We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
41
85
50
37
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
85
50
37
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decent hotel free breakfast bed was comfortable amalfi and positano place to stay yogurt the main street espresso wifi balcony apartment steps
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 257 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Stayed many times at the Hotel Miramare as part of my job.
It is a decent, cosy, central and friendly hotel with its + and -.
It is not a new building, and yes, maybe here and there, maybe a "friendly handyhand" is needed, but the cleaning is good, the staff (their English is not for top grades at Oxford) is helpful, cordial and if the language is a barrier...keep calm, no stress and Things will be sorted out. The best rooms, in my opnion, are those facing the backyard/parking of the hotel. The view is Italian style old Buildings, quite charming actually, the parking lot is private and covered (it helps with the view, and no noise), from those rooms you have city view, mountain view and some rooms ypu also have side seaview (you can see the blue...not the Beach). Sun exposure is also better for the rooms facing the backyard. No noise from the main road here.
It is not a modern hotel, but you do not feel you are in a victorian mausoleum.
Breakfast is...italian, and served in the basement. Not optimal but anyway not a disaster. A lot of cakes and biscuits/cookies, jams, some grilled vegies, cheese, ham or salami, fried eggs (not to be judged by its "looks"), there is "Black coffee" but DO ask Massimo for an expresso/capuccino or americano from the real espresso machine.
Normally it is Super Massimo that is in charge of breakfast..alone..so be patient, you will get your coffee...by the way, do not ask Massimo for a lot of Things at the same time, he is great there is no need to stress him :). Maybe not the "great breakfast" in life, but it is decent and you have the basics.
This hotel do not have a restaurant but for some fine dinning, i definetely recommend a dinner at San Lazaro Botanico Hotel (5 star) owned by the same family. Guests from Miramare have a special rate for visiting the famous cactus gardens or just enjoy the fabulous pool and spa from Botanico Hotel. The owner, Lady Angela, created a hillside paradise worth visiting.
At the Miramare, one have a common terrase to enjoy the sun, read a book, hang with friends. They also have a Little bar at reception. There is good wifi all over and for free.
It is a simple, not bling fancy unit. Do not expect the grandeur, luxury and service of a 5 star but simple, friendly and cosy atmosphere.
If something does not function properly just have a Word with Rosa or with the one and only Angelo.

Room tip: Back yard/parking facing rooms.... believe me
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Dear Guests, thank you so much for your kind and detailed comment. We really appreciated it and we hope to meet you in next future. Warmest regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Miramare for 4 nights and were happy with our choice. Check in was quick and I found the staff to be friendly and warm. Room we had was comfortable, clean and functional. Having a small balcony was a bonus too.

Breakfast had the typical European fare of sweets, cold meats, yoghurt and cereal. Unfortunately, breakfast items were not always replenished (even up to an hour prior to end of service) and we found ourselves having to go to the bakery across the street for breakfast even though it was included in the room rate.

Roof top terrace was nice with view of the water. Not having a pool was unfortunate but we forfeited it to save money and chose the Miramare on price and location, central to everything in Maiori and steps from the beach.

I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind not having a pool as it is good value for money. Breakfast just needs some tweaking.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Holidaywhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear Guests, we wish to thank for comment about yiur stay and suggestions about the breakfast. We'll improve our service. We really hope to meet you soon. Warmest regards from all te Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Located steps from the longest stretch of beach in the Amalfi region. Beach is rocky, though, so be aware. Water is lovely. Excellent service by reception staff. Close to bus stop and ferries for Capri and Positano/Amalfi. Rooms need some updating but are clean. Shower was exceptionally small and we are small people. Other rooms may have had larger showers. Breakfast is served on the rooftop with a lovely view but the food is wanting and sits out in the sun, so best to get there early.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sassietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Dear Guests,
many thanks for you comment and suggestions, this helps us to improve our services.
We hope to meet you in next future.

Regards from all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Close to the beach but in a lane so you get view of beach only from some rooms
Breakfast and other services are bare minimum
Rooms are good and air conditioning is good
Bathrooms are neat and large
Friendly staff
The rooms are not sound proof even if you talking on phone a bit loud the neighbouring room gets disturbed
We had a guest knocking on our wall when we as a family were having a drink and laughing
Overall decent

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank anilk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Dear Guests,
we wish to thank you for comment.
Greeting from all the Staff, we hope to meet you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

This is a decent, small, somewhat warm hotel with bare minimum necessities and amenities.

The room that we were in was an ok size to fit 3 people, the bathroom was also just about ok. The Hotel doesn't seem to have been renovated in ages and all fittings, wall paper etc shout out loud about the same. The service and staff is good and they want to go out of the way to help you, which makes to feeling good. Basic things like electric kettle, tea etc is missing.

The breakfast is very minimal and can get better with better options. The 3 days of out trip toaster was not working and it remained like this, few unacceptable issues. A few food items had turned bad too.

The best thing about this hotel is that it has a private beach which is about 5 m walking distance and it is free for residents for a few months. In and around this place there are good eating joints and park to entertain kids. Overall leaves you with a nice flavor

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nanditabakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania I, Responsabile reception at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2015

Dear Guests,
we wish to thank you for your comment.
We apologize for the inconveniences involved in your stay.
We hope to meet you next time you'll be in town
Kindest regards from all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews