We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning and secluded location overlooking one of most beautiful lakes of Northern Italy..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa del Sogno

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning and secluded location overlooking one of most beautiful lakes of Northern Italy..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Superb resort, great service, higher end dining, and immense dining terrasse overlooking lake....all the while, very secluded and private as in the middle of landscaped and wooded area of many acres.

Well located within 20 minutes taxi ride from desenzano train station on the main Venice to Milano line...Great way to spend two days resting and boating on Garda Lake.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    34
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
99
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We just spent 3 lovely romantic nights at this beautiful 5 star hotel. Our superior room was spacious with gorgeous views from the terrace balcony of Isola de Garda. Nice surprise to be greeted with a chilled bottle of Proseco on arrival and enjoy it watching the view from the balcony. Fortunately for us the weather is unseasonably warm so we were able to eat the sumptuous buffet breakfast on the terrace restaurant. At night we chose to eat in the romantic candlelight gazebo at an intimte table for 2 as part of the "American Bar" a limited but plentiful menu and not as expensive as the main restaurant. The waitstaff of Andrea, Angelo and Celeste were delightful and so attentive as we were their only diners each evening. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and we were able to use the free shuttle to get us down to the ferry dock. This is a lovely old villa that is impeccably maintained and very comfortable with beautiful furniture and paintings and lovely lush gardens. Because of the unseasonable warm weather we were able to enjoy late afternoons around the lovely pool. A wonderful start to our tour of the Lakes region.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okemospike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had stayed one week prior in 2001, and always talked of a return visit. Other places beckoned, until we at long last returned for a week in August. It was sensational, and every bit as classy and memorable as the first visit 10 years ago. We were a bit apprehensive at first, since some of the reviews on this site were a bit dodgy, some a bit negative, but haven't an idea what how these negative reviewers found fault. The food was quite good, the ambience nearly heavenly, and the staff were so very polite and endearing to us in every way. Grazia, who manages reception, had absolutely no difficulty in booking car trips for us, planning itineraries, and making recommendations during our visit. She did equally so with other guests. The wait staff at the bar is beyond exceptional--the bar manager should manage the entire hotel, he is so utterly professional and on top of his game. The main restaurant staff were polite--altho sometimes a bit confused--and the food was reasonably priced and delicious. We occupied the Loggia Junior Suite. Wonderful outdoor loggia, with a well appointed bedroom. The bathroom is a little darkly lit, and the shower can be dangerous if not careful (nearly fell out of it the first time), while the bathtub is extremely narrow. We are both thin and had maneuverability difficulties, so if you are at all heavy set, you might want to choose instead the Vista Suite with a large tub and a much larger bathroom/shower arrangement. The entire area is so peaceful, and the guests seem to be nearly non-existent except at the dinners (8-10 pm), so as to feel as though you have the entire villa to yourself. Highly recommend the Villa del Sogno. If you enjoy privacy, a totally relaxed and hushed hotel, and a boutique hotel, this is the one. It is a five star hotel, but it is boutique style five star. This is not the Villa d'Este in Como. And we were quite grateful for that. You are treated so much more personally at this hotel, and truly have the feeling that the staff care about making your stay the best possible. Ignore any naysayers; we almost listened to them and were teetering between the del Sogno and Grand Hotel Gardone, and what a mistake we would have make to have stayed at the Grand Hotel Gar-dump! We were so pleased with the Villa del Sogno after visiting top-starred neighboring hotels. This is a top-notch boutique style hotel, the best we came across in Lake Garda--it truly is the House of Dreams.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellersinStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Hotel Villa Del Sogno and overall it was a lovely experience. We really needed peace and quiet which is we got!

The hotel is lovely with the most fabulous views from the terrace and swimming pool.
We are pleased we had a superior room with a balcony, especially as we stayed for two weeks - it was great to be able to sit in privacy with such a lovely view. On arrival we were greeted with a small bottle of prosecco which was a nice touch.

Tthe room wasa reasonable size and the housekeeping very good - with fresh towels twice daily. The bathroom however was dark with insufficient lighting for make up/ shaving and quite pokey. The shower was over the bath which was fine but there was a shabby shower curtain which certainly wasn't 5* It was also a shame that there wasn't a shaving/ make up mirror - something one would expect in this class of hotel. The hairdryer was one of those attached to the wall and blew out cold air - again a disappointment. As mentioned in previous reviews, the plumbing is noisy, probably due to the age of the villa. You can actually hear people using the bathroom.

We ate in the hotel restaurant twice (long trousers are required for men this is not stated anywhere and was a suprise and an awkward moment- I saw a man with cut of jeans who sailed in the next night! ) - food was ok but the staff seem to lose sight of the customers and seem to be distracted by the constant moving of furniture either because of a rain shower or preparing for breakfast the next morning. Service was poor at times leaving us completely forgotten. The bar meals are good and I would suggest these as an alternative as the service is more personal. There are some lovely places to eat near the Vitorale - some lovely meals at a much more reasonable price. Two excellent places to try are Osteria Antico Brolo and Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli.

Breakfast is very good - an excellent and fresh selection of produce and eggs cooked to order. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking tthe lake in the morning sun cannot be beaten!

There is a shuttle service to Gardone during the day - be clear about the time you wish to go as we nearly missed the ferry we wanted to catch - the reception staff had made assumptions about the ferry we were catching which would have ruined the day. There is only one taxi driver in Gardone so book in advance! The walk to Gardone is fine - the road is busy and noisy but there are so many interesting buildings - a very interesting place. If you are on the Ferry you could get off at Fasano which cuts off the walk back. The steps up to the hotel are indeed steep but the views are lovely.

We both had spa treatment which were lovely, although the therapist was half an hour late and I was left waiting without explanation.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 56 which has a central position under the main terrace - with an excellent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nospringchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

visited the hotel with my husband early July stayed there for 2 nights as one of the legs on our trip to celebrate our 5'th wedding anniversary.
The concept of the villa is very charming and cozy at the same time it does not lack luxury and class yet there's some shortfalls, below are my pros and cons
Pros:
- Location is excellent, if you have a car it's very close to Salo which is a very nice town to spend the evening in.
- The property is lovely, old but well maintained, the view from the terrace is unreal so is the pool.
- Food in general is very good, the breakfast buffet is a bit limited but the quality of the items are excellent.
- The service in general is good and non-intrusive.
- We ended up staying at the Loggia Junior Suite which is beyond expectations, huge terrace and lovely authentic furniture.

Cons:
- We origionaly booked a Superior Double Room with private terrace with lake view, for a daily rate of Euro 420,00. the photo of the room on the website is nice yet in reality the room is ugly even the less ecpensive rooms are nicer. upon check in we exlained to the reception desk that the room is not up to the standard we expected or to the amount of money we are paying, they offered to move us to a higher category room and while we expected to get a free upgarde since we were celebrating our anniversay (which is a common practice with prime hotels if upgrades are available) but anyway we had to pay the diffrence (i have to say though that they gave us a discount on the room there and then).
- Although the front desk employees are extreemly nice and curtiousyet they don't provide you any info about activities and events happening in the areas close by unless you ask about specific events! (no dedicated real conceirge service)
- An important note in my point of view would be the age group of the crowd visiting the hotel, i have to say that we were the only young couple there surronded by grandparents!

Overall, I would visit this hotel again if i need to go to lake garda but I wont book the Superior Double Room.

Room Tip: avoid the Superior Double Room, the furniture and the bathroom are very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noorsliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
620 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Having stayed there before and enjoying it we decided to stay again the service was good however at the Restaurant it was lacking cohesion in the that they did not know who ordered what.

The Hotel is in need of renovation the pool area is good but i would not rate this as a 5 star Property

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is is a beautiful location, overlooking the Garda lake, and we booked it in the internet.Upon arrival, they showed us to a corner room very small and unacceptable for the 320 euros rate.Then they proposed to upgrade us to a huge suite paying 470 and finally they found us the most wonderful room with a breathtaking view from the window for the price stated in the reservation. But the furniture and overall decoration of the hotel needs revamping. You feel like you are in the decor of a bollywood movie about Italian palaces and not in a real palace. The staff is wonderful (it is a 5 star hotel) the bathroom and toiletriesare very good but the best thing is the location of the hotel inside a park where you can stroll or rest and enjoy the beautiful view of the waters of the lake. The restaurant is also very good and serves marvellous food and breakfast on the terrace or inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
1.5 km away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
36.6 km away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
14.1 km away
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
#17 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sogno

Property: Hotel Villa del Sogno
Address: Via Zanardelli 107, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa del Sogno 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sogno
Del Sogno Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sogno Gardone Riviera, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing