We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am sure you can find a better place in Canazei”
Review of Dolomites Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolomites Inn
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I spent two weeks in Dolomites Inn with a sizeable group of friends (families with young children) in February 2011. I have mixed feelings. Here are my major observations:
1. Location
First of all – Dolomites Inn is not in Canazei as such, but in Penia di Canazei, a small village probably about 5km from Canazei downtown. The place is very peaceful, but the opportunities to go out in the evening are limited. From skier perspective the location of the hotel isn’t perfect – the distance to the ski-bus is probably something like 500 meters. On the other hand the ski-bus system works nice – regular and frequent service from 8am to 7pm. By car you can reach Ciampac and Belvedere Ski-Arenas within 10 minutes.
2. Rooms
Very clean, average size and standard equipment. No complaints about it.
3. Restaurant and bar
The breakfast selection is quite limited and has practically not changed during our whole 2 weeks stay. No warm food apart from boiled eggs. For me not enough ahead of a full-skiing day.
Dinners were sometimes quite good (especially the local food evening) but sometimes below average. Repeatable – if you are not a great fan of veal (served almost every night) you might be disappointed.
Bar is a strong side of the hotel. Spacious and nicely finished, with an impressive selection of single malt whiskies, is a place to spend an evening.
4. Customer service
The weakest side of the stay is the customer approach by the owners (especially Robert). Unfortunately, he sometimes gives an impression of a rude arrogant guy who hates his guests. Especially the children are not warmly welcomed. We had some good moments with Robert (a few evenings in the bar) but general impression during a stay was – the sooner we leave the happier the owners will be.
Brief conclusion of Dolomites Inn from my side: slightly below average. Next time in Val di Fassa I will try a different place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek_Polska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

Very clean and nice rooms. Great food. Spectacular views. Charming hotel in a tranquil setting. Owners are helpful and kind.
The only annoyance was that the hotel charges extra for sauna (although you get one sauna per stay for free), and that they charge 2% extra if you pay your bill with a credit card!!?
The location is minutes to the ski slopes and couple of more to the center of Canazei where you can party in the famous Apres Ski Paradise (we highly recommend it!), or shop in the little boutiques.
All in all it was a wonderful ski holiday and you will not find a better value for you money then the Dolomites Inn! We highly recommend it. Lots of charm, great food, and super clean rooms is all you need!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValidArsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here for a ski weekend In January for 3 nights. Was very good value for half board option. Rooms, hotel and wellness centre were all very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. A really good selcetion of wholesome food for breakfast, and good coffee. Dinner is a very generous 3 course affair with a couple of choices. Very impressed with the food considering the realatively low prices compared to other hotels in Val di Fassa.
Hotel itself has got a good atmosphere to it and is definatly complimented by its owners Lucia and Bob who were very friendly, and informative of the local area and travel arrangements.
Location is a little way from the ski-lifts, but this is the same as most places in Val di Fassa and the ski-bus stops very near by. The local ski area is just a couple of minutes away, or a few more minutes to Canazie. Views from the rooms were really good of the surrounding mountains, and the location was nice and quiet as opposed to some of the hotels in the middle of Canazie right next to the road.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

My girl friend and I stayed here for a week in early Sept for a hiking hol in Dolomites. Very friendly - owner Bob is knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Nice buffet breakfast (juice, yog, cereals, cheese, cold meats etc). Ended up going half board as evening meals were good (exceptional value). We thought a much nicer location that in Canezi itself. Well located in Fassa valley with loads of good walks nearby. My tip would be to ask for a West facing room so you can enjoy the evening Sun on the balcony.

Pete

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnglandTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

My husband a I had a very nice stay in Dolomites Inn. The owners are very friendly and hotel is situated in a very quiet place just a few km from Canazei center. A cable car from where beautiful walks starts is at a stone' throw.

Room are very confortable, recently renovated. We went everyday at the hot whirlpool, so nice after a hicking day!!! The hotel also offers a squash court (the only one in this area), a fitness room and a sauna.

We had half board and the food was wonderful, cooked by Lucia, the owner's wife. Bob, the owner, knows the region very well and can give information for hiking or via ferrata you may want to discover!!!

We really loved this place and for sure will come again the next time we'll go to Dolomites.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vitalline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ale0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaFioreB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
1.3 km away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
247 reviews
1.3 km away
Garni Val De Costa
Garni Val De Costa
#8 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
98 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Chalet Pineta
Hotel Chalet Pineta
#31 of 51 in Canazei
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Wellness
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Welln...
#7 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
122 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
3.4 km away
Hotel Andreas
Hotel Andreas
#27 of 51 in Canazei
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomites Inn

Address: Via Antersies 3, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range: $742 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolomites Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dolomites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomites Hotel Moena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing