We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent intro to Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What an excellent intro to Sicily”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We've just had a fantastic holiday at the Atahotel Naxos Beach Resort in Sicily. Whilst it's a huge complex you are treated as an individual and all the staff - the cleaners, gardeners, restaurant etc - were all very friendly. We had an apartment style room in a block of 4 (there are loads of these blocks in the complex) and whilst the room was a little "tired" it was clean and ample for the 2 of us. We had a main bedroom and a smaller room with 2 more single beds with patio doors which lead onto the large terrace which had table and chairs and a back gate!! It was exceedingly quiet all the time - perhaps it's towards the end of their season. The olympic pool is lovely to sit around and the other lower pool is also nicely laid out. It's very easy to get to the Naxos beach although the sea is very strong and about 3 feet in you can't reach the bottom so you need to be a strong swimmer to go in. The free bottle of wine at dinner was a lovely gesture as was the champagne for our wedding anniversary which was in our room when we arrived. We decided to keep it for dinner on our our actual anniversary and the restaurant manager came up and congratulated us. The walk to the Naxos resort takes about 20 minutes but it's lovely both by day and night when you get fabulous views of Taormina lit up. We did 2 trips - Mount Etna and Syracruse. The weather at Mount Etna is unpredicatable and it's not guaranteed you'll get to 3000 metres. We managed to but it was so windy and cloudy we weren't allowed to walk around and the volcanologist couldn't take us around the crater as planned. That notwithstanding it was still fantastic to do. Syracruse was a lovely day and well worth it. The trips aren't cheap and we plan to return to do Agrigento. You can hire a car but it's not easy to get around and the island is so big you'd spend a lot of time getting to your destination and likely not have time to see anything. We went to Taormina by bus twice. It's very easy and cheap to get to although the shops are very expensive - typical of Italy. The Greek theatre is well worth a visit as are the gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the apartment style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    512
    211
    80
    35
See reviews for
622
369
35
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel we were somewhat concerned about what awaited us. However it proved much better than expected and therefore not sure why this hotel receives some poor reviews.

On arrival we received an upgrade to one of the (upper level) superior villas which was well maintained, clean, had excellent air conditioning, was spacious with 2 bedrooms and a huge balcony / terrace overlooking a small waterfall with the summit of Etna visible from the door (Room 766). Also the fridge and safe were provided free of charge. However the villas nearer the sea appeared smaller and did have a sort of holiday camp look to them. The hotel grounds were immaculate with the pavements and patios washed daily.

We were allocated the Parco restaurant for meals. The quality of cooked food was generally good but to be fair the choice available was not as wide as other 4* hotels we have stayed in. That said we never struggled to find something. There was a wide selection in the cold buffet and desert table but as others have said, they are not good at replacing empty dishes and there appeared to be no prepared fruit or ice cream. However the free bottle of wine and water was an excellent bonus. Breakfast was adequate but other hotels we have stayed in do this better.

There were always plenty of staff around who we found to be friendly and helpful. The cashless system was a bit of an inconvenience but you are able to charge to your room if you prefer. Magnificent views of Etna from the hotel roof by climbing the stone fire escape just off the piazza

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McJameos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Looked forward to visiting Sicily as have been to Serento & Lake Garda but my my what a let down, the hotel greeting was fine untill we we're put on what can only be described as a golf trolley & sent off to our appt, it seemed to be in the back & beyond, it was so dark & very dated, we did ask to be moved but you guessed it the answer was NO, The best was yet to come, as we usually book 4star we dress for dinner, don,t know why though as people looked just like they did during the day with shorts & t shirts. On my first night being a veggie, i had a choice of salad, chips or pasta, then when i went to get dessert there was hardly anything left, not replacing items as they run out, it was tough, what happens if others book, you have to get dessert first so remember this. The breakfast didn't change the entire time we were there, the dinners were very rarely hot as they have no heater under them it is a free for all at meal times the only meal we enjoyed was at the pizza restaurant on the complex, the saving grace was the olympic pool & the compimentary wine in the evening.

Room Tip: always ask for sea rooms otherwise you will be in a chalet type room quite a way from main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexMrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Had wonderful 10 days - not sure where all the complaints are coming from. Yes, there are some imperfections, but in overall it is beautiful. We came down as a big group - 25 people, some stayed in the main building, some - in bungalows. Rooms were spacious enough, perfectly clean. Staff was friendly and helpfull - trust me: as a group leader I know how much headache we have caused. Most of the wait staff was really nice to us. It's not too hard to greet them in Italian and smile - this way you get everything you need and quite fast :)
Wonderfull gardens, good swimming pools, pleasant beach, tasty food, view of Etna erupting, lava rain - what elese would you need on your holidays?! We had it all!
Plenty of things to do around: you can stroll down to the nearest town, go to Taormina and Castelmola, do shopping in Catania or Palermo or travel to Malta by ferry for a couple of days

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cello-jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have been booking at this resort for 5 years and i am always happy for the choice. My children are also very happy and every year we spent 1-2 weeks unforgetable. Food and service excellent, as well as the entertainment team during evening's shows. I'll come back again.

Room Tip: If you come with family, better to be located in the small cottage available at the border of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimiliano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The worst four-star hotel we've stayed in...more like a glorified holiday camp.

Where do I start ? Check in - charged €35/head/week for "sports" - which became no clearer after five explanations (it's simply a means of fleecing guests). The card system is awful (get cash to put on the card ??). As we're speaking all-inclusive country, this was quickly confirmed with watered-down drinks (even the beer), limited food options, plus a fist-fight between two families over out-door smoking arrangements.

The kids club is OK if you're Italian - but didn't cater for English speakers (why not just say that's the case ??). The endless noise from acqua aerobics and "animation" was made worse by the ability to hear this from every area of the "hotel" (which is amazing, given that it's not small)

After one day / night we'd had enough - but we'd reckoned without the appallingly rude reception staff (e.g. "...you're not our problem..." - arguably the worst customer service sentence I've heard in 30 years). Luckily for the Atahotel Group, I get to speak on customer service regularly - so you'll become a cause celebré with that line, boys

Bedroom was fine (some aspect of staying there had to be) - but it's not a four-star hotel (just compare with the endless alternatives in Taormina), and will only suit those with a penchant for a better Butlins holiday camp (if that's what you want, fine). Once you've been to Taormina, Giardini Naxos is just another strip of land adjacent to the sea (a dump, as far as I'm concerned).

The appalling attitude of this hotel's reception staff will live long in the memory (as will the 120 decibel acqua aerobics instructor)...you've all better things to do with your hard-earned money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Horseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Firstly the garden rooms are not sheds - ours was an adequate size for 2 adults and a child with a good sized bathroom not always found in Italy plus a seating area for an evening drink. On top of this they were very clean and the fridge was a nice bonus.
The staff were all very pleasant with the rare exception of a gentleman on reception upon checking out and though there was some queue pushing the service was so quick it was never an issue. We found if we made the effort to say hello, bye and thanks in Italian it showed we were making an effort
Having visited Italy as a family several times we expected the majority of guests to be Italian and therefore the entertainment is in Italian. It has never stopped us enjoying it and kids of all nationalities loved the dancing and the excellent evening shows.
The food choice was very good especially the outdoor Sicilian evening and we were pleased that we never felt rushed through the meal - the waiters don't get chance to speak as they are busy clearing and carrying out bottles of wine and water - included free - but any we spoke to were very pleasant. The ice cream bar was great though we wouldn't eat at the beach bar again as not great value for money or taste (only ate there on 1st day as we were hungry after the journey)
There is a supermarket outside the hotel - 2 mins walk - which was cheaper for water and wine and a few bars and restaurants nearby of which La Spelanco was the best.
Taormina is lovely - not sure why someone paid 40 euros when the local bus takes half hour and costs 3 euros each return. Lots to see and eat!
Castlemola is also lovely but take heed of the bus timetable as there is a 2 hour gap in the afternoon when it's at its hottest.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone - one word of warning though, lots of large mosquitos late in the week meant we returned a bit sore but if you take a good repellent you would be fine, certianly not enough to put us off returning and obviously nothing to do with the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giardini Naxos
0.4 km away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
126.5 km away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
126.4 km away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#1 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Naxos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Naxos Beach

Property: Atahotel Naxos Beach
Address: Viale Recanati 26 | Giardini Naxos, Messina, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#4 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Naxos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atahotel Naxos Beach is a modern, all-around resort, just a few KM from Taormina. It offers a full range of services, that makes it the ideal place where to relax and unwind in a beautiful location. Sicily's crystal clear sea, its warm sunshine and the delicious food served in the five restaurants are just some of the things you can expect from Atahotel Naxos Beach, along with impeccable and attentive service. The modern congress center offsets the resort's sport and leisure activities, designed for families looking for an attractive holiday location with a full range of facilities: nightclub, swimming pools and shopping center. RESORT: 642 rooms: 189 in hotel (19 Junior Suites), 453 in cottages (63 Superior). Rooms available for disabled guests. 5 restaurants and 4 bar. Private beach. Beach umbrella, beds and chairs and towel service. Medical service. Newsstand. Tobacco products. Boutiques. Photographer. Laundry. Internet Point and Wi-Fi in common areas. SPA & WELLNESS: Massage and beauty treatments. Gym with trainer. Yoga and relax techniques. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: 4 pools (including 2 for children and 1 Olympic). 2 tennis courts. 2 five-a-side football pitches. Group lessons for sailing, windsurfing, and canoeing. Archery, tennis, swimming, water gym, aerobics, and step aerobics. Tournaments:volleyball, basketball, soccer, water pool, tennis, bowls, ping-pong, chess, diving center, billiards and video games, discotheque, piano bar, entertainment staff, Baby and Mini Club. Near the resort: water skiing, parasailing, riding, jet ski, and pedal boats, Golf Club with 18 holes (25 km). EETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: 14 rooms and 1 plenary room for up to 780 people in theatre seatings. 1.600 m2 area. A large proposal for all events. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized, exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atahotel Naxos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Naxos Beach Hotel Giardini Naxos
Atahotel Naxos Beach Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Naxos Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing