We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Fontana Barone
Ranked #13 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Cefalu
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent half term week here and enjoyed it thoroughly. The villa,pool and surroundings were spotless Thanks to Guiseppe and his team for a great stay. We could not fault this place and would recommend it to all. Check out the fresh pan au chocolate and fresh croissants my boys loved them..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamjackharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

Me and my family, kids 3 and 6 years old, visited Fontana Barone one week in may.
We can really recommend this place, lot of space for the kids, nice poolarea and excellent service. They really take care of you.

Thank you Giuseppe!

Fam. Englund

Room Tip: Ask for house 211 or 212 (close to the poolarea)
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank Gert64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We visited Fontana Barone in May 2010 after reading all of the excellent reviews and were certainly not disappointed. The villas are kept in excellent order and equipped with everything you could possibly need. Guiseppe and his team look after you from start to finish, anything you want just ask.

Gardens and pool are superbly maintained and the life guard very friendly and reassuring particularly for those with young families. Fresh bread or croissants delivered to your villa each morning (the chocolate ones are to die for!) . It really is a little gem especially if you are looking for the ideal place to switch off and relax.

If you wish to make the most of your stay you will need a car. There is a local beach within walking distance but other amenities such as the super market, restaurants and shops in Cefalu are a little to far away and there are no footpaths on the main road.

We flew into Catania and it was just under two hours drive to Cefalu. It is an easy drive on the motorway so do not be put off by this. Guiseppe will organise transport for you if required.

We found plenty to do in the surrounding area. Do take the coast road to Tindarys and have lunch at the restaurant right at the top. Fantastic setting, good food but miserable waiters. Best catch the train if you intend to visit Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit01905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

For families with children up to 10 -11 years old who enjoy a quiet setting and a perfectly outfitted villa this is a treasure. Most of the visitors return multiple times because of the experience, and the setting. Why is Fontana Barone perfect? The villa is cleaned to perfection every morning, your fresh bakery order brought to your door.The villal itself has modern furniture, 2 kitchens ( inside and outside) 2 bathrooms + outside shower.
I truly enjoyed picking a lemon from the tree in my own garden to season the fresh gamba's I bought in town, then put on the outdoor kitchen grill.
The villapark is decorated with flowerbeds, palms and fruit trees.
The villapark is small , you walk in 1 minute from your villa to the sunroof covered outdoor playgarden where your children play safely while you enjoy a cappuccino.
The swimming pool is supervised by a lifeguard.
The staff is hospitable, yet respects your privacy. They speak English, French and Dutch, so my children could chat and order their icecream as if they were at home.
To enjoy Sicily you will need to rent a car. The medieval town of Cefalu is just 10 minutes away by car and perfectly caters to tourists who enjoy authentic Sicilian cuisine, walking around in the old town, climbing the cathedral or buy italian fashion.
Within 1 hour drive you can visit castles, excavations, ancient roman ruins or drive up to the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sicily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The summer of 2009 was our second stay at Fontana Barone. We discovered this fantastic place in 2008, and are now planning our third visit this coming summer. We travel with our two kids, now aged 6 and 9 years, and they love the place. We have also brought my father in law for celebrating his birthday, - 80 years old! Giuseppe and his team are so friendly and serviceminded, the garden is so well taken care of, and we really enjoy the private garden supplied with every thing necessery for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaatenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed for ten days sharing three luxury villas..everything was so clean and well organised. The staff are brilliant and they will sort out anything you want. The area is also superb and I would recommend it though you would really need to hire a car as it is a long walk into town ! Overall...excellent .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

During our stay from 25 august till 5th of september we had a great stay at the appartments. It is nearly a small house instead of an appartment with 2 bedrooms and toilet/bathroom at the first floor and enough space to sleep at the living room which also has a large bathroom with shower. We had beautiful weather of about 35 degrees In the evening it was 29 degrees avarage. there is a shower also outside the house.

Especially Giancarlo the italian poolgard is great with kids and watches them everytime and also Yvonne and Guiseppe where very nice when you needed assistance.

Bread can be ordered every day automically and also cost almost nothing !


Best regards Fam Honkoop from the Netherlands with 3 children

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruudhonkoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
5.5 km away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
3.6 km away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
8.8 km away
Villa Palamara 1868
Villa Palamara 1868
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
364 reviews
3.7 km away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
381 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 36 in Cefalu
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Fontana Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Fontana Barone

Address: Contrada Mazzaforno | Via Malta, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Cefalu
Price Range: $86 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Fontana Barone 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not too far from Cefalu lies Fontana Barone Residence, little haven of peace full of tropical multi-coloured plants and flowers: the ideal place where to spend your holiday with your family and friends, away from everyday noise and stress. Your holiday in Fontana Barone Residence is going to be unforgettable thanks to its comfortable villas and facilities like the swimming-pool, a gazebo with a bar and a playground for children, where you can spend your evenings in good company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Fontana Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Fontana Barone Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing