We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Just back from our second visit to Majestic Palace . It was like coming home , felt very comfortable to be back in this lovely place . Nothing has changed from last time , staff still smiling and pleasant , they even remembered us from last year ! Rooms kept spotlessly clean , every day . We stayed in the extension again as we loved it there last time . Rooms are huge , waterfall shower , beautiful view , we were on 6th floor . The food was plentiful and of a really high quality as always . Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us this year , rained every day . So we didn't get to spend as much time as we would have wished in our little haven underneath our apartment , a beautiful quiet little spot away from the main pools , peaceful garden with no noise apart from birdsong . It's a perfect spot for couples seeking a bit of peace and quiet to read and relax .
For those who haven't been Malcesine is a beautiful place . In my opinion the nicest town on the Lake . As the weather wasn't good we travelled round a bit and visited Limone, Peschiera , Bardalino and Sermoine . They are really beautiful places , each one more spectacular than the last . But I think it's Mount Baldo and the connection with nature in Malcesine which make it my favourite , it's just completely different from the others .
We will be back and of course it goes without saying that " Majestic Palace " will be our home from home again next time :-)))

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank annbrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Myself and husband stayed here for a week from 21/5/16. What a week, fantastic place, we travelled with Thomson and I must say the reps were seen frequently, they were friendly and good at their job, contactable 24/7.The transfer time took 1.1/2 hr. We were in room 121 which is directly above the entrance of the hotel, no sun at this end but lovely views. Not having been to Lake Garda before I was unsure of which resort to choose from but having now been and travelled to a few other resorts definitely booked the right hotel and resort. Malcesine (pronounced Malchesnie) is fabulous. The hotel is between 20-30 mins walk from the centre dependant on how quick you walk, it is a nice walk down taking in the views, the walk back up is a slight incline but feels worse because it is a long road, again taking unto 30 minutes taking it easy, the entrance to the cable car is at the bottom of the road, which is in the centre. Taking a left at the bottom of the road (2 min walk) takes you to the bus station, purchase any bus tickets in the station or tobacconist shops or you can pay on the bus. purchasing return tickets are cheaper, you can also purchase 3/7 day passes. Just cross the road and you are heading towards the lake front, lots of restaurants/bars/cafes/ice cream, juice parlours, shops, cobbled streets, the castle, the harbour, a very beautiful, picturesque place. another walk from the hotel, instead of taking a left and walking into town, cross the road, walk left passed the car park, take a right down a narrow lane/pathway, continue walking down until you reach some steps to the left, go down the steps and quite steep slope to the bottom, there is a hand rail part of the way, you have now reached the main road, you can walk on the promenade into town, this a lovely walk, not too taxing and the views are beautiful. instead of walking down the steps you can carry on walking down the lane, passing camp sites and BB's, again leading onto the main road, walk on the promenade, taking a left and you will pass the area where the paragliders land (or should land) sometimes they end up in the water, you can sit and watch these and many other sports activities that are going on. When you reach the castle, you take a left up a short, steep hill and you are back in the centre. This is quite a walk but there are cafe's you can stop at and it is well worth it. (a comfortable 1.30 hrs). There are more Germans than English holidaymakers in the hotel and resort and because most of the Germans travel to Lake Garda by car they take their dogs, dogs seem to be allowed everywhere, be prepared to see them in the hotel but not in the restaurant, they are not a problem, I was quite jealous because I would have loved to have been able to take my dog with me. Lots of bikers and walkers. Weddings take place at the castle so don't be surprised to see a bride or 2 in the castle area. The hotel - A free drink on arrival, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable, entertainment in the evenings isn't bad, the magician is funny, more entertaining for the children really. We were half board and it was worth every penny. Every Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday there is also free lunch. Every day between 4-5pm there is free tea/coffee with biscuits from the bar. Breakfast is a choice of continental but also offers fresh boiled, fried eggs, omelettes, streaky bacon, sausages (frankfurter hot dog style). I had read in a previous review that the coffee wasn't good, but it was fine, just like we get here in UK. Evening meal - we usually went down for dinner at 7.30 and there was always a place for us to sit and plenty of fresh food. Something to suit everyone, the food was very tasty and I can be quite picky but enjoyed everything I ate. At lunch and evening meal there is free wine and beer on offer, as much or little as you want. I have also read in a review the Germans don't queue but everyone queued, its quite simple really and when you say queue, the most was 4/5 people (if there was a queue). The waiters/waitresses are very quick to clear tables and re set etc; they are friendly and helpful. Costs for local tax 1 € per person, per day, safe 1 € per day. Much cheaper than some other places I have stayed at. Trips - Limone, rather than taking the 26€ evening cruise go during the day for 8€, it is a lovely little place, very hilly. We took a bus to Riva, walked back on the promenade to Torbole (about 30 mins stroll) lots of water sports going on, lots on bikes, after walking round resorts got bus back from Torbole on the main road, total cost for 2 on bus return €11. Bus to Bardolino for 2 cost 8€, we then walked on the promenade to Garda (approx 30 mins) and caught the extra fast boat back to Malesine, this cost 32€, it took 1 hr whereas the slower boat takes 2 hrs. It is very easy to get around by bus or boat. There is a shuttle bus to the centre from the hotel (hourly until 5pm) at a cost of 1€ each way. All the places we visited were beautiful, the scenery is very different to the south of the lake than in the north, my favourite place was Malcesine, it just seems to have everything. We will definitely return in the future. I gave a reduced star for sleep quality only because the hotel could be a bit noisy at times, banging doors etc; but noise is not permitted after 11pm. It wasn't the noisiest hotel we have stayed in but I do think it will be noisier in the summer months. There isn't a kettle in the room so we took our own, there is a small fridge.

Room Tip: Not 121 if you want sun, the poolside rooms seem to get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We booked this holiday within three weeks of deciding where to go. The hotel is a good 20 minutes out of town and coming back is uphill. The hotel has a minibus service which for some reason stops after 5pm. The room was good with plenty of hot water, comfortable bed and plenty of space, the food is buffet service both for breakfast and dinner, there is plenty of choice every day. The downside is that it is very popular with the Germans and at meal times you have to be not afraid to stand your ground in your efforts to get your food, queueing is not there custom and it can be the survival of the fittest. They make for the desserts first to get what they want and then two or three trips for main courses is a regular practise, however it's a topic of conversation. There were at night children running around the gardens at 10-30 at night which if you are having an early departure the following day is a nuisance. All in all not a bad hotel if your happy to join in the free for all at meal times and do not want a quiet time.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Flyer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Ok, I am going to be slightly harsh as this hotel can be so much better. Position wise it is a 15 minute walk on a incline from the town centre, the hotel does offer a shuttle service between 10.00am until 5.00pm from the town but does not run every hour.
The staff are very courteous and polite and work hard..we was on a half board basis but I recommend B and B as there are many places to eat in the town itself. The breakfast is self service as is the evening meal. As this hotel or area mainly attracts a older clientele they tend to eat very early in the evening as dons as the doors open which means if you go in later the food is sparse and unimaginative after it's been mangled by diners !! I did complain to the hotel food manager who agreed it's very hard as 200 plus diners cram for their meals.
Plenty of beer ,soft drinks and wine available with your meal so what happens people remain seated and drink as once you leave you have to purchase your drinks from the main bar.
The coffee is not to my taste , hotel coffee not as good as from the town bars.
Ideal as near cable car.
Some rooms have a lake view which is breathtaking.
Bathrooms good size with plenty hot water. Lots evening entertaining mainly solo duos singing act. The hotel has a big German clientele as it's just 4 hour drive from Munich.
Taxi cost is 9 euro per car to or from town so as we used every day it can be pricey.
All in all. I recommend if you want easy relaxing stay and you not fancy diners that want to eat out all the time then it's worth a visit buy for me, I like trying all the bars and eateries so choose a B and B option. Indoor swimming pool and gym section for your workouts if you so desire.

Room Tip: Rooms on 200 level have lake view I,e 217 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wildsexylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I love Italy, and love the Italian coffee and food.

But I was told at this hotel that you can't have a coffee in the restaurant in the evening as its not Italian way.

I find that there is a lot of strange rules in this hotel, but the coffee comment it's not Italian way has made me wright this review.

I then tried a Coffee in the bar, and found that it has a very harsh burnt taste. I asked for another coffee and this was the same burnt taste. I was told please don't order the coffee as its all the same here.

Oh
If you like to use a safe in the room, caution as the safe is only 8" x 5" x 5". So only good for small items. But the hotel will let you use there safe at reception.

There's other issues but my next trip to this area of Italy will not be in this hotel.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank DMP-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my family went on a last minute holiday to Italy and we chose the majestic palace hotel.the staff where very friendly and helped a lot they were one of the highlights to my holiday,the food was amazing. The only thing I have to moan about is the swimming pool! The swimming pool was freezing. The day we arrived they were only just filling it up with cold tap water I don't blame it for being cold but when we heard that it wasn't a heated pool we were upset.
Leia age 10

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lemon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

I stayed here in april and my mum and I had an amazing 2 weeks here. the staff were friendly and very helpful. the rooms were brilliant and clean. the food was really very good. the town was down hill, about 15 minutes walk but I would highly recommend going there and will be planning to go back in the future! :)

Room Tip: we looked in the sales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.7 km away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
2.9 km away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#42 of 71 in Malcesine
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Navene, 96, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: C$225 - C$511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Palace Malcesine
Majestic Palace Hotel Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing