We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven for our 30th wedding...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caminetto west bedroom Caminetto kitchen-diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Caminetto west bedroom
Caminetto kitchen-diner
Caminetto dining table
Caminetto picture
Caminetto bedroom with sunset views
The pool and the view
Caminetto east bedroom
Caminetto west bedroom
Villa Patrignone
The pool at sunset
The pool at sunset
gateway to courtyard
our menu board
The view from the drive
the sunset seen from Caminetto
another sunset
dusty sunset
Podere Patrignone from the air
San Gimignano from the Terracotta Terrace
The steps up to Caminetto
Another sunset
Another sunset
Another sunset
Our 100% organic extra virgin olive oil
The old cart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave H
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven for our 30th wedding anniversary.”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet, authentic, rustic Tuscany getaway with great views and gracious hosts, Podere Patrignone will not disappoint you at all. We had never travelled to Tuscany before and were looking for a quaint villa centrally located that we could use as a base to travel to many of the hill towns. We travelled with our friends who were also celebrating their 30th and the four of us shared a two bedroom two bath "apartment" with its own private entry. Simon and Verity, the proprietors, were there when we needed advice and directions, but also respected our privacy. Their dogs, Lola and Charlie, would be waiting to greet us upon our return from day and evening trips. It was like concerned parents waiting for their kids to return. They were special hosts in their own way.
We were there for 6 days and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Watching the sunsets poolside with a good bottle of Chianti from the honor bar and enjoying the home cooked authentic Italian dinner that Verity prepared are two of the great memories we came home with.
Simon and Verity, thank you. You made our 30th anniversary very special and one we will remember forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience, location, views and the hosts.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BC
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
8Angel8
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxing, beautiful location in the Chianti hills”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We went with friends who had been here many years ago and they had told us how wonderful it was. We were not disappointed. What a marvellous place. We were welcomed by our hosts and very friendly dogs. Unpacked we went down to the pool to cool off, and saw the amazing views. The rooms are a generous size, all ensuite. The kitchen had everything we needed including bread, meat, coffee, estate olive oil and a bottle of wine which we could refill at the honesty bar. This proved very useful! An evening meal for everyone during the week proved great for everyone, no driving and ample wine.
Local restaurants with great food are not far away. Good location for sightseeing, being near Florence, Sienna and local villages with interesting markets. Take a walk early in the morning before it gets too hot, you won't get lost as the dogs will show you the way. Our hosts were very discreet, but always there when needed and very helpful. Hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Z
Placida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Podere Patrignone for a week in mid-May 2012 in the Il Caminetto 2-bedroom apartment. Simon & Verity were great hosts. The first night we were there they had a fabulous Tuscan dinner party with the other guests. The meal was fantastic. We started on the veranda with wine watching the sunset, then moved into their rustic dining area lit by candlelight. What a great meal. Our apartment was well funished and kitchen was perfect for us - since we like to cook. The Co-op supermarket in the Castellina town is excellent - small, but very well stocked. We would travel around all day to the various hill towns enjoying the incredible views, eating lunch out, shopping, and then cook our dinners in the apartment. The food items and wines you can buy are just great and different than we find in the USA - which made it fun. Excellent cheeses, raviolis, truffle oils, pestos (mushroom pesto?), etc. - and of course the local wines - which are fairly priced too. Also, check out the ceramic shop in the town - "Pep Bizzarrie" - beautiful stuff - we had some pieces shipped home by Patrizia the owner. If we needed anything during our stay, Simon and Verity were always there to assist.
Our friends from England joined us there for 4 days, so having the 2-bedroom 2-bath apartment was perfect for all of us.

A car is a must! And be prepared for the long gravel/dirt road into Podere Patrignone - take it slow! Ask Simon about the alternate way out to the other main highway - which we found much better and quicker (the south drive). Also, ask about getting out of Castellina and back home to Podere Patrignone - you can't get out of town the same way you come in. A little tricky!

We would highly recommend Podere Patrignone to anyone who wants a true Tuscan experience in a beautiful area of Italy - close to many towns and wineries.
It was everything we were looking for, and more! So, if you are considering this property, Book it Danno!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic charm, location, and Simon & Verity's hospitality
Liked least: We probably should have asked them to turn on the heat - it got cool at night
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 25 May 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$270
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing