We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience!”
Review of Paolo

Paolo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We were so disappointed by our visit to this restaurant. It was close to our hotel, so we went for dinner and ordered the mixed grilled seafood with potatoes and grilled vegetables. The seafood came on a bed of raw rocket and rosemary and everything tasted foul - not particularly fresh and really bland with this horrible grilled undertone which I can't even describe.

We were sent the wrong drinks the first time around. I was given a key to the toilet around the back of the building which I thought I had locked before a man promptly walked in...all round, it was not a good experience at all.

Then there were the desserts - an overly sweet whipped tiramisu with very little flavour and some peaches in sweet sherry-like wine.

We reluctantly paid 70 euros and quickly left!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank LucyHallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elbano61, Proprietario at Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you Mr. Gordon Ramsay!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 678 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2016

they are very nice
food is great make sure you reserve or you have to wait
its in a park near the beach
great seafood

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mich t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Perfect place for lunch. Excellent quality price ratio. The owners are really nice. The food superbe. If they have lobster pasta go for it! Kids options are also good and cheap. Then they can play close by where there is a playground while you enjoy the food.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank FabioM744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016

It was as if everyone turned up at 8.30 and the kitchen struggled to get its act together. We were waiting forever for a bruschetta starter and in fact if we had got that we would have been happy enough to sip the wine. It seemed totally unnecessary to wait that long for a simple starter. The main courses were fine, but we had waited so long, that we just wolfed them down. A little bit of organisation and this would be a fine restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

What does it means? It means that in the island all is subject to this factor…landscape is Ke times better than average, inhabitant friendship is Ke lower than average, prices are Ke higher, quality of food and accommodation are Ke lower, sea is Ke higher and so on.
Based on this, if outside Elba Island a would have rated 2stars a restaurant where clams with chickpeas cream is served as clams with canned beans cream, the spaghetti with clams is too much salty and spaghetti with seafood is composed with spaghetti, 4 pieces of the same shrimp, two clams and numerous shells mixed in the tomato sauce, here the rating is 4 star!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paolocA9893UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paolo also viewed

Marina di Campo, Elba Island
Marina di Campo, Elba Island
 
Marina di Campo, Elba Island
 
Campo nell'Elba, Elba Island
Campo nell'Elba, Elba Island
 

Been to Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing