti and sweet wine. I hope to visit you someday to Idhao, it is my old dream. Many thanks once again for your kindness, you will be always in my heart. Dario.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
593jimg
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place and Great Host!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We read the reviews of Dario's place on trip advisor and wondered if they could all be true. The answer is YES. If you are touring Tuscany by car, this is a wonderful location to base day trips from. From the welcome we received when we arrived to our final emotional goodbye 8 days later, we felt like we had made a friend for life. Upon our arrival, Dario showed us around his property, starting with his wine cellar and his recently completed Chianti bottling - which we might add was tremendously wonderful. Dario was more than helpful in every way to help us plan our itinerary while we were with him. We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at a wonderful restaurant in Lucignano where he had made reservations for us. His apartment was spacious and well appointed. If you want to visit Tuscany and experience the people as well as the history, the food and countryside - then we think you will find Dario's apartment a magical place to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dario's hospitality and friendliness
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Dearest Jim & Laura, many many thanks for what you wrote about me and my cosy property, it is really a great pleasure to know directly from the guests their opinion, this is my world and I am very very happy when many friends enjoy to stay in this side of Tuscany and enjoy my company together some glasses of my organic Chianti wine, limoncello and grappa, many thanks once again, your lovely company has been sublime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raekol
spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for our first Tuscan holiday....”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This holiday was fantastic from start to finish. Great property with all facilities required. Sat out in the evening watching the sun set over Lucignano! Dario was brilliant and could not do enough to assist. We were lucky enough to try the homemade sleeping juice ( Dario's red wine ), Lemoncello and grappa. Good base from which we got the bus to Arezzo and Siena. Very easy and cost effective way to get around. We were sad to leave and look forward to visiting again in the future. Dario is a superstar and we loved Dario's pizza. See you soon Kevin and Rachael.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and host.
Liked least: Needed to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Dearest Kevin & Rachael, your company has been fantastic and I hope to meet you again in the next future, drinking together a glass of my organic red wine of course, many many thanks for your kindness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crispysha...
london
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Tuscan home from home and and adopted members of the Casini family!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Where do I start? This has become our own bit of paradise in Europe....our other piece is in Tobago, but I digress. Dario and his family only increased the charm of this cosy apartment which is part of the family farmhouse (a reconstructed Tuscan farmhouse built by Dario himself using reclaimed Tuscan stone).

The apartment is fully kitted with all you would need to self cater and the temperature is perfectly regulated due to the thick, stone walls. Enjoy a glass of Dario's wine on the patio whilst enjoying the stunning views of the nearby hill town of Lucignano or wander down to the beautiful vineyard of an evening.

The best part of the stay for us however was the owner himself and his family....Dario was so kind and generous showing us the surrounding areas, plying us with his wonderful organic Chianti, grappa and lemonchello and including us in meals. The whole experience was amazing including adventures to nearby festivals in Montepulciano, wine deals at private vineyards and amazing gelatos....not to mention the main attraction in Dario's office....we won't ruin the surprise for you on that!

I can't recommend this apartment/experience enough, in fact I actually want to keep it secret so we can keep it as our private getaway! :) We loved everyday rain or shine and a little bit of our heart was left there...this just gives us an excuse to return and retrieve it soon!

If you want to enjoy the best organic wine in the world, amazingly fresh food, beautiful countryside and cracking company with a man known by all in the area and keen to impart his knowledge of all things Tuscany, then this is the place for you! It's also damn good value for money!

Dario, I hope this review has done you justice, we both miss you and will see you as soon as we can! We need to come back for another Dario a special pizza!

Chris and Michelle (Casini)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and all the wine we could drink!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Many many thanks Chris & Michelle, your lovely company has been really really a great pleasure for me, hope to see you again in this part of Tuscany.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charme821
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely marvelous and perfect for us!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We could not have imagined a better arrangement and more welcoming and helpful host. Dario Casini provided all that was described and more. He is a gracious and considerate host who is willing to provide information about the area while not being intrusive in any respect. We are looking forward to our next visit with Dario!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dario and the beautiful view and the breezes!
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location and considerate host
Liked least: having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;