We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveller rating
1,237
161
60
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,237
161
60
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill veranda restaurant jacket and tie lake como floating pool best hotels in the world junior suite indoor pool old world linen sheets la veranda main building beautiful hotel tennis courts concierge desk george clooney private boat
Filter
Updating list...
937 - 942 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The property is situated in one of the most gorgeous places on earth. The main biulding and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The indoor pool and "athletic facilities" are dated and small and need an urgent face lift. The lake pool, likewise, has a dumpy feel to it that is inconsistent with the grandeur of the property.
The rooms and suites are fabulous. The service is truly impeccable, with many of the staff genuinely wanting to please and get to know the guests. They were extremely nice to our 9 year old daughter. We had air condition complaints, which were promptly addressed and the general manager got involved. The restaurants are excellent, but breakfast is somewhat underwhelming.
This is a place to come and rest and enjoy the serene beauty of the area. It is not a "happening place" with nightlife and people watching. The little towns around Como are rather dull with many of their people demonstratively cool to hostile to the tourist. The prices are absurd even by top end European standards.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Churchillswit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2008

They say that wealth whispers - this is true of Villa D'Este.

Where do I start .... we went there for our wedding in August 2005 and our guests are still talking about the experience now. It is the small things that count with everything and more being done in a discreet and efficient manner. Inspite of the grand location, staff were friendly and approachable with style coming naturally.

Life is made up of a series of memories and Villa D'Este is a moment to treasure.

Enjoy the moment!

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DESOUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Tricky review as good pros but ultimately down by a few cons

- location is superb overlooking the lake and the service and food are both good -we ate at the restaurant in which some of the waiters have been their over 20 years so that was bonus and the concierge + general staff are all good as was the hotel decor
- gardens are impressive and worth walking around as is the the outdoor pool which is nice to sit around and watch the rivas cruise up and down the lake so all in all service and the look of the place and up to standard
- the disappointments are the rooms whch can really only be described as old looking with old beds , ok linen , uninteresting lights etc - nothing wrong with them as such but then for the cost a let down
- also a minor quibble i dont enjoy being charged 7 euros for a can of coke from the mini bar - i understand hotels charge a premium but that is just insulting by any stretch of the imigination and simply leaves a bad taste

so good location and service but rooms that are disappointing for the cost so a place to go and tick off the list but if i when i revisit the area and for the cost i will try somewhere else first

as an aside there is v good little restaurant ( pasta/pizza) 2 hundred yards down the road form the hotel which the concierge will recommend and worth visiting for a nice simple supper

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I stayed 3 days at the Villa D'Este on a corporate meeting. While we had the rooms round the back (no view), the attention to detail in the hotel was outstanding: it was like staying in a palace and the staff were really pleasant. What was great though was the location: overlooking the lake. springtime truly amazing - see photos

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hampshire444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Just read the review stating how disappointing this place is????
Well - it will be if you are staying in a Hotel famous for it's "hard to get" Como Waterfront Location and you plan to do this during an Italian Winter??!!! The whole point of this place is being Outdoors during Italian Summers - so no - the Interior is not "spectacular spectacular" - it's low key elegance.
The "Spectacular Spectacular" is all about the hotel's OUTDOOR amenities and services during the SUMMER!.
If you like historic buildings surrounded by the aroma of scented Jasmine, Riva boats mooring up beside your breakfast table, ducks wandering around looking for mislaid croissants, and being able to disappear with a book and a bottle of wine into the luscious gardens - then this is the place for you.
:-)

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 2012MP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews