We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning villa with breath-taking views in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Deodata

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cefalu, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lulu66Lon...
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A stunning villa with breath-taking views in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

The moment you walk into Villa Deodata there is a sense of calm and peacefulness - it's not just a bland holiday rental, it's a characterful home that has been nurtured and cared for. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and a perfect place to relax and (for me) to practise daily yoga in a most beautiful setting. Waking up to the panoramic views of Cefalu from the master bedroom (upstairs) each morning, was a sight to behold and has left a lasting impression. We stayed here for one week as a family of four with our 20 year old and 12 year old sons and it was the perfect spot to experience our first taste of Sicily. The local village of Sant Ambrogio was charming and like stepping back in time; we spent many an evening at the local pizzeria and gelateria which we never tired of. Dining out was exceptionally good value. Our days were spent partly exploring the local beaches, hiring a speed boat to explore the coastline around Cefalu and lazing around the beautiful infinity pool at the villa, set above the olive groves, surrounded by stunning sea views and hills. A perfect spot to relax and enjoy a sundowner too! The villa provided everything that we needed for our stay in Sicily and we would highly recommend it. You will need a car to stay at this villa and be prepared to travel up some steep inclines - it's all part of the Sicilian experience and it's worth it for the fabulous views. The owner, Carmelina, was very attentive to our needs and ensured that everything in the villa was perfect for our stay. We'd love to revisit one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of Villa Deodata
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiefro...
Vail, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect, in every way.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from an extended stay at Villa Deodata, located in Sant' Ambrogio, a small, delightful village about 5 kilometers from Cefalu. It would be hard to find a lovlier place to spend a vacation in all of Sicily. Beginning with the beautiful and ever changing view, over the turquoise Tyrrhenian Sea, and extending to La Rocca Di Cefalu. The villa is set on a quiet hillside, surrounded by greenery and olive trees. There are beaches literally in short walking distance. The house is very private and tranquill. The owner has furnished the villa in a simple and tasteful fashion and it is well equipped, with everything you need for housekeeping, and has a nice outdoor kitchen for outdoor cooking and dining. You may never want to leave, but beautiful Sicily beckons. So many lovely and delightful places, literally minutes away. The charming town of Cefalu, with it's beautiful Norman Duomo, and lovely beaches, is very nearby. Within an hour's drive, the lovely towns and villages of the Parco Delle Madonie took us back in time, each one with excellent restaurants. The Parco itself with stunning mountain views and great hiking trails. The owner of the villa, Carmelina, of Sicilianexperience.com, can arrange a visit with a local shepherd, dinner and wine tasting, excursions, hiking, and almost anything else that may be of interest to the visitor.
Villa Deodata is in an excellent location for exploring the many amazing points of interest in Sicily. Just about all of the major tourist destinations are less than a three hour drive away, many much less. So it makes a great base for exploring the island. Palermo, Siracusa, Taormina, Agrigento, with it's amazing Greek ruins, the Valley of the Temples, the Aeolian Islands, and many more fascinating places, literally just hours away.
And it was so lovely to come home to a beautiful sunset, a glass of wine and the blinking lighthouse at the base of La Rocca.
Thank you, Carmelina, for memories that will last a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous views
Liked least: Cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simone L
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An amazing getaway that will impress everyone in the family!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We returned to the beautiful Villa Deodata this October and each time it becomes even more beautiful. The attention to detail is second to none and the interior design of this home is so simple, classy and stylish. After staying in hotels it always feel like you are coming home.

Although this place is very close to our hearts I was very pleased that my parents (including my high maintanence father in his 60's) were also blown away by this. My entire extended family were staying scattered throughout San't Ambrogio and they all want to come back. The ages ranged from mid 20's to 82... so it was a hit for all ages!

This year we stayed with my parents, who had their own bedroom and bathroom upstairs, my cousin who had her own bedroom downstairs and my husband and I had a beautiful room on the ground level, which opened onto the terrace. We also shared a bathroom with my cousin, which worked out perfectly.

The house is perfect for entertaining if you are part of a group but sadly we ran out of time. It would also be perfect for a small wedding ceremony on the terrace, of course you would have to ask Carmelina for special permission. You could easily spend a day just lazing about on the terrace and taking in the ocean views.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough, it is very special and you will feel like you have experienced Sicily through the eyes of the locals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace views and the stunning interior design
Liked least: Only there for 3 days!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kings lynn
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the ability to participate in local life. No swimming pool ensuring safety for small children
Liked least: Dishwasher , it didn't wash properly so we reverted to hand washing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Reviewed 12 December 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view from a well furnished villa
Liked least: The holiday ending
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$237
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing