We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
165
66
6
1
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
66
6
1
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar cafesound of the wavesdining roomlovely hotelquiet roadseveral choicesstayed on a half board basismueslimain courseroof terraceevening mealfitness roomprivate beachgood sizethree starsea frontlots of choice
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 248 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We had a splendid few days at the hotel. Our sea front room was excellent. The roof top terrace is not to be missed, though we did manage to miss the exercise room. The service and food could not be faulted and I am a very fussy eater. The only fault was with the picnic breakfast on our last day. Since most British tours will need to leave before the normal breakfast times, they will need to look closely at the packed meal. Dry cheese in dry bread meant that most dumped their sandwiches. Even the prepacked sponge was so dry as to be inedible.
All in all I would go back again.

Room Tip: There is a lift. Rooms with sea views are very good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SRM2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalambrin, Elisabeth at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear client, thank you very much for the very positive review you make of our Hotel.
As far as concerns the room that you appreciated so much, for your information, we will continue to improve our hotel and next year most rooms will be provided with mini bar and all rooms with new large televisions.
You certainly remember that we were waiting for you to arrive and served a warm dinner upon arrival after 23.00 hours. Breakfast at 6 o’clock in the morning is not possible and the fresh bread does not arrive so early. The breakfast is a problem while your tour is the only one departing that early and it is not pleasant neither for you nor for us. Should we have another very early breakfast we will try to improve, but the sandwiches have do be prepared the evening before departure in any case. For this occasion only, we bought individually packed croissants, these we always serve fresh for the normal breakfasts. We appreciate that this matter did not affect your review, thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017

This hotel is a real gem.

Having decided we wanted to holiday in this part of Italy some friends recommended this hotel having stayed there themselves. We took their recommendation and are glad we did.

The hotel is operated by a couple who have been there for many years and who are very ‘hands on’ interacting with guests and doing all they can to ensure the stay is as enjoyable as it can be. Every member of staff we encountered, without a single exception, was approachable, happy, polite and helpful. One never felt any of this was artificial. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

The hotel faces the sea and is nicely situated across a very minor and quiet road from the beach and only a few minutes’ walk from the centre of the town. The hotel has an arrangement for guests to enjoy discounted entry to one of the inevitable private beaches found in Italy as it does not have a section of beach of its own.

We stayed for a week and had a room with a side view of the beach and coast, with a small balcony, which was lovely. The hotel has several public lounge areas, inside and out, in addition to the bar.

We stayed on a half board basis. Each evening we enjoyed a five course meal; salad from a buffet, a small appetiser, a starter, main course and sweet. The starter and main course had to be chosen at breakfast time on the day the meal was to be taken and for each there was a choice of four options. Only the salad was self-service, all other courses were served. The food was very varied, plentiful, well presented and unfailingly delicious. The hotel offered a good choice of wines from a list focusing on Italian products, some quite local.

Our room was well appointed, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Air conditioning and Wi-Fi are included. The hotel has a fleet of bicycles for free use by guests which we made good use of; there is a nice coastal ride to Imperia, the neighbouring town.

The hotel is a 3 star establishment I imagine the only reason it is not graded higher may possibly be for some technical reason. However, in terms of comfort and service, it punches well above its weight and offers an experience that some higher graded hotels could learn from.

We had a very enjoyable holiday here.

Highly recommended. We hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalambrin, Proprietario at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also a pleasure for us to read such positive comments about our Hotel.
Thank you Graham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Warm welcome from Elizabeth before sitting down to an excellent meal. At breakfast you select your dinner courses, they are happy to oblige if you don't like what is on offer, however the choices are good, the meals absolutely delicious. Room side sea view up on top floor, clean, spacious and comfortable. Very relaxing feel. Free bikes to use should you wish, discount for beach. Small but nice roof terrace to soak up the sun. Would recommend a stay here, the resort is quaint, easy to navigate, friendly with lots of great ice cream shops!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Very good food, service and hotel in typical traditional Italian style. Great place for relaxing days at the sea. I would clearly recommend full board even if you will gain some weight. Not suited for those who look for modern design, party or a young crowd.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Till043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stayed in this hotel in June as part of a coach holiday. It was in a great location on the sea front in the middle of all amenities The hotel was very tastefully appointed with fresh flowers and plants always on show in the main reception areas. Our bedroom was a very good size with plenty of storage space and a comfortable bed.

The dining room was well set out and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. On the last evening a taster menu of local dishes was served, a lovely idea and very much enjoyed by our group as far as I could tell. There was a bar in the evening until midnight and plenty of comfy seating in the reception areas. The only criticism I would make is that the reception area could perhaps be made more user friendly for people with mobility problems as there were a few steps between changes of level.

Overall a very pleasant stay I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra cost in our opinion
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesmondlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews