We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PuntAla Camp & Resort
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The campsite is huge and with a direct access to the beach, no roads to cross. The water is clear and shallow. In the campsite there is a nice AdventurePark and a free Miniclub for children.
If you choose to stay isolated you should ask for the via Confine or via Costiera (on the beach side) where pitches are surrounded by bushes and low trees, completed isolated from the others.
Toilets can be quite far away so have a look before you choose.
At the end of the beach you can cross a small stream and reach Cala Civette or with a 30 mins walk Cala Violina (beautiful but to avoid in August/weekends as it is really crowded).
We did 3 years in a row as our kids were still quite small and we felt they were safe there... Just watch out for bikes, some people ride like crazy and with the children we were a bit worried.

Room Tip: via Confine or via Costiera (on the beach side) have isolated pitches with privacy
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikRo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for PuntAla Camp & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The place is huge - more like a village than campsite, so if you're looking for some privacy, that's not the place. We were not allowed to bring the motorcycle in (even though in their terms and conditions it says you can bring in your vehicle for loading your things), and only thanks to the campsite's employee with an electric car (btw, the only nice person we have encountered there) we didn't have to carry our heavy luggage in the excruciating heat for 400 meters or so to our tent spot. The check in took forever. Only at the end of the whole procedure we asked about the price and the same evening we realized it's not worth it and we don't want to stay for three days like declared at check in, but want to leave the next day. 'Sure, the girl at the reception said, but you'll have to pay for three days anyway'. A 45-minute of yelling and shouting from both sides and they agreed to change our reservation. With a nice comment: 'If you can't afford it, you should have asked about the price before checking in'.
The afternoon of our arrival we go to the beach (which is beautiful indeed). We lay on the beds, a guy comes to charge us for the beds. We ask how much it is, he doesn't know - we have to go to the reception of the beach at the other end, pay there and come back with a receipt. We don't feel like walking to the reception, we're getting up from the beds, but in the meantime he calls someone on his walkie talkie and tells us: 'ok, it's late anyway (the sun was soon setting), tonight you can stay without paying, but if you come tomorrow, first book your beds at the reception'. Fair enough. Needless to say, when we were leaving the next day, they tried to charge us for the beds... Another session of shouting and yelling, and we were off.
There are a lot of showers (no men/women division, which is a little weird), but most of them are locked (for people from bungalows? They come with keys), so if you're in a tent, most likely you will stand in line to take a shower. No place to hang your towel etc, but this seems to be a standard in Italy. But for christ's sake, if you charge 60 euros for a possibility to pitch a tent, at least provide toilet paper in the toilets!
We have travelled with a tent in Italy for almost four weeks and this definitely is the most unfriendly place we have seen. Awful attitude of the staff and ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Zzoffia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialCRM, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PuntAla Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mrs Zzoffia, we do remember what happened during your stay. We even made an inquiry with our colleagues at the front office to get more details and information in order to improve the travel experience of our guests.

We remember that you had a quarrel at the front office but we hardly believe that our colleagues yelled and shouted against you!
We always give our guests at the check in the price for the stay, above all if the check in is to guests with no reservation. We do so just to avoid any problem or misunderstanding at the check-out. In some cases, during the highest season we even ask our guests a prepayment of their stay at the check in.

In your case where you decided to check out before the date declared at the check in, we decided to make an exception, even though you signed an agreement.

As far as your motorbike, we invite you to read our rules in “terms & conditions” agreement for the stay where it’s clearly written that motorbike access in the camping ground is forbidden (actually cars are allowed for a maximum of 2 hours for the check in and check out procedure).

Our resort is very well known for its natural style and tranquility, besides its privacy, if compared with the standard of Italian camping grounds.. maybe your references are different compared with other characteristics that you are describing as disadvantages; the private beach with sun beds and sun umbrellas belonging to the resort, as all Italy, is not for free and is not included in the price. If not, it’s clearly indicated in the price for the stay.
Toilet paper and toilet soap is not a requested standard for a four stars Resort. We have 9 public toilet units, and just a few of them supply biodegradable wrapped toilet paper. Some washbasins as well as some private toilets (only for campers and not for guests of bungalows – with their own toilets in the unit!) are actually without hooks; however, we are making some arrangements for improving this service..
Private toilet for campers is a standard requirement for Italian open-air resort.
Hope this answer to your severe review will help the TA community to catch positive skills of our property, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I worked here for 3 months, but I think that this is the perfect place for the families with little children, because all staff and the beach is ideal for the children, the water is not deep, beach is perfect for games. Here you can also find playground and miniclub, where can children can meet other children and play.
The food in the reastaurants is really delicious with very nice service.
If you like night life, be prepared, that in this camp after 11 u won´t find anything opened, but u can take a car and go to the city for a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAdvisor247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beach: as written is great really great sandy beach... organized as most beaches are, with paid services (with beach umbrellas, deckchairs, lifeguard) and free area (accessible by everybody even if not campers)

Structure: Completely natural campsites and bungalows shaded under pine trees. Can drive in & out just to drop-off and pick up belongings (2 hours authorized) then vehicles have to be parked outside (with the exception of the motorhomes). Tranquility and silence is almost mandatory in this campsite so no tv, no high music is allowed. Toilets, showers, dishwashing and bbq areas are dated (and some broken) but they were cleaned continuosly, so no particular complaints about it... Supermarket prices were pretty much the same like the ones in the “out world” and grocered with quality goods (the local Fiorentina how to miss it!) following the list of the facilities: Restaurant-pizzeria, stores, adventure park, laundry, wifi areas, mass services, sailing school. Rates are not low but considering the whole (facilities and type of beach) is just more or less the applicable standard for its category.

Staff: During the booking process when we got the quote price it was written that an insurance was included (a standard format quotation reply) replied asking if possible to view the conditions of that insurance... they answered back, that will send it to us after the payment… paid, just a thank you for your payment but no reply neither link about it so no follow-up about the insurance they mentioned...

Some staff (some housekeeping, reception girls, adventure park guides, supermarket and entry guards) are welcoming people did their job very good, efficiently and with a smile. But some others, allow me to list them:
1. reception guys late evening shifts: after asking some information, when we turned our backs comment from one of them “some people don't understand our system...” yes and he is paid to provide information service so lots of patience is required...
2. bartenders: after taking out from the self-service fridge some soft drinks when we approach to the bar counter to pay, the bartender starred at us (looked like with some anger in his face) saying “would you allow me to finish?” (he was refilling bar shelves and fridges alone and there was nobody in the bar except us) Of course not a problem... but when he turned his back he mumbled “people don't see that I am working...”
3. housekeeping, a cleaning pair employees for toilets/dishwashing areas: after sweeping the floors of the toilets area, arrived a group of German small kids, the cleaning guy said “here it go again, the monsters"... went with my dirty pans and dishes one of them said “OMG” (they just finished cleaning the dishwashing area)... went to the toilets (just cleaned) and the cleaning lady murmured “here she comes again...” The good news is that they are keeping the areas as clean as possible (good job!). Bad news is that those are public areas so access is 24/24... a situation that neither them or us as guests can't avoid...

If these staff abstain to make those comments, especially if they think that we can't hear it, will be better... we are paying clients and we don't need to hear those...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice and beautiful location, superb beach. the individual camp sites are located in the forest, and the bungalows and cottages are shadowed by trees. Excellent place to go with children. WiFi available. Prices at the local shop surprisingly low. Good and regionally produced food, eco-friendly.
Negative: the complicated and intransparent booking process, prone to generate mistakes. The staff at the reception were not willing to help, though they all speak both English and German. Prices are inappropriately high. The campsite's internet site, through which we were told to make the booking, is weirdly structured, full of bugs and won't even open in most browsers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialCRM, Direttore vendite at PuntAla Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest, we appreciated both side of your review (positive and negative) . Regarding the web-site, we are currently trying to fix certain bugs that, most of the times, are due to the booking engine tool (that's really a challange, every time...sorry about this!). Regarding your positive experience, mind we are ready to answer a phone and book your Holiday also off-line, for 5 days a week, from 9:00am to 1:00pm & from 3:00pm to 7:00pm, Mon. to Fri. Hope this can help.Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Things we liked:

- Beautiful beach just 3 minutes walk from our tent.
- Large places for tents surrounded by trees. A lot of shade.
- Calm atmosphere, in spite of the size of the camping.

Things to improve:
- Staff is professional, but not particularly friendly, especially in the restaurant.
- Add some extra small playgrounds for smaller children, as this is a very large camping. In our case, the main playgrond was 1 kilometer from our tent, which was too far for our children.
- Poor tourist information service. There are almost no leaflets or brochures on things to do in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Puntala camping resort is the best place for summer vacation with a tent, a camper or a caravan that we could dream of.A real environmental friendly place in a beautiful pine forest just on the side of a wonderful sandy beach, with cristal clear waters.
Extremely well kept sanitary, a lot of qualified and friendly staff, many facilities, no cars, no noise, lot of features for children, plenty of nautic sports facilities.
We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionelpicart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
4.6 km away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
664 reviews
15.2 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
341 reviews
7.6 km away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#15 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
9.4 km away
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
#3 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
728 reviews
11.0 km away
Camping Maremma Sans Souci
Camping Maremma Sans Souci
#7 of 63 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PuntAla Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PuntAla Camp & Resort

Address: Loc. Punta Ala - Pian d'Alma | Maremma - Tuscany, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PuntAla Camp & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars camp & resort in the heart of the Maremma region on Tuscany, under a huge pinewood forest with direct access to the sea. It provides pitches and mobile-homes for campers together with a wide variety of services and facilities. With a focus on active holidays, it offers sailing courses, tennis lesson, three climbing and MTB guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your PuntAla Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing