We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I know this review is a bit late, but nevertheless thought I ought to write one, We stayed in the Majestic Palace for 2 weeks in June 2011. The Hotel itself was lovely and in a beautiful spot. The rooms and grounds were very clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the room was always clean and tidy. We had a room overlooking the pool in the main building and didn't find the noise from the entertainment disturbing, as there was only a few gigs during the week. I don't know whether this was because we visited out of the main holiday season (although one of our weeks was half term week), but evening entertainment was definately lacking.

Our child was 7 at the time of the trip and I can honestly say that the kids club was non existent also. The lady very rarely ventured outside of the club room to entice the kids to join in, although she was new to the hotel. Also, did not agree to the children having to pay to play crazy golf, pool, tennis etc.

The food in the hotel was OK, but definately catered more for the German market, as the majority of visitors were German, and some quite rude, one in particular spilling hot sauce on our son because they would not wait in line patiently at the buffet counter.

Malcesine itself is a charming village and the stroll from the hotel very nice, only about 20 minutes into town and about 30 minutes back (uphill). Tourist bus and hotel bus available if you don't fancy the walk. We went on the Lake Tour with First Choice. We had a great day and the scenery and places we visited were absolutely lovely.

I would definately return to Lake Garda, but not necessarily to this hotel. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Fluffy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Spent a week at the Majestic Palce from 24th September to 1st October. This is an excellent hotel. Even though the majority of guests in the hotel were German, British customers were catered for equally as well. All the staff were helpful and friendly and most spoke some english. We stayed in a room in the main hotel, over the bar area. We were warned by the staff on reception that we might find it noisy as the bar remained open until midnight. Altough there was entertainment on most nights and we could here it very well whilst sat on the balcony, once we went inside and closed the patio doors. we were not disturbed by it at all. The hotel is set part way up a mountain about a 20 minute walk down hill to the town and a 30 minute walk back uphill to the hotel. My wife, who has mobility problems did manage to walk up to the hotel a couple of times. For those who could not manage the walk back up, there was a regular tourist bus or the hotel bus to get you there and back during the day. Both cost one euro in each direction.
The hotel is set in its own grounds, which are well maintained. the facilities are suitable for couples and families. The food was excellent, it was self service buffet style, always plenty of variety, well cooked and served hot. Restaurant staff were very friendly. Apart from one night when there was a magician on, speaking solely in German, the rest of the entertainment was excellent with artists singing primarily in English.
Everywhere was kept clean, public areas and bedrooms. Sheets were changed regularly throught the week and towels changed daily. The bedroom we were in was spacious with a good size balcony.
There were plenty of sun beds dotted around the pool areas and in the gardens. It is the hotels policy that beds cannot be reserved with towels so that meant that you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to claim a bed.
My only negative comment about this hotel is about the air conditioning. When we were there, the temperature was in the thirties and the air conditioning had been switched off by the hotel on 15th September. Despite the hot weather, they did not turn it back on, which left the bedroom too hot during the night.
Apart from that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel overlooking the pool get the sun most of the day and have good size balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have just returned home from a week at the Majestic Palace. It is a lovely hotel in a tranquil and peaceful spot. The village is about 20-25minutes walk downhill to Malcesine, it was difficult to walk back up a very steep hilll, but the bus service is very good costing just €1.oo per trip and always arrived on time. The hotel was very good but if I was booking again I would request a room in the annex as they are much superior at very little extra cost. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and staff were always on hand with helpful friendly advice. The food was excellent and free wine and beer throughout dinner and four lunches through the week. The only down point is you cannot reserve your table in the dining room but there is always one available. They do not however cater very well for tours returning late as they only serve a cold plate which is already prepared - so if you do not like the food on the plate you have no other choice, a cold buffet would be far better. There is also entertainment during the week but it finishes promptly at around midnight and we were never disturbed by noise of any kind at night.

Room Tip: It is worth updating to the annex building as the rooms in the main hotel are very dated, but they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lohlri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently returned from a week at this hotel.It is set in very attractive grounds, the facilities are good, staff pleasant, and our superior room in a block away from the main building was spacious, comfortable and gave a lovely view across to the lake.The walk into town is manageable, whilst the hotel shuttle bus and the tourist bus are adequate alternatives if walking is not an option.So far so good.However we felt that the dining experience, as an earlier reviewer described it, was disappointing, particularly when set against the positives of this hotel.The restaurant is huge, and as there is no waiter service there is constant activity as guests move around and queue at times for food.Some of the dishes were good but others, including pizza and ice cream, were below the standard of that sampled in town or elsewhere around the lake.The dining room closed at 8.30pm, at which point cloths were laid over the drinks' machines, some of the food started to be removed and soon after the lights were dimmed. Whilst acknowledging that not everyone will agree with our comments, for us a relaxing evening meal in atmospheric surroundings at the end of the day is part of the enjoyment of the holiday and the Majestic Palace did not provide this. When booking we did not have the option of bed and breakfast only, which would have been our preference, but on two evenings we skipped dinner and had excellent meals in the town. Nevertheless, despite these concerns we had a lovely week in this beautiful part of Italy.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank edandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from a week at Majestic Palace. Food was excellent, always hot, good choice and plenty of it. Did not think much about the wine at dinner. Staff very friendly. Hotel clean. Evening entertainment was very amateurish. There is a lovely walk to town, go out of hotel turn left, about 20 yards on right hand side of road there is a pathway take this until you reach some steep steps on left hand side. Take these and you will eventually get to a road. Crossover and the lovely lakeside walk takes to straight into Malcesine - a good stroll about 25 mins. We did a 'further afield' trip to the Dolomites - a wonderful trip, but a head for heights is needed - you go up to about 10,000 feet.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was quite substantial in size. Smal balcony but adequate for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marion009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

4 of us returned from a week's holiday at the MP today. Everything was spot on ( apart from the bedmaking i.e. the top covers were straight but the bottom sheet was never smoothed out which was a trifle annoying and entailed " a do it yourself chore every night " ). The Hotel is spotless, food fantastic and very varied, the staff brilliant and so friendly. The walk to and from the Hotel into Malcesine was not as arduous as some previous reviews suggested, we found it only took 20 mins max and that was in monsoon conditions. There are plenty of quiet grassy spots to relax on a sunbed and plenty of activities ( i.e. Table Tennis, Crazy Golf, Giant Draughts & Chess etc etc.
We had superior rooms which were exceedingly spacious and well worth the small extra cost. Malcesine is an excellent centre for accessibility to other places on the Lake. All in all an excellent holiday and will return to the MP when we visit Lake Garda to see the places we didn't have time for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Just returned from week at Majestic Palace. Very nice surroundings, clean, good facilities, food was fantastic and plenty of it. Restaurant can be a little manic but things do run smoothly and there are never long ques for food. The only problem for us was the music was loud at night. There is a selection of evening entertainment throughout the week. On Monday its Brazillian night. This means very loud music up until about 11pm. We had two children who couldnt sleep at all and it wasnt a pleasant experience trying to get them off (for those who have young children you will know what I mean). I went downstairs to the reception and explained the situation and had an apology but was told that it would only go on for another 10 minutes. Half an hour later the music stopped. However, we also complained in the morning and was told that nobody else complained. We were the only ones apparently and almost made to feel we were wrong for complaining. Having spoken to a few other families we discovered that they too were not happy with the volume of the music. I suppose some people dont like to complain. We were told by the reception staff that we shouldnt really hear the music in our family room but believe you me we could hear it loud and clear and loud enough to hear the lyrics clearly. This was every night the music was on appart from one night where they decided to put the artist in the bar which was fine. We are used to going to festivals etc and not really people who like silence but this was tough at times. This is such a shame I think as this is really a great hotel and the staff work so hard to keep the standard up and really put their heart into it. We had a great time appart from this.
If you want a sauna session you have to arrange for it to be turned on as I went down to it and it wasnt working. Bit of a flaw I think but not a huge problem.
Would love to go back in many ways but a little tentative due to the music. I dont know why it couldnt be in the bar every night which would be much quieter for residents and also loud enough if you want to hear the music by the pool. Some of the acts were quite good but not if your trying to get young children to sleep. This hotel seems to aim at families but the music situation is a flaw.
The walk to Malcesine centre was fine for us and we walked from the hotel to the town in around 10-15 minutes easily. The minibus is seemed non-existent but we did manage to catch it once from town but I never saw it operate other than that time. Other people seemed unsure of whether it actaully operated or not.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and woudl love to go back, next time with ear plugs.

Room Tip: Bad point: Famliy rooms are by pool and you can hear the evening music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
3.2 km away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.7 km away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
330 reviews
27.7 km away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
817 reviews
11.3 km away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,087 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Navene, 96, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $126 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Palace Malcesine
Majestic Palace Hotel Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing