We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
150
77
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
77
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski area a wonderful stay other hotels wifi winter village
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 244 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2016

This was maybe the 6th time we stayed at Hotel Alba. It still has some very good points :
- close to the ski lift and bus stop (5 min)
- very beautiful rooms
- dinner is excellent, you get a 5 courses diner at a 3 star hotel !
- Staff is very helpful; especially Tatiana goes out of her way to help you
- quiet location
- free wifi

Minor issue is the fact that in the past, we could ski right up to the front door of the hotel. Due to some construction work, this isn't possible anymore. But then again, the hotel is only 5 min away on foot from the end of the slope.

A major issue is the wellness which needs an upgrade.

But taking it all together, we will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerrit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We (family with 3 sons 16, 20 and 22 years old) have just stayed 1 week at Hotel Alba. Our trip to Livigno was primarily a skiing-vacation but included celebrating Christmas Eve.
Plus: Location of the hotel is good, close to ski-bus stops and Carosello 3000 lift. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and supermarkets.
Rooms were fine, quiet and clean (we had 2 Elegance rooms at the 1. floor, one of them larger and including a sleeping sofa of good quality). It included a safe and adequate storage space.

Minus: Food was not as good as we expected and promised by the Travel Agency that we used. Service and facilities neither. Examples: The hotel is told to have a "Welness Center". In reality this was an ice-cold, dark room in the basement where you had to turn on the light yourself if you found it by coincidence. There is a steam-bath, a shower, a sauna and a small Jacuzzi tub that you need to fill with water yourself - takes ½ hour minimum. No towels in the room, no shampoo or soap. Most strange is that you need to request that everything gets turned on to use the room. Sauna, Steam-bath and Jacuzzi works as expected when in use but fits maximum 2 persons at the time. In the corner of the room there are a few (un-plugged) cardio machines and resting chairs!

We did not find the variety of the breakfast buffet adequate- and again examples: Cold coffee one morning, egg-cooking machine with cold water when opening up for breakfast, white rolls that might, might not be from the day before etc. No scrambled egg, bacon or fresh fruit.
Dinner is a 3 course choice menu + appetizer and a "Starter buffet". Many of the dishes at the Starter Buffet came in day after day again. Some of the selections from the dinner choice menu were good and well tasting especially the desserts. But...there were too many that were not. bread included the (now dry) rolls from the breakfast buffet.
Service (Waiter) seemed stressed and not service-minded and not friendly to questions/concerns. Even though the hotel was not full.
The storage rooms for skis and boots are very small but worked ok the week we stayed at the hotel - can imagine it will be overcrowded in more busy weeks.
Overall quality of our stay was not good enough for the price.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank birgitte_bjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a week of skiing. We chose the hotel because a large group of our friends was staying there and we wanted to be together. The hotel is close to Carosello lifts and can be reached by foot. The city center is located a 20 minute walk. We could not get a room in the main building so we stayed at the adjacent house which houses additional rooms. These rooms are not physically connected to the main building and you have to go through the open space to reach them which is quite complicated when there is lots of snow and cold outside. The room was quite large with a large onsuite bathroom. As it was on the ground floor and looking out on the main street it was quite loud and we woke up at night several times due to the noise of people coming home from the town.There is also a lack of sockets in the room so it was a nightmare charging several phones and tablets. Do avoid these rooms and stay in the main building where the rooms are also newly renovated. The breakfast was ok bit could have offered more variety. Dinner was little better eventhough the portions were quite small. The hotel offers free wifi which unfortunately is very bad and never works. My wife almost got electricuted when drying her hair when the blow dryer started to melt. When I complained no one really even appologized. I will certainly not come back to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jedialex65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very, very kind hospitality and very comfortable!!! Staff is very friendly and willing to help. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, both old and new rooms, but of course new rooms are much better, food always and everywhere can be better, but in Alba is very good, if somebody don't like what he ordered always can ask and get something else, restaurant staff always try to do their best what is not easy when they have full capacity. Location is very good, near to the slopes and lifts, as well as bus station to the center. This is my the 2nd winter vacation in Alba and for 3* hotel everything is on the very high level and I would highly recommend this hotel to everybody, families, friends, couples...!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bane1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We only managed to secure 3 nights at the hotel... but for good reason. Our room (#306) was modern and spacious with a small Juliet balcony and a lovely view. We had half-board and breakfasts were excellent. Located away from the centre of the village but with an excellent bus service we found it difficult to fault this hotel. It is also located a stone's throw away from La Bellavista restaurant where the food is excellent and the prices are more than reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chaddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews