We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A bit too far out of town” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poiano Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poiano Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit too far out of town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A lovely looking hotel with really nice staff and far reaching views of Lake Garda. We had a room at the front of the hotel that we paid extra for but found it really noisey as the hotel reception and terrace were below. The air conditioning was very good as the weather was warm but we could not turn it off as it was controlled by the reception, the only way to get it to go off was by opening the balcony door and this alas also let in the noise from the terrace. The room was also a little tired and needed refurbishing. the breakfast were very good and everyones needs were well catered for, although the food in the evening was a bit repetative and there was no vegatarian options and when requested the hotel were unable to produce any.

A great hotel if you want to stay on site and undertake all of the activities and probably really good for families. However, if you want to sightsee around the lake or stroll in the town in the evening htis is not the hotel for you. It is very far out from Garda town and whist there is a free public service bus it only runs in the mornings for about 3 hours and and in the afternoons for the same 3 hours finishing about 7pm. It is much too far to walk into town and at night there is nothing to do in the hotel except sit in the bar or terrace. We found ourselves spending at least 2 hours each day getting to and from the hotel and not having anything to do in the evenings after dinner. We did get a taxi one night into the town and really enjoyed the time spent by the lake but it cost over 20 euros for the taxi and as there are few taxis you are never sure that you will be able to get one back to the hotel. We went with Thomson and their description of the distance and availabilty of transport was missleading, the flights were lousy too so we would not go with Thomson again, nor would we stay so far out of the town. But must stress great hotel if you want to stay around the grounds and don't mind the noise in the bars and from the early morning trippers

Room Tip: For the noise level get one at the back and forget the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Mr. Peter

Thank you for choosing Poiano Resort for your recent stay in Garda Lake. We have read your review and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write it.
We are really sorry for the "noisy inconvenience". I'm sure that if you had asked at the reception they could resolve the problem immediately.
Is strange to hear that we have not vegetarian options on the menu, the restaurant menu have always vegetarian alternatives (I'm sure because I make the control every day! =).
As for the bus, we agree with you that the free public service is not enough, in fact we are considering the possibility of offering a free shuttle from the hotel.
The distance from the lake is what allows us to be surrounded by more than 60 hectares of green fields.
Thanks again for your feedback which will help us in our on-going process of improving the service we provide our guests.

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    416
    163
    43
    13
See reviews for
343
694
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Hotel Poiano. The resort was spot on, the views were amazing from the resort, the hotel was clean and well maintained, the choices for breakfast was ample, the pool was olympic sized and the dinner service/prices were reasonable, plus the piano man was really good and great entertainment whilst having evening drinks. The only things we would say is that the sunbeds could be padded as they're just plastic, and the receptionists could be more helpful, as they didn't have great knowledge on things like what to do, how to get to places, if*we could make our reservation in the restaurant in one case?!

It's really handy to have a free shuttle bus from Garda bus station, and even if you want to hae dinner in Garda, you can always catch a taxi back to the resort. I would definately go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
And we'll be definitely waiting for you!
I have shared your feedback with our reception team so that we can continue to improve.
Thanks a lot for your kind words.

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here for 1 week in sept 2011. We are a couple in our mid 50's & whilst I feel this complex would suit families it felt a little bit too much like a holiday camp. The pool was large but that's all it is an Olympic size swimming pool great if you want to train for 2012 not so good if you want to just splash around & have a little fun. No smaller pool area either for little ones. We didn,t take advantage of the tennis courts although they did look good. The location of the complex was very quiet but be aware it is not close to Garda it is up a very steep hill & whilst the local free bus is excellent runs every half hour the walk down to the bus stop is fine the walk back if you have done a fair amount of walking in & around Garda is hard going particularly when it's hot taxi,s are available from Garda but we paid 10 euro,s quite expensive we felt. The bus also stopped running at 7.30 for the return trip from Garda. There are a couple of restaurants close to the hotel which were ok nothing special. Views of the Lake can,t believe some of the comments you really need excellent eyesight or a telescope you can see the lake just about we would have preferred to be closer to the Lake we went by the comments on trip advisor and were disappointed. We feel there are better hotels closer to the lake better value for money more conveniently placed feel this complex caters more for coach holidays.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Customer
Thanks for your opinion.
The Olympic pool is to allow all our customers to enjoy their own way.
As for the bus, we agree with you that the service offered by the Municipality is not enough, in fact we are considering the possibility of offering a free shuttle from the hotel.
The distance from the lake is what allows us to be surrounded by more than 60 hectares of green fields.
About the lake view ... I can only say that "the view" is a subjective thing. We are so used to hearing our customers marvel at the stunning views of the lake that I really don't know what to say to you!
Anyway, thanks for your time.

Sincerely

Mariana Zorzoli
Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived with a tour group and while everyone was broken up into different parts of the resort, we were taken to our block of rooms ... and got a room with a gorgeous view! Not just that, this was probably the best room we stayed in during our tour, much like a studio apartment with a massive bathroom, a sitting area and a balcony overlooking the Olympic-sized pool, the olive trees and the tennis courts.
We ate buffet-style meals with our group and the food was very good, but the wine was exceptional! If you stay at Hotel Poiano, make sure to ask if you can buy the house wine (red or white).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thanks a lot for your review!
It's great to know that clients appreciate our efforts.
The owner is happy to know that you liked the Poiano wine, he's so proud of his vineyards!

Hope to see you soon again!

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed between the 10-17/9/2011 in C block as a couple, we were given an apartment which slept 6, had its own lounge/dining area, kitchenette and 2 bedrooms! and a perfect view of the lake, ready for the watercolour painting - excellent value.

C block is a 28 minutes walk from Garda Main bus station. The free local bus was very reliable and we found that we would catch the bus down to the main centre of Garda (7 minutes by bus) have a lovely meal by the lake in the evening (excellent lake fish and seafood as well as pasta) and free local entertainment (Opera or Jazz) and then be happy to stroll back along roads with lights and walking areas. Alternately Pino 2 is a good local restaurant 10 minutes from C Block.

The Hotel has a tennis club attached and we played tennis for two hours (12 Euros a hour) on a few days as well as some excellent coaching (50 Euros an hour but worth it!) before heading for the olympic size swimming pool. Staff were very helpful but we found it was best to arrange things through the Hotel Reception as sometimes the Apartments reception communication to the main reception seemed to break down. Sheets, towels and the Apartment inventory were no problem and its very nice to be given 2 bottles of Bardolino wine on arrival once you have done your inventory at your own pace (no pressure), the wine is lovely and very cheap, as is Limoncello.

To get to Hotel Poiano, fly into Verona, take the 6 Euro transfer from oustside the Terminal to Verona Bus/Train Station (15 Mins) and then pick up the bus for 4 Euros which takes you to Garda Bus station (50-60 Minutes), a beautiful run through vineyards and no need to spend 150Euros on transfers. Worth a 10 Euro taxi with your cases to the Hotel, will either be at the bus station waiting or you can ring, numbers clearly available on a sign.

The Hotel provides a guide to 4 local walks varying from 4KM to 10KM and all are worth doing especially up the rock from behind the main church and drop down into Bardolino for the night before strolling back along the promenade. Malcelsine and Monte Baldo Cable Car are a must do event, imagine the lake looking quite small beneath you and the Austrian Alps over your shoulder at 2500M plus. Verona is a lovely day out. Everywhere is easy to get to by bus. Worth going on the lake once as a pleasure trip but very expensive (500%) in comparison to the bus, we went to Simione and the Roman Villa, again a must do event.

Have fun, we did! and we woudl definately go back to the Garda and this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rchurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Your words make me fall in love even more of this place!
And I thought that could not be possible! =)

Thanks a lot for your appreciation.

Hope to see you again soon!

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We upgraded to an air-conditioned room which was well worth it. The accommodation was very clean, and the staff were very helpful. The food was what you would expect from a three star hotel, but was fine. The pool was cold, but well maintained. My daughter loved it. It was an easy walk into the main area of Garda, and we really enjoyed strolling around the bars, cafes, and shops in the evening. Getting arounfd the area was fun using the boats, and we went to Gardone, and took a trip around the Lake by coach. Venice and Verona were also visited. These were offered as extras by Thomson in conjunction with the holiday .The climb up La Rocca is steep, and not the highlight of our holiday!
Would definately return back to the Hotel, and especially the Garda area

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Mia

Thanks for your time and your lovely words.
It's great to know that we were able to meet your expectations.

We'll be waiting for you to comeback!

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our second trip to Hotel Poiano and we're already planning a return - there is so much to love about this special place. Located just out of town to the east of Garda, the view down towards the lake is simply stunning. The dining and bar area makes maximum use of the vista giving meals an added sense of opulence to compliment the excellent quality food. The full-size swimming pool also capitalises on the views, making a day just lazing around on the terraced sun-bed area a joyous experience. In peak season there is pool-side entertainment most evenings as well as in the hotel bar.

Best of all though are the lovely Poiano staff who are always friendly and welcoming. Special mention should go to Mariana and Franklin from the bar, and also maitre Carmine who was ever helpful in ensuring there was a vegetarian option on offer in the evening menu - not always straightforward in a culture unused to such needs.

As several reviewers have already mentioned, the one downside of Poiano's select location is a degree of removal from Garda's central hub although the town's free courtesy bus does help to counter that during the daytime. And on a couple of occasions Poiano staff Luigi and Benedetto stopped to offer lifts when they spotted us walking to and from town as they were driving by: I've certainly never before experienced such spontaneous assistance anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Andy & family:

With clients like you this is not a work... It's a pleasure!

We'll be waiting for you to comeback!!

Thanks a lot =)

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
34.0 km away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#16 of 48 in Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 km away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
2.4 km away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
1.9 km away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#7 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poiano Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Hotel

Property: Poiano Resort Hotel
Address: Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Garda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Garda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poiano Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poiano Resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery and offers a number of ways to unwind: La Spa (with swimming pool with salt water, turkish bath, sauna, biosauna, emotional showers and massages), Olympic size swimming pool, 6 tennis clay courts, artificial 5-a-side football pitch, beach volleyball, archery, gymnasium with personal trainer, children's playground, game room, table tennis, shop, sporting events and musical entertainment in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Poiano Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Hotel Garda
Poiano Resort Hotel Garda, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing