We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazie mille!!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The handsomely appointed room with a fabulous large terrace overlooking the Mosaic and Lake Como and our three exquisite dinner experiences at the Veranda all made for the best family celebration we could have imagined.

After adjusting to the jaw-dropping beauty of the hotel, you begin to notice that nothing is out of place at the Villa d'Este...every attention to every detail has been paid; but the atmosphere is friendly, not stuffy.

From our warm welcome by the attractive and attentive staff to the kind birthday and anniversary wishes, everything about the Villa d'Este is luxe, yet with a friendly touch that goes beyond practiced professionalism. This is a most impressive property in a spectacular location.

We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: While this kind of luxury is not inexpensive, we booked a Romantic Stay package, which included room...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for Villa d'Este
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a wonderful lunch in the Veranda restaurant at Villa d'Este, The setting is hard to beat and the food was really outstanding. The service was perfect too. We also had a lovely walk around the beautiful grounds before tearing ourselves away from this special place. Hard to beat!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I went to pay a visit to see this jewel on the lake. This classic hotel feels like you are at an old world resort, you don't want to leave the premises. If you want the best room get the Cardinal suite with it's huge balcony, of course overlooking the lake. La dolce vita!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I loved this hotel. We had a spectacular view from our room, the gardens are gorgeous and the location is the best in Como. It only gets 4 stars because the rooms are a little tired. For what you pay here, they should at least change out the carpet every 20 years and get new curtains. I felt like I was staying at Grandmas house....

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank zoenicole819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiume, Direttore generale at Villa d'Este, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn that you retained nice memories of your last year's sejour at Villa d'Este and that you enjoyed the spectacular view and location of our property.

In regards to the room assigned that you described tired, I want to reassure that, taking advantage of our winter closure, we undergo extensive renovation of the guest rooms and facilities on a yearly base. In fact, apart the total repainting of all guest rooms and recarpeting of all public spaces, we completely renovate around 20 rooms each year out of the total 152, each one different from the others in terms of fabrics and interior decoration. Being the period of your visit in July, the peak month of the year, I presume that you have been assigned a room not among the most recently refurbished.

I hope you will have soon another chance to visit us again in the near future in order to appreciate the major renovation of last winter, among which a new sundeck by the floating pool and the updating of our sporting club in the ladies' sauna and steambath more in line with the decor of our beauty center.

Hoping you will have another chance soon to visit us again on the romantic shores of Lake Como, I remain

with kind regards

Danilo Zucchetti
General Manager
Villa d'Este Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This made the second part of our honeymoon and words fail me. Sheer opulence you are treated just like royalty, we arrived to find champagne and strawberries in our suite and a card from the manager. I really can't say anything negative about this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Beautiful Italian old fashion classic Palace set on the Como lake. You feel out in time.
A very romantic place to stay. Very relaxing.
Make sure you have a room with a view on the lake. I personally prefer to stay in the main building, where all the rooms have been refurbish in the original style. All the bathroom are in marble.
The service is excellent, the cuisine is delicious, the setting amazing. The guest are international and chic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

A historical place where you feel what a luxury hotel can offer. The rooms and the restaurants are great, but greater are the gardens where you can spend hours or even days in a splendid landscape.

Room Tip: Ask for a "lake view" room even if it is more expensive!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
19.4 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,098 reviews
21.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.5 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
865 reviews
19.0 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $805 - $1,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing