We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
5
12
4
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
12
4
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have stayed at the Vesuvian Institute several times. As I have business in the area, I have found that this is more than a hotel it is part of an ongoing archaeology project at a place called Stabiae which has a number of important Roman villas. If you ask, you will get a tour and any number of highly qualified staff to show you that site and what else there might be in the area. Not many places can make that claim!

The food is good and the staff incredibly helpful, although the rooms are modest. That said, I have found the absence of the "frigo-bar" and TV to be peaceful and a change from the normal fare. Not a five star hotel, more of a cultural-tourism hotel, with many unique assets. Views from the rooms are terrific!

Room Tip: Get one on the view side overlooking the Bay of Naples.....rather spectacular.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights 6-10 May with a small group tour (10 travellers). The accommodation is basically student accommodation with twins beds in small rooms with a very very small shower. We were all lucky to be allocated rooms on the 3rd floor with views over the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. The area of Castellammare di Stabia is not the safest part of of Italy and a walk from the hotel to the town centre at night is certainly not to be undertaken. The establishment has two large road access gates which are locked at night. The hotel is essentially part of a university and is frequented by university students engaged in archaelogical digs etc. Their presence was not a problem.
The breakfast was typical continental fair though the coffee was undrinkable, so we opted for tea and/or a coffee from the pay machine outside the breakfast room. The evening meals were variable, but certainly not fine Italian fair. The staff were friendly and obliging, with the kitchen staff being a family group.
Internet access was available. but only worked for a short time on our last evening, which I was told was fairly typical of the hotel.
The hotel is a good base from which to explore parts of Southern Italy including Pompeii, Cuma, Herculaneum and Capri and the Amalfi Coast etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriscameron05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews