We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
277
61
24
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
61
24
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass lift our honeymoon beautiful hotel beach club five star hotel pizza restaurant amalfi coast amazing views outdoor gym private garden set high welcome drink turn down service hotel entrance stayed for one week pool bar superior room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 382 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We had booked a regular room that was supposed to come with a shower. Before arrival our booking was changed and we were given a room with no shower. As soon as we checked in we saw a very dilapidated room with no shower - just a hand shower and tub. We asked for a change but we were told that a room with regular shower was not available. In addition, there were bugs in the tub and the water drained slowly. The condition of the room was less than perfect. One person on the front desk was particularly rude and unhelpful. For a 5 star property - it was unacceptable service. The approach of the hotel is less than impressive and it involves walking up a lot of steps.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g1984unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Guests, you booked a standard room with a shower, but you didn't mention it was a "must". Generally offering a free upgrade is much appreciated by our guests. At the arrival day we were fully booked and we haven't been able to change room. The second day we offered you to move into the standard room with a shower as per the original booking, but you preferred to stay in upgraded room with a tub because you didn't want to pack your stuff. The lady at the reception at the check-out, kindly asked to pay the parking fee that is a payment due if you use a service. We suppose you should reconsider you opinion and be more sincere next time you will write a review. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place! Much less expensive than staying in Amalfi and great quality hotel!

Be ready for multiple steps though. There is a lift but you still take some steps after that. We took a bus from Salerno and thought we were being smart by getting walking directions from google. Don’t! Get directions from to pietro di luna hotel, pass it, see the lift behind the hotel. You will see the scrolly initials hbsl inscribed in places. Even from where the bus drops you off, there is a spot that has a video/voice to call the hotel. We made the unfortunate mistake of walking several flights of steps to get to the hotel with all our luggage. Ooops!

The hotel itself is beautiful, by European standards spacious. I loved the shower and toiletries. We had to call down to adjust the air in the room but overall ok. The flooring is very cute ceramic tiling.

The pool is also nice. Small and salt water vs chlorine but a nice addition to the hotel. You do get a beach pass which is very convenient. The hotel is not right on the water, but it’s a short walk.

One thing to note, the beach is volcanic black sand. It’s actually fine in Maiori. However in Amalfi and Positano, I would recommend water shoes as the beach is made up of small rocks and they get scorching hot in the summer and make it hard to balance yourself.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sumita5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Guests, many thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

This hotel is beautiful, staff are attentive and friendly and our family room was lovely with everything we required for a weeks stay. The grounds are stunning, the pool perfect, location outstanding, views to die for.The beach is a short walk away with use of the beach club, no trouble getting beds. The staff and service at the beach club are not on par with the service of the hotel, very slow to the point of being ignored. Unless you are Italian. Getting served a drink was a long process. I think the issue is that they do not have enough staff to take the food orders, make the food and deal with waiting customers at the bar. This would not fault our holiday as everything else was perfect. Plenty of places to eat along the sea front and a local info point is close by to organise trips, etc. The beach was busy but lovely and the water crystal clear. I would recommend this holiday and would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Many thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards form all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We had a great 3 night stay at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro! Although we had a hard time finding the hotel (don't listen to your GPS) it was great once we were there. The staff is welcoming and friendly and welcomed us with a drink. Although the hotel is up on the hill they have an amazing elevator that takes you to beach level with great view along the way. Our room was nice and had an excellent view from the terrace. Passes to the beach club across the street are also included with your stay. We put this hotel down as somewhere we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Dear Guests, many thanks for your comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meet you. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights as a base for exploring the Amalfi coast. The hotel is hard to find in a car (drive to the beach in Maiori and then buzz on the gate by the Pietra de Luna Hotel) BUT once you find it you realise what a special hotel you have discovered. The glass lift up the hillside takes you to a beautiful palazzo style hotel with hillside pool and scenery to enjoy from every room. We visited during the big religious festival in Maiori (August 15th) and were treated to colourful illuminations and an amazing firework display yet the best thing about the hotel is the room (stunning furniture, views and maid service) and the overall care and attention on arrival, at breakfast and on the beach. We felt welcome, spoilt and lucky to have found such a beautiful place with lovely people to look after us. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank robgibbs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear Guest, thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews