We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hilton that’s seen better days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Hilton that’s seen better days.”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My heart sank as we neared the hotel and saw the host of sprawling anonymous concrete buildings surrounding the area. My heart sank even further as we drove up the short ramp to the hotel entrance and saw the cramped parking space. Finally, my heart went into nose-dive as I entered the lobby and saw its vast impersonal emptyness.

OK, I also happen to be in the Hilton group’s loyalty scheme and one of the reasons I stay there (among others) is that, in my experience across a number of different continents, their hotels are functional, they provide comfy kingsize beds and their hotels tend to be efficiently run. However, this is one of the bleaker Hilton hotels I've stayed at – it has little charm or atmosphere – and is simply a purpose built modern concrete block designed as a convention centre and resort hotel. Perhaps it was because I visited out of season that there seemed to be no joie de vivre about the place. However, that said, it’s the bedroom that’s important, and that was just fine. Pleasant room with a great king bed and a great sea view.

Now, a word about the sea view. For a “full-on” sea view you need to book the so-called “plus” rooms – they are about 30 Euros more expensive than ordinary rooms which only have partial sea views. The extra cash is well worth it to get the full sea view – we kept the door of our small private balcony open so we could relax to the restful sound of waves hitting the shore. Incidentally, the beach is not golden sands, but a rather dirty-coloured shale, but then remember, we’re in the shadow of Etna here.

I thought the price of the room was a very fair 110 Euros per night – a discounted price because I paid in advance. I felt that was good value for money although breakfast was a further 20 Euros per person.

A couple of irritants - car parking was difficult on site and the internet connection was charged unless you were in the higher echelons of Hilton Honours membership. That said, I had a great nights sleep in a well appointed and comfortable room with the sounds of the sea pounding the shore.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    534
    254
    67
    28
See reviews for
399
533
48
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Giardini Naxos is a great alternative to Taormina and is close enough to warrant staying here as it's only a short bus ride away and the bus stop is right near the hotel. The hotel is right on the beach, a great location and close to restaurants.

The hotel is a little outdated but still very clean and our room was large and had a balcony with a view of the beach and Mt Etna, however it was also over a the hotel service area (ie rubbish bins) so a bit noisy at times. With the exception of one staff member at reception, the service was indifferent.

Would still recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: If possible try and get a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Addicts97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Nice rooms, great location, friendly staff, barman who knows his stuff. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristinParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
420 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I was on a tour of Sicily and stayed in three hotels, my favorite one was the Hilton Giardini Naxos, it's beautiful and the rooms are spacious and very lovely....Try and get a room with a view of the sea....The pastry chef is fantastic! I ordered four different kinds of cookies that I sampled in the gift shop, absolutely melt in your mouth.. I ordered a box, 20 in a box, each one was individually wrapped, 13 Euros but, well worth the price....The best restaurant I enjoyed was across the street Cafe Sikelia...their bruschette, Sicilian Chicken Soup, Eggplant Parmesan, Golden fried chicken cutlet is delicious. Cannoli's and pastries are to die for in Palermo, Taormina. Be sure to visit the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento and see it at night as well all lit up. The scenery is gorgeous in Savoca, Agrigento, Taormina, Cefalu. The cheapest way to get to Cefalu is to take the train from Palermo, it's 45 minutes one way and it was an hour on the return along the sea, beautiful and only 12.15 Euros. At noon in Savoca where they filmed part of the Godfather, a beautiful church played Ava Maria, believe me in this beautiful setting, high in the mountains and rain, tears were streaming down my face...It was a memorable experience. One word of advice, learn some Italian before you go, most do not know English and it will be a struggle to communicate. Prices are high on food, actually most everything. The trip was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We traveled to Italy with extended family, 5 adults and 2 children

We had actually booked nearby ( think next door!) to arrive and discover ridiculous building works and no views

With my bottom lip quivering , hubby kindly suggested he take a walk and find us something better .

The Hilton was just that!

Our view was to put it simply , spectacular ! Room spacious , small but functioning fitness centre and adequate breakfast

If you like getting away from the crowds a little and having amazing views of the med - stay here

Room Tip: One of the front rooms of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi_l0ves_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It's right on a private beach with dark gravel, not with sand. I booked a standard room without sea view, but at check-in we were upgraded to a sea front room. Such a nice surprise! Every night I fell asleep on the sound of waves. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The ones with twin beds can easily accommodate up to 4 adults. The bathrooms are medium size, with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries.
Beds are very comfortable and the satellite TV has programs in many languages.
I didn't tried the Spa, it seemed to me a little too expensive.
The breakfast was a delight, with very good selection of cheese (especially the ricotta cheese), fresh Sicilian orange juice, fresh vegetables and fruits...and so on. The bar in front of the reception has a wide selection of pastries (excellent canolo!) at reasonable prices...almost everything is 3 euros. But the most outstanding was the personnel from the reception: they were very patient with us, responding to all our questions and providing reliable information.
The pool was too cold for a swim, but I still could swim in the sea. I noticed the nice manicured garden in front of the hotel, on the way to the beach.
The hotel doesn't have a parking, but there is a free parking down the street, some 100 meters right from the hotel. I recommend The Valentino restaurant across the street that seems to be full every evening with groups. Another good restaurant for sea food is Sea Sound located after Hellenia Yachting hotel.
As I stayed in this hotel at the end of the season, in late October, the hotel clientele was mostly senior citizens.
As a conclusion, I would return to this hotel without doubt.

Friendly advice: if you are renting a car in Sicily, make sure that the radio is removable. Our car was broken in Palermo and the radio was stolen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
435 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Spacious and clean, lovely beach,
Big lobby and buzzing with people...a great place to take a walk to lovely water front with great restaurants....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morganna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giardini Naxos
0.4 km away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,428 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
840 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,100 reviews
3.4 km away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
158 reviews
0.1 km away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#23 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Giardini Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Giardini Naxos

Property: Hilton Giardini Naxos
Address: Viale Jannuzzo 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#6 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Giardini Naxos 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Giardini Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Giardini Naxos Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing