We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
5
17
38
44
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
17
38
44
97
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 201 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for a weekend break as a package deal. The hotel is about 30 min drive or train away from Florence, but it did not effect our experience of Tuscany. We had a very good experience at the hotel no issues, in fact we laughed at some of the quirks of the establishment. There are several good restaurants and bars around the location as well. Basically it is what it is, clean tidy and friendly staff, you can not ask for more. I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AndyTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a short break in Florence and a stay at the Albatros. I was quite worried about going there after reading some of the reviews.I have to say we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was basic but we only wanted a hotel to be a base as we would be out most of the days. There was a fridge in the room with beer, coca cola and water, which we did use. Our bed linen and towels were changed every day. Breakfast included in the price but there was no other food facilities provided. The only drawback is the location of the hotel. There's not a lot around the area, and the few places there are tend to close early. We took the bus to Florence, cost 1 euro 20 cents and the journey takes nearly an hour, but they do run every 20 minutes. We also travelled by train to Calenzano and was shocked to find the train station closed and in darkness. There are no taxis around the station area and we ended up getting lost and walking a couple of miles through an industrial estate to find the nearest hotel, who very kindly phoned us a taxi to take us to the Albatros. Taxi from the Albatros to Florence cost us 36 euro and only took 15 mins. Can't fault the hotel (or the staff )only it's location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've make a reservation in the hotel but due to the earthquake in Italy, so i sent several cancellation email to the hotel. But they never reply!!! They just sent me an email about charge are prepaid. What kind of service is that?

As a hospitality services, this act is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. According to some previous review by other guest, I'm sure their service and people attitude are bad enough to ruin your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Don't book any room of this hotel!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

On our honeymoon we travelled from Australia to Europe in 1991. We stayed at the Albatros because it was the first hotel we came across as we entered the crazy Florentine traffic straight from the autostada. The manager was rude, refused to exchange currency, argued with a maintanence worker who stormed outside and turned off the water pump that was draining the flooded carpark to reallow it to flood. The minibar in our room had a great length of chain wrapped numerous times around it so that we ouldnt open it. Breakfast, though complimentary was refused becuase we didnt leave our passports with the manager for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews