We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piacevole!”
Review of Dolcemela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolcemela
Ranked #5 of 92 Ferrara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As other reviewers have remarked, Dolcemela is on a quiet side street within easy walking distance of the piazza di cattedrale, Castello Estense, and even an access point to get onto the old wall surrounding the city. We asked for a quiet room and stayed on the upper floor away from the street and overlooking the courtyard (the room was called Delizia I believe). It was pleasantly roomy with a modern bathroom, comfy bed, and even came with a small library that included a couple of English language novels that my girlfriend, who doesn't read Italian, enjoyed.

The owners, Marco and I believe his sister, and their staff were most accommodating. Besides patiently answering the usual tourist questions, Marco was kind enough to book train tickets for us as well as send his nephew to the train station to pick them up for us! And there was never a mention of any charges for this excellent service. Since we stayed a few days, we also did our laundry in the room and the housekeeping staff was nice enough to take our washed items out to a laundry line in the courtyard where they could dry. We weren't aware of the laundry line nor asked for this service...the staff just did it as a courtesy. And when the items were dry they collected them from the line and returned them to our room!

The personal touches that Marco and his staff provide guests make staying at a family-run place like Dolcemela special and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an undiscovered treat away from the crowded tourist traps of Toscana and the other popular destinations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DalyCityGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

Fantastic location and great value, quiet, very warm and yet professional management/ownership. Helpful and with excellent recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The owner bicycled out to an exterior piazza to meet us and help us find a parking space, then escorted us to the hotel.

Ferrara is a bicycle paradise! In the lovely centro no cars are allowed, only bikes. Dolcemela offers great bikes (free) to its guests. We bicycled around the exterior of the old city and then throughout the centro and to dinner, although everything is within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranciscoMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at Dolcemela for 5 nights using Ferrara as our base to explore the area. Dolcemela was a perfect choice -- comfortable, friendly, and very clean and well maintained. Set on a narrow Medieval street, it is an easy walk to shopping, cafes, great restaurants, the Ducal Palace, and the cathedral. Marco, the charming host, speaks good English and is always ready with good suggestions for the best restaurants and things to see and do. Along with breads, cereals, meats, and cheeses, the generous breakfast offered an amazing array of pastries freshly made each day by Marco's sister along cappucino, coffee, tea, etc. made to order by Marco. We loved our time there.

Ferrara itself is a lovely, off the tourist-track city with lots to see and do. It is well located for day trips to Padova, Modena, Ravenna, and surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moviegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at Dolcemela for 5 nights. Ferrara is a wonderful place to visit and Dolcemela is an excellent place to stay. Marco and his staff were excellent, organising us bikes to ride, and offering lots of advice on where to go and what to see. Marco and Christina speak very good English and went to great lengths to assist us with with a medical issue assisting us to access Doctors and the local hospital. The rooms are of a very high standard and the breakfasts are of excellent quality.

Dolcemela also has a lovely sunny courtyard

Dolcemela is also very well located with beautiful Ferrara at your doorstep. We took a taxi from the railway station on arrival and departure for under 10 euros. Without luggage it's close enough to walk (10-15 min), for day trips on the train to Ravenna and Bologna and so on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonSydney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

This was the best place we stayed in Italy during our summer holiday.
The room was very spacious, quit, clean, .... The owners were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was much more than we expected. We can recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 3kon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2006

This b & b, located a short walk from the Castle Estense and Duomo, is a delightful place to stay when in Ferrara. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the small garden where we relaxed after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was excellent. The owners were very helpful in providing information or a cold drink when needed. The b&b is an easy 15 minute walk from the train station, but taxis are available as well. A highly recommend this b&b and would definitely stay here again.

3  Thank hawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beatriceo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolcemelo10, Responsabile reception at Dolcemela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,871 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
848 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 32 in Ferrara
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
504 reviews
0.7 km away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
612 reviews
0.7 km away
Bed & Bike
Bed & Bike
#15 of 92 in Ferrara
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolcemela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolcemela

Address: Via della Sacca 35, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ferrara
Price Range: $147 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolcemela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing