We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, good location, great food + skiing”
Review of Dolomites Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolomites Inn
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have stayed here several times over the last fifteen years, always looked after by the same friendly owner/mamagement team - Bob and Lucia. The hotel is a couple of miles outside of the main town but easily accessed. The rooms are a good size - warm in winter and we always seem to have one with a spectacular view of the Val di Fassa mountains, often able to see the black run into town, (seen but not yet experienced).

Breakfast is a generous buffet style eat as much as you need arrangement. Ideal for hungry skiers and healthy eaters, a selections of meats, cheese, bread, fruit, jams fruit juice, boiled eggs, cakes croissants etc. Dinner is a real treat, overseen by the highly accomplished chef Lucia.There is a well stocked help yourself salad bar, plus a choice of a pasta dish or a soup, then a choice of a main meat course, usually beef, veal, pork, chicken and fish will be on offer. This dish will be served with fresh vegetables - very tasty. we stayed for a week, in that time there were two special nights - a "gourmet night", and a "ladin night", These saw us presented with local meat dishes and accompaniment dishes of pasta, polenta and vegetables. the dessert menu was very varied, ranging from an excellent Tiramasu, Sachertorte, Strudel, etc and of course fresh fruit salad or ice cream.

The hotel has a Ski Bus stop right next to it, or you can walk about 200 metres down to the Ski Bus stop on the main raid, it is a good frequent service to the main lifts. We were lucky to get quite a lot of real snow but the pistes are kept up to a good standard with lots of snow making machines. One can drive to several other Superski centres easily if you have a car, Pellegrino, Pordoi, Moena, Lusia or link to them via the cable cars and lifts with the mainly red runs joining them up. If the the day is right make an early start and get the Sellaronda under your belt. We experienced very little queuing at the bottom lifts out of the valley providing you get going by 09.00. Saturday seems a quiet lift day due to it being changeover day for many visitors - but no guarantee because it may clash with local school holidays. At the end of the day you can return to the hotel, log on to the free wi-fi, count your runs with the Dolomiti Superski app and leave your boots and socks to dry in the capacious basement drying room. And/or have a whirlpool session or Sauna! Evenings in the family friendly bar are relaxed and if you have the energy there is night life in the nearby Canazei town centre.

This is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the homogenised ski tour holidays and for the non-skiers there are some nearby low level and higher level walks, swimming pool in the town, plus local churches, quaint architecture and best of all cake and coffee shops.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2016

We had a marvellous 4 nights here in June 2016. It was a perfect base for walking in the Dolomites. Bob and Lucia were very welcoming and helpful. Food was excellent - especially the simple but delicious evening meals. Bob is very knowledgeable on wild flowers and June is the perfect time to see myriad types, including some rare ones. They are also keen walkers and very helpful at suggesting routes. Judging by the number of cyclists in the area it would be a great base for them too. The hotel is spacious with great views and Penia is a charming, quiet village.

Room Tip: So far as we could tell, all the hotel bedrooms had good views of the surrounding countryside and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vandaj727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smokymarmolada, Proprietario at Dolomites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for your compliments.It was a pleasure to meet you both, we hope to see you again in the near future in the beautiful Dolomites.
Bob and Lucia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We recently spent a great time at Dolomites Inn. It was our base for a week of walking. It is a lovely family run hotel and exceeded our expectations in every way.

The location is great for hiking, on the bus route just a few minutes from the cable car in Canazei. It is within easy walking distance to the cable car at Alba, where a second brand new cable car will be open in December, which goes all the way to the top of the Canazei hiking/ski area without a mid station stop. The hiking trails are all well marked and there are several little restaurants, which saves you carrying all your food/drink for the day.

The Dolomites Inn itself has lovely rooms, all with a mountain view ……… in fact there are lovely views all around. Everything was spotlessly clean and to a high standard, with plenty of storage space to unpack properly. It is in a quiet location and that combined with the comfy beds meant a good nights sleep.
The hotel itself is full of character and detail in it’s décor.

It has facilities that I wouldn’t normally expect from a three star hotel including a large but cosy bar area, good wifi, whirlpool, sauna, small fitness area, squash courts and for the skiers a drying room. There is also a lift if you just can’t manage the stairs after a hard day hiking, cycling or skiing!!

The food was excellent. Breakfast is a good self service buffet but I do recommend taking the dinner option as well. We enjoyed all our meals but especially the Gourmet night and the Ladine night (local traditional). Dinner consisted of a well stocked salad bar, soup or pasta, main course and dessert. For me the pasta courses were the “star” – they were all delicious.

Bob and Lucia are very welcoming hosts. They built this hotel themselves and work hard to ensure everyone is happy with their stay. Having lived in the area so long they are obviously very knowledgeable and will give help and advice about things to do and where to go. They seem to have walked every inch of the mountains themselves in all weathers!!!

One tip. If you want the dinner option you will definitely get the best deal by booking directly with the hotel.

We would definitely return to the Dolomites Inn, to explore this lovely area some more. Maybe next time to ski!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We stayed for 4 nights at the Dolomites Inn at the beginning of June. The owner Rob and his wife were very welcoming and the home-cooked evening meals excellent. Rob was very helpful even telling where to find a very rare orchid (which we did!). The accommodation was clean and comfortable and Penia is a lovely location.

Room Tip: Note the wifi was not actually available in our room but could be picked up in different parts of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We liked everything about this hotel. It was beautifully clean and our rooms were spacious and very well equipped. We were warmly welcomed and felt relaxed and at home. The hotel is a short distance from Canazei itself, and set back from the main road up the valley, so it's very peaceful and the views are stunning from all sides. The food is excellent, bountiful and well priced. So nice to stay somewhere that turns out to be just as good as it promises to be, and indeed exceeds expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we have chosen this hotel as our base for 10 days walking . it is an ideal starting point for many walking routes and with the help of Bob and Lucia(the hotel owners) we are spoiled with choice.
Our room is very clean and spacious. it is very quiet which enhanced a good sleep. The breakfast and dinner are of good standard. the most wonderful thing is to wake up to the mountain view and greeted by smiles at breakfast.

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnie1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a return visit for us to Dolomites Inn. And just like the first time, we thought we would stay 2 or 3 days, and ended up staying a week. Dolomites Inn is a beautiful hotel located in the picturesque town of Penia just a few kilometers from Canazei. Canazei is a little too busy for us so we stay in Penia and walk the path along the river into Canazei or take the bus which is only a few blocks away. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and all have balconies with a table and chairs to sit outside and enjoy the mountain views. The food at the Dolomites Inn is excellent. The breakfast buffet has a vast assortment of choices and the dinner selections are always delicious with most the dishes being the best we've had in Italy. The bar is an inviting place to retire to after dinner to share stories and to get trekking recommendations from Bob. One night during our visit, both Bob and Lucia, the owners, were sitting in the middle of the bar and orchestrating one conversation in three different languages with the guests. It was quite a fun experience for us from the U.S. to be able to "visit" with the guests from three other countries. Bob and Lucia are such gracious hosts and a great team. Although we've stayed in many nice hotels in the Dolomites, none has the complete package of welcoming hospitatility, excellent food, and spectacular accommodations as the Dolomites Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Chalet Pineta
Hotel Chalet Pineta
#32 of 51 in Canazei
116 reviews
1.2 km away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
248 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Wellness
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Welln...
#7 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Garni Val De Costa
Garni Val De Costa
#8 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
98 reviews
1.3 km away
Albergo Alpino Al Cavalletto
Albergo Alpino Al Cavalletto
#3 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
174 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#25 of 51 in Canazei
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomites Inn

Address: Via Antersies 3, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range: $750 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolomites Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Dolomites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomites Hotel Moena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing