We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 4 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Jafferau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jafferau
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I do not advise to go to Jafferau hotel.
The only good thing is location for skiers.
Bad food,especially breakfast! Dinner for 30 euros!
Sofa bed in rooms,no bed!
There was no chance to contact hotel for 3 days by phone.
Smoke smell in corridors!
Sick lady in children room.My kid got sick.
Stayed in march 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoscowKvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    107
    86
    52
    78
See reviews for
118
170
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just got back from a week at the Hotel Jafferau, which I would highly recommend. The staff were outstanding, particularly reception and the courtesy bus driver. Getting there after the cable car shuts down (16:45) leads to an exciting experience. Reception, who could not have been more helpful, arranged for the courtesy bus to come down for us. The hotel is a long way up. The road up was snow covered, icy, narrow and steep in places. Only a minibus can make it, as the road passes through the old village of Gleises on the way up. The houses are very close together, with the walls facing the road marked by the efforts of lesser drivers than ours.

The hotel was built in 2006. It is finished and maintained to a very good standard. The food was good and the dining room service friendly and excellent.

Maybe it was just the week we were there, but almost all the guests were families. everyone was really nice, but it meant that after dinner, there was no real "apres ski" atmosphere. You could get a drink, but you could have the lounge to yourself while all the parents were putting the kids to bed.

The really outstanding feature of the hotel is the position and views. From the balcony of our room you look down past the cable car to the first chair lift up. From the hotel, you can ski down to the bottom of the cable car, but the slope is marked for good skiers only. It is a red run, not too taxing but long, quite steep and narrow in places. The ski area up the mountain is the highest in the resort. While any experienced skier will find it not too challenging, it has the advantage of being entirely queue free, with wide open pistes and very few skiers. Once you tire of that, you have the option to go down the cable car (or ski down) and get the free bus across to Campo Smith, where most of the ski visitors to Bardonecchia are. The resort may not have the most extensive ski area (100Km of groomed runs) but there is enough to keep most leisure skiers happy enough.

After a days skiing, the sauna and pool at the hotel are a great way to recover. However, be aware that the hotel add a 25 Euro charge per person to your bill for the pool and gym, whether you use them or not.

There is Wifi across the hotel, but in the week we were there it never worked. I did once manage to log in at the reception area, but every other day even that was down. However, on the plus side, when it works, the hotel does not charge for access. It also provide two internet equipped PCs in the internet cafe area for the free use of guests. With wired connections they worked the whole time and there was rarely a wait to use them.

It was our third year in a row visiting Bardonecchia at half term. We have never lost a day skiing there. Always brilliant snow conditions and 90% of days we have spent there were blue sky cloud free. It is never crowded (if you avoid the Campo Smith chair lift at ski school start times). Party people need to be aware the town does not do "apres ski". I does have the outstanding attraction of being easily reachable by train. The TGV from Paris to Milan stops to pick up and drop off the French and Italian border police. This allows skiers to avoid letting Michael O'Leary mug them with his ridiculous baggage charges and all the other scams he has dreamt up to fleece them. If you have to give him your money, you can still save on the transfer from Turin by getting a taxi from Turin airport to the station and travelling up by train.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent the week before Christmas at Jafferau which was early in the season but because of the height the resort was snowsure. The hotel only had 50% occupancy and we were upgraded upon request to a corner 2 bed suite at no charge. The staff was exemplary taking great pains to help us navigate the transfers from Turin by texts and phone, and then picking us up on the hotel minibus from the station.

The other reviews will confirm the layout of the hotel being perfect for minimal fuss - lifts, ski school, bunny slopes, canteen cafe, cable car, equipment storage room: all of them a stone's throw from the hotel. There are some short steep hills to climb to get back up to the hotel but these are managable.

Key things that made the difference were the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, ski-in/out for convenience, the swimming and sauna complex for relaxation, and the most amazing pasta chef. When they found out it was an anniversary they gave us a private dining room and a dedicated waiter for the evening, which was absolutely a delightful surprise. Our 6 year old had all the childcare we could possibly want as part of the kids club. And the rooms themselves were as good as any 4 star hotel (except that you could perhaps wish for a slightly larger TV but that is being really picky about it) with a balcony and kitchenette as part of the suite.

When we mentioned we might like to try lunch in the village, they organised a minibus to send us down to a great local ristorante that they rated as having the best pizza chef (no arguments here, thanks Marian!) in town.

We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a group of tango dancers and ski enthusiasts in February 2011. The hotel was very clean and modern.
Most of the staff, especially the animators, were really very friendly and helpful, the food was mostly ok, sometimes good. I found the room I stayed in to be of very good quality.
Some ideas to improve the hotel which I shared with the management:
The internet access - to charge extra for Wifi in a 4 star hotel is in my humble opinion not good - I heard many people complaining about this. There is no cost to the hotel for this service apart from a minimal monthly charge ... most 4 or 5 star hotels I stay in offer this free of charge.
The emergency exit staircase: I was amazed when I mentioned to the reception staff on the second evening that the staircase was full of furniture, i.e. a blocked staircase, and received as a reply, that this was well known, had been reported and complained about by numerous previous guests, but that the management had repeatedly ignored this as an unimportant issue. I expressed clearly that if I was to find the emergency exit still blocked in 24 hrs time, I would personally inform the fire brigade and police of this shocking health and safety attitude and would ensure that this situation was corrected. I was pleased to find that this threat resulted in the necessary clearance of the staircase.
The breakfast staff: it was difficult for me to get a pot of hot water for tea in the morning. Despite daily polite requests, I always had the impression, that it was a hassle for the waiters to walk for me to the kitchen to bring me a pot of hot water. As you might well know, it is customary in the United Kingdom to serve a pot of tea rather than a small cup of tea for breakfast. One waiter, a particularly small man, argued with me (?!?!) one morning about this polite request and huffed off, saying "Madonna!!!". I found this almost unbelievable - sorry, but in no hotel anywhere in the world have I ever been refused a polite request for a pot of hot water to make myself some tea! I really think the hotel has to address such staff attitudes and teach their staff some more polite manners!
The ski pass charges: I ordered a 6 day ski pass and was issued a named pass, 6 Giorni GRUPPO_OP pass with a printed price of Euro 135. Repeated inquiries only led to the responses that the real price I had to pay was Euro175 and that the printed price of Euro 135 is a software error of the machine. Of course I didn't believe this at any point - what a ridiculous lie! But I realised that everybody in the hotel reception had been instructed to pass on this lie to all inquiring customers ...
After leaving on the last morning, I went in fact to the headoffice of the skipass organisation just opposite the train station and my assumption was confirmed: the group price for a 6 day ski pass is Euro 135! - exactly as printed on the skipass. I emailed the director - but I have not had a refund of the difference ...
The menu descriptions: It would be helpful to be more precise regarding ingredients in the menu - I do not eat pork / ham and repeatedly found out too late, that e.g. mountain cheese meant cheese rolled in ham ... nobody else at my table knew this either.
The fixed table arrangements: myself and several other guests found it very restricting, that we could only stay and eat for supper at one table for the entire week - I found this a very rigid and restrictive custom which in my opinion should be changed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I just got back from a week at Hotel Jafferau and had an all round great time. The Hotel itself is very nice and easily worth the 4 stars. But what makes this hotel stand out from all others i have stayed in, and there have been a lot, is the attentivness and friendliness of all the staff. I would love to name them all but the kudos is equally shared among them. The one and only caveat i have about the Hotel is the difficulty getting into the town at night, and suggest that a car would be needed for some. However, with great food being served and a bar onsite it is not imperative to head into town.

On the whole, i would recommend this hotel to anyway and want to thank all the staff at the hotel for making the stay very special and rememberable.

Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndiHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I just got back from a week at Hotel Jafferau and had an amazing time. Although the snow conditions weren't great, we still had a blast. The staff at the hotel is the best I have encountered -- very friendly and accommodating. The only draw back is that the hotel is pretty far up the mountain, so it is difficult to get out in the evenings without a car. Despite that fact, we managed to have a great time every night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Just back to Rome after 5 days from Bardonecchia with my wife, none of us want to come back, it was like e second honeymoon for us :)
Great hotel, great people & service, great location, good food, not a great breakfast but very nice rooms and view, look at my pictures.
Highly recommended this hotel to everyone, if you want to relax, they have a nice SPA, if you Ski, they are very close to Campo Smith
Enjoy your vacation
Duman k.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
141 reviews
1.8 km away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
3.2 km away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#6 of 23 in Bardonecchia
464 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel des Geneys Splendid
Hotel des Geneys Splendid
#14 of 23 in Bardonecchia
180 reviews
2.4 km away
Residence Villa Frejus
Residence Villa Frejus
#13 of 23 in Bardonecchia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jafferau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jafferau

Property: Hotel Jafferau
Address: Recinto Fregiusia SNC, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bardonecchia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
#7 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jafferau 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jafferau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferau Hotel Bardonecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing