We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet recluse in the Maremma country side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fattoria San Lorenzo
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed there for one week as part of a 2 weeks car drive. Our place was a self-contained, 2 bed room apartment called “ Il Pozzino”. The compound has a nice green appearance, is tidy and is well-kept. We were lucky not to be in the main building, which was adjacent to a country road with regular (speeding) traffic and trucks. So, we could enjoy the quietness of the place very much. The apartment was close to surrounding cities and easy to reach. A small shopping center with a big supermarket full with Italian goodies is a 5-minutes car drive away.

The apartment has a nice, country style appearance and is comfortable. Beds are ok, aircons do their work well. The kitchen equipment is poor, though, due to the not uncommon attitude of managers to assume their guests dine out anyway. I am a hobby cook, so my perspective is rather different. This point needs attention, as it somewhat spoils the image of this lovely place.

About dining out: the main building (Casa Livia) has a very nice restaurant that can easily compete in quality with alternatives you have in the towns nearby. Good atmosphere there, decent prices and friendly service.

I would most definitely recommend the Il Pozzino apartment for people wanting to explore the Maremma area and enjoy a peaceful place to stay – TIP: do not book the main building if you want to avoid any remembrance of traffic during your holiday.

Room Tip: For extra peace and quietness, book Il Pozzino rather than Casa Livia.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LePecheurEnLigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria San Lorenzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2015

Ideal location for a relaxing holiday. The only noise is bird song. Description of accommodation misleading on Hotels.com who we booked through. Management, who were extremely helpful and polite, said they would sort that problem out. Our apartment was at the Pozzina property at the far end of the estate. It could have been cleaner and although the company we booked through said they were serviced daily, they weren't serviced at all during our stay. Towels were changed every three days but we were given extras whenever we asked. Bed linen could be changed on request. The on site restaurant was only average, tried it on our first evening, however it is an independent business. Isacco and Serena could not have been more helpful. The best aspect of this property is the pool, absolutely idyllic if you want peace, rest and relaxation.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

It is only when looking to book this years holiday that we felt it important to comment on our view of the Fattoria, in the hope that others may make a better informed decision. As the previous reviewer, we had left our booking very late and there was little available in the area. We booked because of the good trip advisor reviews, but again as the previous reviewer were bitterly disappointed at what we found. The mini resort, was in a poor state of repair and our apartment was not clean (putting it politely) and had several holes in the wall and faults. We have travelled extensively in Italy and cleanliness has always been excellent.The lady manageress was often rude when we queried things, however Isacco, it has to be said, always did his best to rectify situations and remain polite and helpful. I must say that we found the restaurant food good and the staff there extremely polite and helpful. The location is quite central and convenient too. It really was very let down by the dirt and state of disrepair of the apartment, pool and common areas. The gardens and grounds though were kept very well. I also think you need to bear in mind that there is more than 1 properly and the positive reviews may not refer to 'Tenuta Livia' where we stayed. We noticed the other property looked newer and cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mumof3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for the entirety of our initial booking (two weeks) just because everything around was sold out and we had no other choice than staying if we wanted to have some much needed family time.
To say that the advertising displayed on their web site is misleading is an understatement, they claim to have bright rooms when we could barely see whet we were cooking and the house was dark even at noon; where they claim to have a luxurious ambiance, you'll find filthy windows completely cover in spider nets, holes filled with aluminium foil, walls splattered with dead mosquitos and a kitchen that hasn't seen a good clean in ages. Let me also mention that any tap or handle in the toilettes will be loose and you will be able to see exposed cables.
But the over promises don't finish here, the grill that they claim could be used on premise is just an old piece of metal, my husband is a grill fan and he couldn't bring himself to use it (During the entirety of our stay I just saw one soul grilling and he didn't look too happy); the restaurant serves less than average food, for sure you can prepare something better at home with a hand tied to your back.
Quite frankly I can not understand such a high rating, we've been in Italy many times and Trip advisor always provided a good indication of the quality of the places but in this case the gap is way too big.
Last and not least the management is anything but plain rude, after our arrival and checking the state of the property, I went to reception to understand if we had any possibility to move somewhere else. After getting a stark negative answer, which barely concealed their annoyance regarding the query as they couldn't do anything about the holes in the wall or the state of the walls!!!, I asked for the place to be thoroughly cleaned which they organized. If not a nice place at least clean, right? But the following day when we wanted to prepare tee, we could corroborate how the kitchen hadn't been properly cleaned in like.. forever!. The dishwasher had rotten food from the previous occupants, the kettle had lime scale and dust to a degree that I hadn't seen before and the cabinets had a mouldy smell.
The last bit was truly the stick that broke the camel's back for me and I went to the reception again to show them the pictures I've taken of the kitchen and to ask for some compensation since moving us somewhere else was impossible or so I had been told!!!. That's when it got interesting with the manager saying that they had sent an email to my husband explaining which was the state of the property (This never happened), blaming the previous occupants for broken items or ironically saying and I quote "It's always about the discount, right Lady?". Please take your family somewhere else where the management takes its role seriously, you will make yourself a favor!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Diahann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fattoria S, Direttore vendite at Fattoria San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Diahann,

Thank you really much for your review and I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay here in Fattoria San Lorenzo as many many other guests on the other side do!?. That is really weird because most of our guests enjoy really much and all look forward to come back. Some of them book the next vacation one year later at the check out time. I am really puzzled!
Anyway I respect your feedback but obviously don't share the same feelings and our guests neither ... I am sure the Tripadvisor community will check the rate we have not only here but also in the other main travel reviews web site and all of them show us in an extremely good position....this should mean something.
I believe your experience here have not been satisfying but please respect the job of people like us that work really hard everyday happy to let people live a top experience. This is our priority and you know this because I perfectly remember we provided the extra cleaning service only up to you for 3 days in a row without any extra charge and your apartment was more than clean. Last point I would like to share with Tripadvisor community is that nobody can believe you could not find an alternative here in July (it's not high season yet) and that you have been forced to stay for 14 days!! You were free to leave before your supposed stay but you did not and did not complaint at all after the first 3 days, period when I repeat, we provided all the assistance possible.
Really sorry again Diahan and hope to welcome you again in Fattoria San Lorenzo.
I would like to close inspired by Diahan words...
"Please do you a favour, come in Fattoria San Lorenzo, we will take care of your family in order to let you live an amazing experience!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in August and it felt very private despite the fact that it was full. Guests are spread out across the large estate in three main areas and each of these areas has its own swimming pool. The pools are great and safe for kids. Rooms are clean and well equipped. The people running Fattoria San Lorenzo are incredibly friendly and helpful and gave us good advice for places to visit and helped us quickly with any questions and issues. I recommend the beach at the National Park of Maremma, which didn't feel too crowded even in August, and Talamone and Cala Violina if you're visiting at a quieter time of year. It's not the cheapest place to stay but is really enjoyable and represents good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in an appartment in the Pozzino area which was quiet and had a great pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The perfect base for a family stay exploring Southern Tuscany and the Maremma area..........great pool, not too crowded, and lovely staff who were always really helpful with any request, even when we needed help in explaining how to pay an Italian parking ticket!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at Fattoria San Lorenzo in April 2013 and had a fantastic experience. Although we were aware that a car would be useful we decided not to hire one and managed extremely well. The estate itself is beautiful and perfect for walks. The grounds are very well maintained and all the facilities are clean and new. There is an Italian restaurant on-site and a German restaurant (great food and beverages + decor) within walking distance. We also used a local bus to get to other villages (I particularly recommend Castiglione della Pescaia) and even managed to visit the breathtaking Maremma National Park. Isacco was extremely helpful and very dedicated to making us feel as welcome as possible. Thoroughly recommended! Will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186338MonicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grosseto
5.8 km away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
254 reviews
12.3 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#4 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
343 reviews
3.1 km away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Ricci Hotel
Ricci Hotel
#5 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
212 reviews
27.7 km away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
666 reviews
21.2 km away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Lorenzo

Address: Via della Trappola, 58100, Grosseto, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Grosseto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Price Range: $80 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria San Lorenzo, with its 450-hectare estate and 3 farmhouses, offers 38 comfortable holiday homes in Maremma. There apartments with two, three or four rooms, with private entrances, swimming pools next to each house, green areas and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing