We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Malcesine”
Review of Hotel Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Augusta
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We knew before we went that the location of the Augusta would be good, and it certainly was. With a standard room overlooking the cable car and mountains, it wasn't as noisy as some reviewers have said (just pull down the roller shutter at night time, that keeps out any road noise).
The hotel is only minutes into the cobbled streets of Malcesine, and has a really nice quiet pool area for late afternoon occasions that we wanted to just sit down and cool off for a while.
We were pleasantly surprised at how modern and new looking the hotel was and obviously they have recently spent a lot of money on its tasteful refurbishment.
We were welcomed by Marina and she was very helpful, even advising that at 11 o'clock in the morning our room was ready.
We had already had a week in Garda visiting the places on the southern part of the lake, and Malcesine was great for getting to the top half and places such as Limone and Riva, and of course the Dolomites. The town itself was so picturesque with some very good restaurants.
Mount Balde is just across the road but get there early for the cable car before the long queues.The views up there are tremendous and we walked for hours in the sunshine.
Air con in the hotel is an extra charge but we didn't need it when we were there. As another reviewer has said the hot water wasn't always as hot as it could be but other than that this hotel is great value and we will certainly go back there if we return to Malcesine

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lesanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016

We arrived and by 2 pm was sitting by the pool relaxing with a glass on wine a book under the olive groves surrounded by blue skies and hills and mountains what more could you ask for!!
Even though our room was on the road side it was not a problem, we could sit on the balcony looking at the Castle or the Cable Car and watch the world go by.
It is a very clean hotel with good size rooms and bathrooms, beds are good. All the family and staff all work very hard and are polite, the breakfast had a very good selection, we used the air con which was not to noisy, we also used the indoor pool temp 27 and Jacuzzi 32 and though the hotel is close to the road you are not aware it and played table tennis. The only negative is that the hot water could be hotter especially in the morning, not so bad in the afternoon.
It is about a 10 min walk down to the Ferry plenty of shops to keep you busy, lots of restaurants they are all about the same. Would also like to say well done for keeping up the family business Benedetti and hope it stays in the family for the future.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room overlooking the pool and lake, we had room 45 top floor on the corner of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed for 7 nights in room 45. The hotel in very clean in all areas and the rooms are cleaned daily. The breakfast buffet was good , the homemade chocolate cake was lovely ! The location was fantastic, opposite Monte Baldo cable car, we had lovely mountain and lake views and also of the castle just stunning ..... We didn't bother with the air con as just closing the shutters during the day and leaving the windows open at night were fine. It can be a bit noisy, with traffic noise, til about 11.30 ish pm and first thing but it didn't really bother us or spoil our time there at all. The pool area including jacuzzi and indoor pool are so peaceful after a busy day out walking and enjoying the area. Would definitely go again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sianol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Hotel is not far from town centre and has lovely pool area. Very clean but rooms overlooking mountains are noisy from road traffic and air conditioning units. Breakfast a bit bland and could do with another hot drinks machine .

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the mountains - incredibly noisy both from traffic and air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The Augusta is a lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel with high standards. The Fam. Benedetti make you truly welcome into what is also their home. Our third visit, this time with daughters and grandchildren. We were positioned together in Two suites and double - all excellent and beautifully clean and light. We will all return soon. The 3-stars relate to the lack of a restaurant - in our opinion, a real bonus, given the wonderful restaurants on the doorstep. Fam. Wilson.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adviser266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Can only echo the many positive things people are saying on here - we stayed at the Augusta as a couple for 11 nights mid August and had a wonderful holiday.We booked the de luxe double with balcony and lake view - it's more than just a lake view, you directly overlook the Scaligeri castle, can see across to Limone and have a spectacular view of the practically the whole of the northern section of Lake Garda - it really is stunning - I believe the Italian phrase is 'da morire' - to die for. The room is really spacious, large king size bed, seating area, multi channel TV (who needs a TV with these views!!) nicely decorated in pastel shades. Lovely 'raindrop' type shower although the cubicle is slightly cramped. This room - 52 - is in an annexe (2 floors with no lift - as was made clear on booking.) Air con available if you want to pay (keep the curtains closed when the sun gets round in the afternoon if you don't want to pay!)
Breakfast was a generous buffet with hot options, yes there was occasionally congestion in the coffee machine area! Staff friendly, helpful and multi lingual .
Great location - across the road from the Monte Baldo cable car -long queues even at 9 o'c in August but well worth it! You're 5 minutes walk into the old town, 10 minutes to the harbour and ferry terminal and all the restaurants and hustle and bustle of this gorgeous town.
The pool area is absolutely lovely - it's basically set in an olive grove with a great balance of natural shade and/or sun and beds available even at the busiest times, (usually mid afternoon).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randalp255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A modern, well decorated hotel in a good location, across the road from the cable car station and within 15 minutes walk to the castle, restaurants and bars. Reception was welcoming and the two, middle aged lady receptionists speak reasonable English and German. Between 7pm and 11 pm the desk is open, but not by a great linguist, after 11 pm you need to use your room door key card to enter the hotel. You also need to use the reception area to get Wi-Fi and get your pool towels from there. The public rooms are bright and clean, the bar prices are reasonable (4 euros for a large beer). Pre-made lunchtime sandwiches/rolls are available, anybody wishing something more substantial, Xtreme (café/bar) 2 mins. away and Ristoro Restaurant 4 mins. down the road. There is an indoor pool and quite a large outdoor pool, we had no trouble getting a sun beds, peak occupancy tends to be around 3 pm. Olive trees provide shade. Buffet breakfast is very substantial with a varied choice cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, pastries and two hot dishes. There does tend to be a bit of a 'bottle neck' at the coffee machine. Breakfast can be taken in the dinning room, on a terrace overlooking the cable station or on the terrace overlooking the pool and castle. Our bedroom and bathroom were a good size, well furnished and clean. Adequate stowage, with a room safe at a sensible level ! TV (BBC/CNN). No fridge or Tea/Coffee. Air Con is available at 6.30pm to 6.30 am at 6 euros a day. The 'mountain facing' rooms do suffer from road noise, quieter 11pm to 6.30 am. You need to leave doors/windows open for fresh air or batten yourself down behind the double glazing and with the A/C on. We lived with the noise and rooms on that side are cooler, the sun is on the pool side rooms most of the day. You can wave at the hot and crowed tourists in the cable car cabs coming down from the mountain while having your sun-downers on the balcony. We researched several hotels in Malcesine, this appeared to be a good choice and it was. We had a very nice stay in the Augusta Hotel and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms have road noise but are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.2 km away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
160 reviews
1.5 km away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#19 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Antonella
Hotel Antonella
#21 of 71 in Malcesine
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Villa Orizzonte
Hotel Villa Orizzonte
#24 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augusta

Address: Via Navene Vecchia 35, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: $182 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augusta 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Augusta, an oasis of tranquility immersed in the greenery of a splendid garden with swimming pool and hydromassage 30, situated close to the historical centre and beach opposite the new cable car of Monte Baldo. We offer a great buffet breakfast on our panoramic terrace plus many other quality service. Completely renovated and equipped with the newest standard for 3 stars category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Augusta Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing