We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not what I was expecting”
Review of Ristorante Zaira

Ristorante Zaira
Reserve with
Ristorante Zaira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Chiusi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

A very charming restaurant but I wasn't that satisfied. I suspect the wild boar ragu was made from some other meat. It was nowhere near as good as Danilo's in Modena. The small portion of grilled pork was tender but the accompanying roast vegetables were flaccid and cold. To cap it off they refused to give me their WiFi password. The only redeeming feature is the wine list.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful meal with family at this great restaurant in Chiusi. Fresh pasta, local ingredients, a passionate chef, great service makes this a fantastic destination.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank blauhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

As soon as you're seated the hosts bring you a glass of Prosecco then an Amuse Bouche - both are 8complementary. The food is excellent, local and well priced. Service is attentive but not intrusive. And at the end you will be asked if you want to tour the wine cellar. Make sure you say yes. It dates from 600 BC and the oldest wine is from 1943.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank HertfordshirePeewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Just a beautiful place with good food and very attentive service!
Restaurant Zaira has been in Chiusi for the longest time and has stood the test of time because it is a great place to have dinner, no matter the size of your party. Don't miss this great find in the charming old, old castle town of Chiusi.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

After a somewhat unexciting visit to Pitigliano, we stopped in Chiusi on our way back to Florence. We were mildly surprised to find a charming town full of things to see. We stopped quickly in the Etruscan museum, but spent more time than we should have. As s result we had almost no time for dinner. Hungry, and refusing to succumb to a roadside Autigrill, we headed further into the center of town. We happened upon Ristorante Zaira. Such a happy occurrence! We were seated in a cheerful dining room (there were 3 from which to choose), and our waitress came immediately. We were given complimentary Spumante and an olive crostini. Although the specials sounded good, we opted for the pici; the garlic, for my friend, the ragù toscano for me. Our meals came quickly and we were able to be out the door in short order.

In short, the meal was amazing, the service cheerful. Would recommend Zaira for anyone looking for either a quick bite or a long, luxurious meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lauri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Zaira also viewed

Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 
Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 
Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Zaira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing