We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for off-season peace and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fattoria San Lorenzo
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fattoria San Lorenzo was brilliant! Exceedingly relaxing couple of nights in an idyllic farm-side location. Helpful, knowledgable staff; beautifully maintained accommodation, pools and surrounds; Kids swam both days (in November!) and scootered around the place – including over to the working farm behind the property. Close-by Conad supermarket is very useful and has everything you need to be self-sufficient – and the ability to have you on private BBQ is a bonus. Needless to say we didn't try the restaurant. But it is true, you do need a car if you stay here!

A couple of suggestions: put anti-scrape pads on the bottom of the dining chairs to stop the noise from some inconsiderate next door neighbours travelling at night – and add a bit more lighting in the living area to make it feel a little less gloom...even when the sun is shining. Aside from these very small gripes, we would thoroughly recommend it as a great family base to explore nearby Maremma NP, Saturnia and Grosseto.

Room Tip: corner rooms would be brighter and perhaps quieter, given you only have neighbours on one side...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themclagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria San Lorenzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just come back from Fattoria San Lorenzo and we have got very mixed feelings about this place! The bangalows are very nice, good size accomodation, nice patio, clean, very welcoming. There were no cleaning services though and we had to empty the bins ourselves and take the rubbish away every day. We were supposed to be able to use WIFI services, but that did not work for 5 days (we stayed for 8 nights). Once it eventually started working we were told we had three hours to use and then would get charged if we used any more. One night we had no electricity for the most of the evening and the night, which also meant no hot water.
Bear in mind this place is in the middle of nowhere! There is nowhere to walk ... you MUST drive everywhere. We travelled with a small child and expacted to be able to go for long walks in beautiful surroundings. It has never happened! It took us 10 minutes to walk from our bangalow to the main road with no lights and that was the end of it.
Breakfast ....misunderstanding! It was very disappointing and well overpriced! We ordered breakfast which was supposed to be served on the patio. Once we got up in the first morning we found the basket with rolls, ham and cheese, jam, honey and nutella and two apples in it. There was also coffee and milk. We had to use plates, cups and cutlery from the bagalow and then wash them ourselves. We eventually cancelled it as we eded up going to the supermarket and buying fresh rolls, fruit and veg every morning anyway. It was very kind of them though to let us cancel it!!!! Both the gentleman and the lady at the reception were very helpfull!

There are two restaurants nearby. Fattoria San Lorenzo one was nice. The food was good but very limited choices. The other restaurant (do not remember the name) serves German beer, German food and plays German music ... in Italy .... great!!!

We will not be coming back to Fattoria San Lorenzo for obvious reasons. We will however come back to Tuscany which is beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights, young children next door we just mentioned to Stephanie the house manager, she told Isaac the reception manager who came straight over to move us to a bigger apartment!! Le Capenne so quiet, pool very good grounds maintained so well. In the beautifullcountryside. Eat at restaurant 2 nights, very good food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Le Capenne very good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the Fattoria San Lorenzo in May. The accommodation was in a first floor one bedroom apartment in Le Capanne which is a short drive away from the main reception block of the complex.
The first floor apartment consisted of a large open plan sitting / dining / kitchen area with hob and micro wave, adequate crockery and cutlery. Satellite TV provided useful channels such as BBC World News and a number of movie channels. The bedroom was of a good size as was the bathroom which, it must be said, was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Probably a bit remote if you don’t have a car but if you do it is ideally located being close to a huge shopping centre with Conad supermarket and also to Grossetto itself. It is also very handy for the coast, some twenty minutes drive away. Castigliagni della Pescaia in particular is well worth a visit; a sea side town that .
The management team of Isacco and Serena were very welcoming and helpful.
The pool area and gardens are immaculately maintained.
All in all we had a very relaxing week’s break at a very reasonable price. Anyone wanting a quiet holiday would do well to book Fattoria San Lorenzo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having spent time reading reviews prior to going, we thought it necessary to write this review for the people who are unsure or would like to know a little more. We flew to Pisa, hired a car & drove to Grosseto. The place was easy to find, please note that the reception isn't signposted from the main road, but is located near to the Casa Livia restaurant, so took us a little longer to work out. The staff were fantastic, telling us virtually everything we needed to know. Little things were missed out, like breakfast...we assumed we had booked breakfast that this would arrive every day, however the first day you get the standard croissants, rolls & coffee, with a sheet you have to fill in, to let them know what you would like after that. We was happy with what we had, so didn't fill the sheet in, and ended up with no brekkie the next day. When asked they would of sorted breakfast out for us that morning. So more lack of communication/confusion on both sides.
We stayed in the Double Deluxe 2 pax apartment, which I have to say, was fantastico. Nice, clean, modern, all ammenities, could have not asked or hoped for more. 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds in each, an upstairs bathroom with shower, as well as a downstairs bathroom with shower. The pool was unheated, which for us brits, meant it was freezing in May, still nice to relax around tho.
We went to the restaurant twice, the staff were very welcoming, & the food, was very nice. Not many choices as you would get from English restaurants but food was very nice all the same. From where we was staying, it was approx a mile along a straight road, but was nice to walk it, & therefore we both could enjoy a bottle of wine.
Bikes are available, but only for use on site. Well, you can go off site, however they recommend you don't for your safety. If you do, you have to sign a disclaimer, as they are responsible otherwise.
Generally, we would say this is a very good place to stay. We would definately stay here again. It caters for all, families, couples, & friends. It is a good base to visit southern Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getz_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

we stayed here on april 2013 while driving from Rome to Pisa, clean and tidy, great room, great sense for privacy and the location is a must see, the only dowsize is that you have to go out the room to get some wifi signal, but it's a great experience overall

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javierccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed overnight while driving from Florence to Sorrento and after seen the place and tasting the food, we regretted not staying there more time. The rooms are very comfortable, the pool and pool area very nice, it is inside a farm or ranch of about 400 hectares and the restaurant is wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepeHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grosseto
5.8 km away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
253 reviews
12.3 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
341 reviews
3.1 km away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Ricci Hotel
Ricci Hotel
#4 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
211 reviews
27.7 km away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
663 reviews
21.2 km away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Lorenzo

Address: Via della Trappola, 58100, Grosseto, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Grosseto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Price Range: $83 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria San Lorenzo, with its 450-hectare estate and 3 farmhouses, offers 38 comfortable holiday homes in Maremma. There apartments with two, three or four rooms, with private entrances, swimming pools next to each house, green areas and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing