We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A Fascinating Museum in Cesena!

Biblioteca Malatestiana is within a few walking blocks of the Piazza del Popolo and the Masini... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2018
Alan R
,
Nashville, Tennessee
World treasure

If you travel through the area, it's definitely worth a visit: you will find some of the world most... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2018
Carina S
Read all 607 reviews
  
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public library reading room tour guide great place books world libraries europe desks building biblioteca unesco malatesta history century doors architecture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Biblioteca Malatestiana is within a few walking blocks of the Piazza del Popolo and the Masini Fountain, located in the center of the old town of Cesena. We were told this is a public library, but we toured it as a museum.

The library was built in the 15th century and has collected a huge number of books through the centuries. We were told the building has 400,000 books! We didn't see all of them, but it's a large building, so we didn't argue with the guide!

The building is quite ornate and the main feature is the reading room. The reading room appears more like a sanctuary than a public library study room. Rows and rows of desk-like seats on two sides of the room with a large aisle down the middle. The only way to see the Reading Room is by purchasing a tour of the building.

Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

If you travel through the area, it's definitely worth a visit: you will find some of the world most treasured old books and maps, and also very knowledgeable and friendly guides.

Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

If you will have a trip near to Cesena, visit it.
It is a really nice place.
We enjoyed our time there.

Thank AdriennT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We are always fashinated by the monastry silence which preserved the books written in latin, greek and hebrew and only few in italian and attached to the tables with chains.
Then there is the mistery of the motto affixed at the entrance by Malatatesta Novello "Elephas indus, culices no timet "
Absolute must seen in Cesena and Romagna.
Gianni & Bea Novelli, Geneva Switzerland

Thank Gianni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

Great place with amazing archives and very helpful people. Beautiful building and interiors. Must see in Cesena

Thank Małgosia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We have been living close to Cesena for the last 4 months and having been to many other top places such as Ravenna, Cervia, the hills of the Rubicone (Longiano), Ferrara, Bologna, we nearly missed seeing this great work of "art" and history within the world of the books, or earlier, the manuscripts. Firstly in architectural terms the actual library hall has a very harmonious design and it has been carefully preserved. It was not ravaged by the French invasions/troops, or by the Romans, or anyone or anything such as earthquakes. The guided tour starts with the tour guide opening the carved walnut wooden doors with two separate keys, and once the doors are opened your eyes see a marvellous library hall, all intact as it was back in 1454. Apparently the window frames and glass windows were replaced in 1925. This is one of the first "public" libraries and hence did not belong to a religious order as such although it was originally conceived by the Franciscan monks whose convent was on part of the site. The project was then taken over by Novello Malatesta (the ruler of Cesena) who gifted it to the community. It was inaugurated on 15 August 1454. We felt privileged to be part of the guided tour. The gentleman concerned gave an excellent description of how life was at the time, the vision of Malatesta, importance of the latin language, the manuscripts that are chained to the desks, their content and general history of the library. You do realise why UNESCO made awarded this library "memory of the world" status. Lastly, there is a great collection of vintage postcards, posters, booklets and menus from many Italian cities and villages in one of the other display rooms.

2  Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

people says that this is the oldest library in Europe, i dont know if it's true but for sure it's ancient and very well furnished. staff is professional and kind. very recommended

Thank born2travelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

Once in Cesena area this is a must see historical site. Pretty and well conserved library, this UNESCO historical heritage possess a lot of value.

Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

It is so beautiful and interesting place! Guide was so nice! Atmosphere was so nice! I love this library! One day I will come back there!

Thank Ola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Great place especially for history buffs. A must if you visit Cesena. Molto interessante. Un posto da visitare.

Thank MariangelaC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews