We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
277
61
25
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
61
25
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass lift our honeymoon beautiful hotel beach club cactus garden five star hotel pizza restaurant amalfi coast set high outdoor gym amazing views private garden botanical gardens welcome drink the cliff turn down service street level
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 383 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

A great location overlooking the sea in Maiori on Amalfi coast. Bed was comfortable and room clean and a beautiful sea breeze. It was close enough to see Amalfi and Ravello but a little quieter. Perched high on the cliff top, you access by funicular and some very steep steps, which I managed with some huffing and puffing. The view and friendly service made it worthwhile. Stayed 3 nights. Breakfast of vegetables and meats was to my taste with an abundance of local fruit. A great terraced garden to explore also.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Guests, thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is glorious . The location is set high upon a cliff in the charming and quaint town of Maiori . What a jewel !
We had a standard and superior room ( Rooms 101 & 102 ) with views of the sea and the town below .Some nights we could hear Italian music from the church below , all adding to a spiritual peacefulness .
You are able to get everywhere very efficiently with the excellent ferry service ( 15 mins to Amalfi , 25 mins to Positano , etc ) . I would avoid the buses and travel via the water .
The Hotel staff were unbelievable , smiling and pleasant , patient and funny with our terrible attempts at speaking Italian and always calm .
Thank you , Amelia ! Great advice on local restaurants .
Each morning a feast was included for breakfast - fresh eggs , vegetables , fruit , cheeses , meats and sweets.
Fresh juice and prosecco were served . Cappuccinos were made to order .
Vittorio and Gracia were always there to great you with a smile .
There are many steps , almost 60 , even with the funicular - that is something to be mindful of . My mother ( 78yrs old ) took many breaks but was able to do it .
It is worth it !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DrMaureenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear Guests, we wish to thank you for such a lovely comment. We hope to meet you in next future. Best regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We had booked a regular room that was supposed to come with a shower. Before arrival our booking was changed and we were given a room with no shower. As soon as we checked in we saw a very dilapidated room with no shower - just a hand shower and tub. We asked for a change but we were told that a room with regular shower was not available. In addition, there were bugs in the tub and the water drained slowly. The condition of the room was less than perfect. One person on the front desk was particularly rude and unhelpful. For a 5 star property - it was unacceptable service. The approach of the hotel is less than impressive and it involves walking up a lot of steps.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g1984unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Guests, you booked a standard room with a shower, but you didn't mention it was a "must". Generally offering a free upgrade is much appreciated by our guests. At the arrival day we were fully booked and we haven't been able to change room. The second day we offered you to move into the standard room with a shower as per the original booking, but you preferred to stay in upgraded room with a tub because you didn't want to pack your stuff. The lady at the reception at the check-out, kindly asked to pay the parking fee that is a payment due if you use a service. We suppose you should reconsider you opinion and be more sincere next time you will write a review. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place! Much less expensive than staying in Amalfi and great quality hotel!

Be ready for multiple steps though. There is a lift but you still take some steps after that. We took a bus from Salerno and thought we were being smart by getting walking directions from google. Don’t! Get directions from to pietro di luna hotel, pass it, see the lift behind the hotel. You will see the scrolly initials hbsl inscribed in places. Even from where the bus drops you off, there is a spot that has a video/voice to call the hotel. We made the unfortunate mistake of walking several flights of steps to get to the hotel with all our luggage. Ooops!

The hotel itself is beautiful, by European standards spacious. I loved the shower and toiletries. We had to call down to adjust the air in the room but overall ok. The flooring is very cute ceramic tiling.

The pool is also nice. Small and salt water vs chlorine but a nice addition to the hotel. You do get a beach pass which is very convenient. The hotel is not right on the water, but it’s a short walk.

One thing to note, the beach is volcanic black sand. It’s actually fine in Maiori. However in Amalfi and Positano, I would recommend water shoes as the beach is made up of small rocks and they get scorching hot in the summer and make it hard to balance yourself.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sumita5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Guests, many thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

This hotel is beautiful, staff are attentive and friendly and our family room was lovely with everything we required for a weeks stay. The grounds are stunning, the pool perfect, location outstanding, views to die for.The beach is a short walk away with use of the beach club, no trouble getting beds. The staff and service at the beach club are not on par with the service of the hotel, very slow to the point of being ignored. Unless you are Italian. Getting served a drink was a long process. I think the issue is that they do not have enough staff to take the food orders, make the food and deal with waiting customers at the bar. This would not fault our holiday as everything else was perfect. Plenty of places to eat along the sea front and a local info point is close by to organise trips, etc. The beach was busy but lovely and the water crystal clear. I would recommend this holiday and would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScatHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Many thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Best regards form all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews