We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below 4 star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Park Hotel Alcione
Holland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Below 4 star standard”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Im really quite honest when I say that this is simply not a 4 star hotel. Yes its clean, yes they have a grand piano in the resturant and yes the 2 hotel staff members you see at any one time on duty where uniforms which resemble suits, but there is simply no way this is anythign close to a 4 star hotel. This is however a middle of the road 3 star hotel, with prices that reflect it. Since I was first at this hotel 16 months ago nothing has changed, which meand you knwo what to expect. As other reviewers have stated, breakfast buffett is basci cold meats, cheese, fruit, juice etc), and the resturant meals are actually quite poor and over priced. Most people from the hotel walk towards town center the Hombres Pizza restaurant, wcih is great, and comfortably busy after 8:30pm.

I will warn those business travellers about the 'free wifi'. Yes its free, but only because it would be criminal to charge for such a poor connection. I did a bandwidth test this time staying in the hotel, and the download speed clocks in at approx .3Mbps....so any of you using VPN are really quite screwed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llcoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    84
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
41
52
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I booked 3 nights at this hotel at the end of September. The hotel is situated near the center of Francavilla, with only the street to cross to reach the beach. Several restaurants, cafes/ice cream etc. are in close vicinitiy of the hotel.
Unfortunately the hotel is also located directly at the road with quite a lot of traffic and the park/green around the hotel is quite small, therefore the "holiday feeling" directly in the hotel was a bit limited.
The hotel offers a spa area (with extra charges) and a pool on the roof. Parking spaces are available for free on the hotel area. Wifi is also for free and working fine.
Rooms are nice and clean, but could maybe be a bit larger. The breakfast buffet is offering a good selection of food. There is also a restaurant which we unfortunately could not use during our stay as it was closed due to a private event.

The hotel staff was always friendly and very helpful, but (except for one member of the staff) speaks very little English or other languages, which I would normally have expected in a 4-star hotel in this touristic area - which is basically my only point of critic for this hotel.

Other than this, I had a really pleasant stay and would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelCom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here for a few nights while working in the area. The hotel is fresh and clean but the room at night is very cold and the heating system doesn't seem to work. The staff are professional and helpful. Breakfast is a basic buffet and there is a restaurant also. The free wifi in the room was a blessing. This hotel was fine for a short stay in the off-peak season. The walls are very thin, I now know the toileting habits of the person in the next room. The ding-dong of the lift is audible in the rooms near the lift, as are tvs in neighbouring rooms, hairdryers and people passing by. It's not a quiet hotel by any means but it was conveniently located, very reasonably priced and generally an ok stay. I don't think I would have chosen to stay here for a leisure break, however.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stayed here a few weeks back. Hotel is about 100 m from the beach, and a few blocks down from the 'city center'. The whole area is abandoned this time of year, apartments and homes shut up and dark. Its appearent that this is a holiday spot in peak season, and a ghost town in the off season. In any case, hotel has a good location, is clean, and rooms are ok...but absolutely not up to a 4 star standard (marks on walls..tired decor...14 inch tv set...no iron/ironing board in rooms). Hotel was also rather cold, in its attemot to be sheik. Food in resturant for dinner is extremely over priced, but breakfast was very nice. I would recommend this hotel simply for its value for money appeal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llcoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My wife and i have been going to this hotel for the past 6 years all the staff are fantastic it has a lovely restaurant and beautifuly prepared food with balconies where you can sit in the evening and look out to sea. It also has a nice little fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring,England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

Stayed here for 6 nights earlier this month. Booked on a room only basis; we had dinner on 4 occasions aswell as breakfast each day. Very good all round standard - highlights were the excellent meals in the Novilunio restaurant ,the welcoming and helpful staff who spoke some English and the room with a balcony overlooking the Adriatic,admittedly across a not too busy road. The hotel is no more than a 20 min journey by taxi from Pescara Airport and is on two main bus routes which pass close to the hotel.These offer a more relaxing and effective method of reaching the centre of Pescara than driving a rental car.The room was modern and well equipped although with shower only. Sound insulation could have been a little better but this is a minor gripe as is the fact that the rooftop pool had yet to open for the much vaunted "season" despite temperatures of around 28 degrees in early May.Good value for money if not cheap. Perhaps slightly more geared to the corporate market than to the private traveller .We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well situated for exploring the attractive coastline and hinterland to the south of Francavilla.

  • Liked — Room with a view
  • Disliked — Needs better soundproofing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperiencedInsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

From the minute we checked in we were treated like royalty. The whole staff spoke English and were very helpful with directions (since we had a rental car) We had lunch at the hotel and it was the best 2 hour lunch we ever had! We enjoyed it so much that we went back for dinner that evening! Paulo was the ultimate in making us comfortable and feeding us like we had never experienced anywhere. His suggestions were perfect and the food and wine and Prosecco was out of this world. We felt like we were the only people in the restaurant. The entire staff made us feel that way. They even made arrangements on the telephone for us to meet our family in a nearby town. They contacted them and set up a meeting point and time and gave us directions there.Our family did not speak a word of English so this was very helpful to us. I don't think the meeting would have been possible without their help. They even met our family when they came to the hotel to say goodbye to us. We felt like we had made friends that we were looking forward to seeing again.
The hotel is across the street from the beach and a perfect location to shopping. Walking through the town is beautiful and very safe. We will definitely stay there again when we go back. We are looking forward to it. We spent our first 4 days in Italy here before a 10 day tour and it was the best part of the whole trip!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank meema9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francavilla Al Mare
2.2 km away
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
#1 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
588 reviews
3.7 km away
Parc Hotel Villa Immacolata
3.4 km away
Hotel Guerra
Hotel Guerra
#2 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Diamante
Hotel Diamante
#3 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
130 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#5 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
131 reviews
7.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 22 in Pescara
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Park Hotel Alcione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Park Hotel Alcione

Property: Phi Park Hotel Alcione
Address: Viale Alcione 59, 66023 Francavilla Al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Francavilla Al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Francavilla Al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Park Hotel Alcione 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to the Green Region of Europe - Abruzzo. It will give you the occasion to recall historical and religious events of great impact, discover small enchanted villages and castles from any era, but in particular to discover a still unspoilt nature. In Francavilla, situated in between the sea and the green hills with vineyards and olive groves, the exclusive and elegant Parkhotel Alcione is located only a few metres from the beach; you only have to cross the seasidepromenade and you will reach the private beach and bathing establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Park Hotel Alcione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing