We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that bad ...”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not all that bad ...”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I see allot of reviews here have complained allot about "hotel du Lac", and I will admit that some of them are founded. The food for instance is not the best for what your paying for, with main meal prices being about 8.00 -12.00 Euro's a piece, and thats before you throw in the drinks and service charge. BUT this is not unique to "hotel du Lac" . There where other places around the lake and in the Gardone Rivera area which where just the same. Food that is expensive and portions of a mediocre size, so I find it unfair to hold "du lac" for this. If you plan to eat in Gardone then I advise going to the " cafe Wimmer" in the square, Which give good sized portions, friendly service, have a lovely cafe and a good view. Or try the "grand hotel" - although with the grand do come grand prices !
Service seems to be another gripe people have, Again this doesn't appear unique to "du Lac" . Service time in Italy should be considered in Hours not in minutes, but this dose give you time to relax and enjoy the setting.
As for the rooms- This is a three star hotel so you do get what you pay for. The rooms are basic but they are clean and comfy and you can get a wonder view for the balcony over the lake, from which I watched a wonderful thunder storm.
If to your are expecting a Pool then I advise you to book into the Grand Hotel. It may lack in a pool but if you are going on holiday just for the pool then you might as well save yourself the time and the money and go down to the local instead of flying out.
Yes it is a little dated but again I remind you of what your paying for. We didn't pay allot ( respectively) for this and that is what we got. And if the rooms are such a gripe then you should be out on the lack more. we found there was so much to do and so many wonderful and amazing places to visit that we hardly spent any time at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly positioned for the ferry service, the bus service and the little train service. Gardone is a nice area although for shopping go out to Grada or on Tuesdays when there is a market, go to Desenzano or Limone
So All in all , yes the hotel is a little dated, and yes the food is not the best. But For three stars and the price you get a good deal. I would give this hotel 3 stars because although it's not the best it was still a wonderful holiday, and comapred to other places like Sirmone hotels I was glad we chose this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snail-racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    74
    61
    38
    19
See reviews for
33
120
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We have just returned for the hotel du lac the staff where very hard working the rooms in need of modernisation the best thing was the view if you had a balcony but on a very hot day no shade as there where no umberllas the food was the worse we have had on holiday very very basic no water offered free with any meals bread not offered at every meal breakfast the same every day and the meals where warm and not hot which we had to complain about this hotel needs to have a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to date with the rest should have read the previous reviews as we would not have stayed here very poor indeed would NOT visit again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryloolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gardone Riviera hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel du Lac as part of a Thompsons holiday. The hotel is in real need of refurbishment and the rooms are basic but the location and views are excellent. The breakfast was extremely average and the food in the restaurant disappointing. It is not the sort of hotel where you would like to spend much time in your room but it is the perfect location for exploring the lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Recently arranged through Thomsons.This hotel is shabby.The carpets appear to be original,dirty and unchanged from the 50s or 60s.The rooms are too small to be classed as "double."The sink and bidet plugs are disfunctional.Shower is very poor and cramped.The shower sliding doors flimsy and difficult to open and close.Air dryer was poor.The towels & face cloths are too rough for human skin.Toilet is so cramped and uncomfortable.Television was too high on the wall and barely visible!Sky!there was no Sky tv.You had to go to another hotel to watch the World Cup!No shower soap provided just tiny tablets you couldn't even get a lather from.Most of the staff were miserable.The breakfast was very poor.Unfortunately there isn't much competition for this hotel as the others in Gardone appear to have 4 star status and charge excessively.I wouldn't rate this hotel as 3 star!Nor would any of the guests I had spoken to.All week the guests faces at breakfast were miserable.We will never return to Gardone Don't ruin your holiday by selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorClueless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Stayed for 7 nights. Towels like sandpaper, breakfast very poor (try the water thin yoghurts). Owner seemed to spend more time checking share prices than worrying about guests.
Carpets were dirty throughout and whole place had a dark and dingy feel.
On the plus side air con did work albeit noisily and the room was cleaned well every day.
Beds were like boards but did help my wife's siatica!!!!! Also location next to ferry terminal was very convenient.
Overall not the worst hotel I have stayed in but one to be avoided if you can

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandAnnWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The people who have written bad reviews about this hotel must be professional complainers! My wife and I have just returned having spent a week at the Hotel Du Lac. Beautiful situation on the lakeside. Bedrooms clean and perfectly adequate.Remember even five star hotels have rooms at the rear with no view! Staff charming and helpful. Terrace restaurant delightful,food and service excellent.Only minor little quibbles not worth the mention!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebusNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The hotel du lac is in a fantastic location as suggested by its name! The interior leaves a lot to be desired - it's dated and shabby but has what you need. Having said that, it was incredibly cheap! For us, what made this special was the balcony which was absolutely huge and looked right onto the lake. We had table, chairs and even two sunloungers on there and there was still lots of room. Breakfast is very basic but there's a cheap cafe across the road doing a full English for £3-4 if you're that bothered. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, I'd say it's a great place to stay for a night or two but not if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,054 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
341 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
233 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Lungolago, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Gardone Riviera
Hotel Du Lac Gardone Riviera, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing