We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”
Review of Pesce d'Oro

Pesce d'Oro
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Chiusi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Encouraged by good reviews we visited Pesce d’Oro. Stuff were polite and helpful. The place is located very close to the lake.
We had a starter and main dishes (fish and homemade pasta). Both were very average. Fish was dry and not worth the price. Pasta was okey, but nothing special. The worst was the wine. First of all, the bottle wasnt opened in front of us, but delivered open already. Secondly, both me and my girfriend were feeling ‘heavy’ and dizzy after drinking half of the bottle. Definately, there must have been something wrong with the wine.
Nice area, but be careful.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank piotrg178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We are two families traveling together, with a total of 12 people, which we understand can be a big party to serve. At the Pesce d'Oro however our food was served totally random, with one or two plates coming out with 5 minutes in between resulting in none of us really eating at the same time. Some were even eating appetizers while others were served main course. The quality of the food were ok, but nothing out of the ordinary. I don't think that we will visit again.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Our party of 7 enjoyed brustico appetizer(a smoked lake fish), a tasty fish soup with pasta, a pasta carbonara with tumeric, fresh perch kebobs, a perfectly done sliced steak and the most beautiful desserts which I have seen in a long time around here.
Excellent wine list, polite and efficient service, nice atmosphere on Lake Chiusi.
You must work a bit to find this place (Google it) and follow signs to Lago di Chiusi . Worth the visit and a definite "go back". Rates as one of "our local secrets" as it is a bit off of the tourist path. Large parking area which also accepts campers and a full bar.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fFuzzy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2014

This is a nice restaurant located on the south shore of Lake Chiusi. You need to watch for the signs to find it without too much difficulty. Nice menu specializing in fish, including fish from the lake. Decent service and ambiance. Would probably be very nice in warm weather as it is located right by the shore.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2014

While the location is beautiful - right on the lake Chiusi border - the interior had always stopped us from going there. We finally gave the restaurant a try and I have to say that was the right choice, so don't let the first impression of the small bar you have to go through and the rather cold dining room fool you. The food is really excellent, despite the fact that I am not a huge fan of lake fish I thoroughly enjoyed it. Fresh ingredients, local specialties and for those who really don't want to try the fish there are the more classical pasta and meat dishes as well. Great service, and a fine wine selection at affordable prices. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joris-Giorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesce d'Oro also viewed

Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 
Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 
Chiusi, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 

Been to Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing