We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
54
34
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
34
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main town james bond skis boots neilson staff advanced skiers ski area cable car a short bus ride ski run night life good sized rooms cakes hidden valley small village recommend this hotel quiet location no hot water
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 110 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2016

We had a marvellous 4 nights here in June 2016. It was a perfect base for walking in the Dolomites. Bob and Lucia were very welcoming and helpful. Food was excellent - especially the simple but delicious evening meals. Bob is very knowledgeable on wild flowers and June is the perfect time to see myriad types, including some rare ones. They are also keen walkers and very helpful at suggesting routes. Judging by the number of cyclists in the area it would be a great base for them too. The hotel is spacious with great views and Penia is a charming, quiet village.

Room Tip: So far as we could tell, all the hotel bedrooms had good views of the surrounding countryside and the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vandaj727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokymarmolada, Proprietario at Dolomites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you for your compliments.It was a pleasure to meet you both, we hope to see you again in the near future in the beautiful Dolomites.
Bob and Lucia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015

We recently spent a great time at Dolomites Inn. It was our base for a week of walking. It is a lovely family run hotel and exceeded our expectations in every way.

The location is great for hiking, on the bus route just a few minutes from the cable car in Canazei. It is within easy walking distance to the cable car at Alba, where a second brand new cable car will be open in December, which goes all the way to the top of the Canazei hiking/ski area without a mid station stop. The hiking trails are all well marked and there are several little restaurants, which saves you carrying all your food/drink for the day.

The Dolomites Inn itself has lovely rooms, all with a mountain view ……… in fact there are lovely views all around. Everything was spotlessly clean and to a high standard, with plenty of storage space to unpack properly. It is in a quiet location and that combined with the comfy beds meant a good nights sleep.
The hotel itself is full of character and detail in it’s décor.

It has facilities that I wouldn’t normally expect from a three star hotel including a large but cosy bar area, good wifi, whirlpool, sauna, small fitness area, squash courts and for the skiers a drying room. There is also a lift if you just can’t manage the stairs after a hard day hiking, cycling or skiing!!

The food was excellent. Breakfast is a good self service buffet but I do recommend taking the dinner option as well. We enjoyed all our meals but especially the Gourmet night and the Ladine night (local traditional). Dinner consisted of a well stocked salad bar, soup or pasta, main course and dessert. For me the pasta courses were the “star” – they were all delicious.

Bob and Lucia are very welcoming hosts. They built this hotel themselves and work hard to ensure everyone is happy with their stay. Having lived in the area so long they are obviously very knowledgeable and will give help and advice about things to do and where to go. They seem to have walked every inch of the mountains themselves in all weathers!!!

One tip. If you want the dinner option you will definitely get the best deal by booking directly with the hotel.

We would definitely return to the Dolomites Inn, to explore this lovely area some more. Maybe next time to ski!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me2intheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights at the Dolomites Inn at the beginning of June. The owner Rob and his wife were very welcoming and the home-cooked evening meals excellent. Rob was very helpful even telling where to find a very rare orchid (which we did!). The accommodation was clean and comfortable and Penia is a lovely location.

Room Tip: Note the wifi was not actually available in our room but could be picked up in different parts of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We liked everything about this hotel. It was beautifully clean and our rooms were spacious and very well equipped. We were warmly welcomed and felt relaxed and at home. The hotel is a short distance from Canazei itself, and set back from the main road up the valley, so it's very peaceful and the views are stunning from all sides. The food is excellent, bountiful and well priced. So nice to stay somewhere that turns out to be just as good as it promises to be, and indeed exceeds expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2014

we have chosen this hotel as our base for 10 days walking . it is an ideal starting point for many walking routes and with the help of Bob and Lucia(the hotel owners) we are spoiled with choice.
Our room is very clean and spacious. it is very quiet which enhanced a good sleep. The breakfast and dinner are of good standard. the most wonderful thing is to wake up to the mountain view and greeted by smiles at breakfast.

Room Tip: room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews