We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
51
54
34
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
54
34
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2015

Great location for holidays in Versilia, sea view, swimming pool and a beautiful terrace. Reasonable prices also for the restaurant, where you can eat even if you are not a resident guest.
Great value for money.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Lysa083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Bixio for a single night in June - rooms were clean, breakfast was good, staff were helpful enough, free (but very limited) parking, so pretty much all we were looking for in an overnight stop.

Hotel had a restaurant also but it wasn't really to our liking so we tried to find somewhere else - options available about 20/30 minutes away - seemed to be beach clubs around the hotel, all of which were closed at night.

Not sure it would be right up our strret for an extended stay, but certainly for the single night it more than served it's purpose!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NI_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for just over a week for our summer break by the sea. The hotel is right on the sea front, and the superior doubles overlook the promenade and the sea. There is a busy road to cross over to the beach, then a busy cycle path to beware of.
The hotel and resorts here are spotlessly clean, we had a spacious room with a lovely view. The bathroom was new and had good toiletries and a good (if small) new hydroshower. We were surprised to see a notice in our room advising that there would be a 10euro charge per day if we used the minibar fridge for our own products, this had a very negative affect on our first impressions, which had been very good. We have never been charged anywhere for this facility before, so were a bit disappointed that we could not keep our water cold unless we purchased it from the hotel.
The pool looked a lot smaller than it appears to be on the hotel website, and is surrounded by a hedge on 3 sides which feels a little claustrophibic when the area is full. There are good seats, loungers and mattresses, and a small pool bar in season. This area is also kept very clean and tidy. The spa/ hydromassage bath looked a little tired and not too clean, but it was full of children for most of the day anyway.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, in particular the reception staff and the lovely pool lady.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent, with a good and plentiful selection of food. Coffee is from a machine, and actually tasted good.
We only had dinner twice in the hotel, and as we do not like fish or seafood the selection was somewhat limited. We had gnocchi one evening, which was a little bland, and porchetta on the second time, which was mostly fat, but tasted good. There is a salad bar to help yourself from. The house wine is very good, and cheap.
Bikes are available to use free of charge, which we found invaluable, as the hotel is some distance from both Lido di Camaiore centre and Marina di Pietrasanta (A very pretty town) and there are no bars or restaurants within walking distance apart from quite expensive beach bars, which were closed in the evenings anyway. There is a bus service to both with a stop outside th hotel. Tickets are available at the newstand up the road at 1.40euro. Beware coming back after 8.30pm, as the charge then rises to 3.40euro, and you pay on the bus, but this ticket can then be used all night anywhere between Forti di Marmi and Torre del Lago.
We were surpired to see the beach facilities almost empty, this being peak Italian holiday season, however when we enquired we were told a lounger and deck chair would cost 25euros per day, so this may explain why. We would have been prepared to pay 10-15 euros, but they priced us off the beach. You are however allowed to put your own towel/chairs etc on the part of the beach in front of the private facilities, or there is a public beach about 20 minutes walk away from the hotel towards Pietrasanta.
We would recommend the hotel, but found it a little remote from the town, however we did enjoy our stay and appreciated the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaylover091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for six nights with three small children, not being familiar with the hotel or the general area. Our impression was very good, with a few (minor) issues.

The hotel is in a good location (see more below) and is in good shape despite its age. Our room seemed to have been renovated within the last 5-10 years or so. Most public spaces looked fine, with the exception of the basement karaoke bar which looked very run-down (it did not seem to be in use, though). The breakfast room and the glass-walled patio seemed a bit dated as well, but were OK.

Beds were excellent, I do not think linen was changed during our six-day stay (we did not request it). Enough space to hang clothes and store luggage. Balconies are small, but OK. TVs in rooms are very small and have a limited selection of channels (the large TV in the lobby offers a very broad range of channels). Minibar could not be used for own items unless paying a 10€ daily usage fee.

Bathroom OK even if the fancy hydromassage showers did not work in any of our rooms. The ordinary shower worked well and had plenty of hot water. Somewhat awkward location of flush buttons and toilet paper. Plenty of towels (1 large and 1 small per guest), new towels were added daily even if we at the same time used the old ones to the pool or the beach.

The hotel has a small pool (6x12 m) with depths from 110 to 240 cm (about half the pool is shallow). There's a small slide (for young kids) on one end. Pool was cleaned nightly and seemed to be very good. If you don't like sunbathing next to the splashing from the pool, there's also a roof terrace with very good views. There's also a jacuzzi near the pool, but the water here did not look very tempting.

The hotel has its own small garden with some shaded areas. There's also a ping-pong table available.

Cleaning of all areas was excellent, cleaners were friendly and not obstrusive.

The restaurant serves good, no-frills meals. There's a large menu, but resident guests are asked to pick from a selection of dishes that are changed daily (4-5 starters and 4-5 main courses). I would recommend going for half (or full board), as those who had it were served very good dishes which seemed to have lots of variety.

Breakfast was good by Italian standards - many choices of bread/cakes/pastries, a few cereals, juices, yoghurts, jams/honey/ham/cheese. Coffee can be had from the automatic brewer, or requested freshly made from the waiter.

Service was good. Most people spoke good English, those who did not did their best to help anyhow. Restaurant staff was excellent (even if a bit busy). The reception seemed to be a bit understaffed, sometimes no-one was present and there was sometimes a few minutes wait to be served.

Hotel offers free WLAN, but you need a username/password from the reception. This can only be used on one computer at a time, you have to log out (or time out) if switching to another computer. There's also a computer in the reception area, this is meant to only show a fixed set of web pages, but anyone familiar with a Linux system can easily make it run Google Chrome with unlimited web access.

The hotel offers free bikes to their guests. These seemed brand new, but they were quite simple (no gears). Using bikes is an excellent idea if going to the "real" inland towns nearby, the ride from the coast to Pietrasanta is very scenic along a long alley.

The hotel is located about halfway between Lido di Camaiore and Marina di Pietresanta, just across the street from the beach (which is occupied by an endless row of expensive beach operators - the nearest free beach is 1,3 km to the north-west). There are no other restaurants very close to the hotel, but there's a few some 100 m to the north-west, and lots if you go to the resort towns mentioned before. The nearest food supply (for self-catering) is the excellent and inexpensive Essalunga supermarket 4 blocks inland.

Access to the hotel is easy - there is free parking (reserved for hotel guests) just outside, if you're arriving by bus the coastal lines stop more or less on the doorstep. If coming from the train station in Viareggio (which is much more convenient than the in-the-middle-of-nowhere Camaiore station), it is easiest to take the buses towards the Osperdale de Versilia hospital and walk (or have a taxi) from there.

Local road traffic and building activity on the neighbouring property might cause some limited noise when being outdoors, but not too bad. Even if our rooms faced the street we could not hear traffic when the doors and windows were shut.

We would love to come back!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews