We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Vacation!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel is beautiful. The service is wonderful and the staff super friendly. The view is amazing and I recommend staying here.

Only 1 negative...8 minute walk up to the hotel. We were told that next year they will have a lift to the front entrance of the hotel.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Book a room with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamZ_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    51
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
63
185
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro for 4 days in September. It is an absolutely stunning hotel with some of the best service we have ever experienced. Any apprehensions we had about the walk up to the hotel and issues with parking were quickly put to rest. The hotel has an arrangement with another local hotel that has parking facilities. A porter then carries your bags all the way up to the hotel. The walk is completely manageable and takes you through some of the most charming alleyways in Maiori (in fact where the annual Festa Di Sant Maria is held the at beginning of September). It may be tricky for anyone with mobility problems though. We were met on arrival with cold towels and drinks. The staff were friendly and professional; no request was too much trouble. We were even allowed the use of our beautiful room and all of the hotel facilities until 8pm on the day we checked out without any extra charge. The food was fantastic and you can request breakfast to be served on your balcony so that you can enjoy the views from the privacy of your bedroom. The infinity pool had just been finished when we arrived and we split our lounging time between the pool, the private beach and the garden terrace, which also has a jacuzzi. Bliss. I do not have a bad word to say and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro is set up above the town of Maiori. The view is stunning. There is a beautiful terrace where you can enjoy eating either the many items put out at the breakfast buffet, or you can request a hot breakfast prepared by the chef. An elegant dinner is served here as well. This hotel is about two years old and has every modern convenience and uses the latest technology to keep guests happy. The minute you arrive, the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We have never experienced service and care such as this. In order to get to this extraordinary hotel, you need to walk up a series of steps, so it may not be suitable for anyone who has difficulty walking. Believe me, this is the only drawback.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Botanico San Lazzaro for a week in July and it was a blissful experience. As others have mentioned, there is a walk up to the hotel, but it isn't that bad and there are benches and water fountains along the way. I think there are about 200 steps, but it's a gentle climb (when you arrive in Maoiri, your luggage is taken separately, so there's no hauling bags either), and the views when you get there are absolutely worth it! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, but professional at the same time and nothing is too much trouble for them. The service is excellent throughout the hotel. There are lots of levels of terracing, so you never feel as though there are a lot of other people around. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was being finished during our stay so we didn't get to use it, but it looks amazing. There are other terraces being landscaped, so this place is just going to get better and better. We stayed in a deluxe room with a terrace on two sides of our room and it was a beautiful room. We are definitely going to return in the next few years, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place.

PS Sleep quality score - we had trouble with our air conditioning for a couple of nights, so didn't sleep well, but we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor for the rest of our stay. With the doors closed and air conditioning on, you won't have any trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the bay have the best terraces and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLou02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salerno
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Nothing to say about this new born hotel in Maiori. Lovely view, great location.... etc.
Most of the reviewers here, forgot (....?!!) to say the main negative aspect:
does anybody say that there is no vehicle access to hotel and that you have to walk uphill..... climbing steps and steps for about 10 min walking? No, they don't.
I was just wondering if those descriptions were realistic or not! I repeat, nothing to say about the quality, decor, cleanliness, ecc of the hotel: I'm just arguing that a realistic description should include the problem of the location, espcecially for oldest people, ecc. and I noticed that (very strangley...!) nobody does.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Axel_Salerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We visited the Botanico for three nights during our Honeymoon and we were very impressed with the hotel.

It occupies an imposing position on the cliff side overlooking the town of Maori, it appeared to us to be the most striking hotel in the town. Being on a cliff side however did mean that its a long walk up there! Not a problem for us but anyone with mobility problems or who isn't used to walking up so many steps would really struggle. (We did have to walk up in the rain one night which wasn't that pleasant!)

The service which we received at the hotel was impeccable. Precisely what you expect from a five star hotel and when the reception staff realised that we were on our honeymoon we were quickly upgraded into a bigger room with a large wrap around terrace. As stated in the title the views are exceptional.

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the housekeeping was fantastic. There is a good selection at breakfast and the chef does perfect poached eggs!

We were slightly disappointed that we weren't aware until arrival that the pool didn't open until June, however we still had a lovely stay.







Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theramsdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Considering that we visited the Amalfi Coast for the second time we didn't expect too much suprises. But we were proved wrong on our first day already when we arrived at Hotel Botanico - because they overexceeded all our expectations.
We don't know what to mention first:
The overwhelming friendliness and professionality of the staff, the breathtaking view from the spacious terrace that we had in front of our room (deluxe room, we got an upgrade!), the brand new luxurious rooms where you feel that every single item is handpicked by the owner himself and last but not least the outstanding personal treatment - starting with the maid up to the owner etc. And there were so many more highlights that we don't want to mention here because we feel that they are unique and that everybody who will spend some time at the Botanico will have his/her own highlights.
All in one we had an unforgettable stay and for sure we'll come back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swannib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.4 km away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
599 reviews
4.3 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 km away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
375 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
998 reviews
4.9 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Property: Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Address: Via Lazzaro, 25, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#3 Family Hotel in Maiori
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is certainly the jewel missing on the Amalfi coast, thanks to its arches in typical Mediterranean style, the botanical garden, the exotic garden and all modern facilities, such as bars. All rooms and suites are furnished with taste and charm with majolica tiles from Vietri sul mare and hand decorated furniture, masterpiece of Tuscan craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing