We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a lovely hotel.”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Arrived on the 5th of September for an eleven night stay. The hotel is situated just outside of Malcesine about a 15 minute walk to the town centre. Which suited my mother and I just fine as we wanted to be near Malcesine but not right in it. The room, a little small but big enough, was on the side of the hotel with a balcony view of both the lake and mountains and away from traffic noise. The shower was on the small side and there was a problem with the air con not running at its most efficient setting, but neither of these minor faults detracted from our holiday. The service in all departments was very good, the room and hotel were very clean and the dining service was very good considering the amount of guests staying. I would like to say a big THANK YOU to Alissia, Angela and Michael (apologies if I spelt your name wrong) who ran around as if their behinds were on fire they never stopped. Most importantly they did this with a smile on their faces. The food was very good well cooked, well presented and plenty of it. For the life of me I can not understand why some people had a problem with it. Perhaps they expected far too much. The same goes for the décor. Speaking as a man I found the decor quite tasteful, yes it had a feminine touch but that could be because the owner, Maria, is a woman. She has clearly tried to give the hotel a homely look and feel, and I think she has succeeded, I liked it and it did feel like a home away from home. This is NOT a 4/5 star hotel, it is a 3 star budget hotel and perhaps people need to change their expectations to match this fact. If you want perfection then spend £300/400 per person more and stay in a 4/5 hotel. Let me be clear, you get what you pay for. This is a lovely hotel, clean and quiet, with very good service in a great location. What more can you ask for at this price?

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Just returned from a 2 week stay with my wife at Hotel Cristallo in Malcesine on the Eastern shore of Lake Garda.

Due to very bad local weather on arrival the transfer from the airport to the hotel took much longer than was expected but this did not detract from our stay.

Check in at the hotel was simple and efficient and our room was on the 1st floor with a shared balcony (3 other apartments) overlooking the pool and with fabulous views of the Lake.

The room had twin beds and a bathroom with shower - the shower was probably the smallest that was available which often lead to inadvertent turning off of the shower lever or coming into contact with the shower surround. having said that, the shower and bathroom was clean and ventilated via an extract fan

There was plenty of wardrobe hanging space and enough shelves and drawers for our clothes for a two week stay.

Our stay was half board which consisted of breakfast and evening meal.
For breakfast there was the usual cereal choices, fruit juices, coffee, croissants, hams, eggs etc. Some days there was scrambled eggs & bacon.

The evening meal consisted of pre ordered (day before) three course meal but with salad & hams etc as a pre starter. On the first day, the salad buffet could lead you to think that your whole meal was the buffet as it was indeed ample !

The location of the hotel is on the main Gardesana Road, which can be quite busy but there was no noticeable noise. To access the lake you had to walk a short distance along the busy road and cross at the crossing and then turn left down an access path directly to the lake all in well under 10 minutes. From the Lake side a nice stroll leads you shortly to the busy town centre

The staff were very pleasant and attentive/helpful

Room Tip: Room with Lake View and balcony recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We have just returned from this hotel. The stairs looked a problem as my husband is not so good on stairs but there was a wide area to the side so not a problem. A lift took you to any floor you wanted so any walking issues were solved. There was a short walk by the road, very narrow as no pavement, led down a slope immediately to the lake front. Lovely walk to the town by the lake front - only 10 - 15 mins, no rush and just fantastic views. Lots of cafes to choose from - can share pizza's and they were light and delicious. Shops had great choose especially as there were great sales when we were there. Cashed extra money to take advantage of the leather handbags, wallets etc sorted many a present! Also bought some shorts and great choices of scarfs. Ice cream lovely, of course. Re the hotel - the food was adequate with lots of choice for breakfast but bit samey. Only had "bacon" and eggs for one day rest of time boiled eggs. Do not ask for a packed lunch, buy a pizza out if you are missing the evening meal as it was poor. Bread rolls which were hard, a tiny pack of two biscuits, an orange (had to fight for a knife to peel it) and a bottle of water. Evening meals were mostly good, shame that if you had fruit it was always an orange! Sometimes you felt like ice cream but because you order the day before you had to have what you had chosen. There were 4 courses starting with a "salad" which was made up of lots of individual bits you could choose.

The rooms were clean, shower small and if you were a large person this could be a problem. We had a double bed and then a single bed as well - assume this gave us a slightly larger room. Needed the two pillows and they were a bit flat for me - air conditioning was impossible to work, no instructions, so had window open all the time and pushed the blind up to get air flowing. Had a mountain view, which was fine if you lay on the bed and looked up, but if standing you saw other properties which was not so good. No kettle, tea or coffee which was a shame these days. Had to pay 5 euros for wi-fi which was not that good - ask another customer for it rather than pay! Staff were friendly and we had no trouble with people being pleasant.

Didn't use the pool - the only time I went there it seemed very busy as not that big. The "drawing room" was not that inviting as long curvey seating areas and therefore not really cosy and you could see through the glass into the dining room. The best place to sit was just outside the entrance under a glass ceiling, but the cushions were thin on the wicker chairs.

If I went again I have now found another hotel right by the lake front I would try but of course it may be far more money. So for the package price we were happy to be in such a lovely place and the hotel is more than acceptable in every way.

Room Tip: Go for lakeside and there are balconies which may well be better if you want to sit and read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank funkid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Went for a week as a family holiday with my wife and sons 18 and 13. One twin one double room. We chose to stay B&B rather than half board. We'd been to Malcesine before so knew you could eat out well in the town, and wanted the flexibility. The Buffet breakfast was more or less the same everyday, but was as absolutely fine, staff were helpful and quickly brought anything that ran out. I'd rate the breakfast as good, to get better you'd need a little more variety.

All the staff we interacted with were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, and cleaned everyday including both days at the weekend. The location was good. You could walk to a really nice lake beach by crossing the road and walling between a couple of hotels. It was a 15 minute walk in to the town centre, which was a pleasant walk before and after dinner. Some guests with smaller children used taxis.

Malcesine itself is just fantastic, unbelievable views, lots to do around the lake and trips to Verona or even Venice and Milan if you don't mind longer coach journeys. We booked flights and then directly with the hotel. We hired a car which gave us a lot of flexibility. The transport is good so it's not necessary, but with transfers and trips we thought it would even out in terms of costs.

Wouldn't suit everybody, not a typical clubbers/night life holiday destination, but great if you like culture, walking, beautiful views, friendly locals and great food and drink!!

Room Tip: The are rooms with balconies and sun terraces, which have views of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Location the only good think about this hotel, and that it is fairly clean.
We were double charged a room upgrade and made to sign a disclaimer to not ask for money back from our tour operator. The room was ok size, with shower you couldn't wash in as was so small. The bed was absolute agony to sleep on so we had to request blankets to soften it up. The pillows were the poorest excuse for pillows we had every seen.
Air con is not air con, it is a fan type cooler which was not sufficient in the height of summer. The room was boiling.
We were charged 5 Euros for Wifi, which we could only get if we stood at our room door. We asked for a refund but never got it. They like to take money off you for everything they can here.
Gym - equipment broken so unusable.
Food - absolutely HIDEOUS. You pick the night before what you want the next day (no choice for vegetarians), like in hospital. You have to sit at the same table every night and food was inedible. We ate out every night despite paying half board. Breakfast was the poorest we have seen. Left over salad and deserts from the night before? YUCK.
Decor is hideous. Like someone has thrown up peach and pink everywhere then added in the weirdest mix of junk ever. It badly needs updating to this century.
Bar - over priced and poor quality. Much cheaper having drinks in lovely Malcesine.

Pool clean but very small and note enough sun beds/ parasols for summer.Parasols on the roof terrace would help.

Room Tip: Balcony with lake view is a must if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank tiara-or-tent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Just returned from a wonderful week staying half board. I can't understand any of the bad reviews. The room we were in was spacious and clean. We had a very large balcony to watch the wonderful sunsets over the lake. There were four courses to the evening meal, the first being a buffet with plenty of choice. Remembering that this is a 3 star hotel, we found the rest of the courses quite satisfying. I was even offered an alternative when I did not choose a desert. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: A balcony room with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie-KevinBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We stayed at this family run hotel in June 2015 through Riviera Travel. Before choosing this hotel we looked at other reviews and the main focus seemed to be that the rooms and showers were on the small side but this was more than made up for by the location, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff. We found these comments to be very accurate. The hotel was very clean and Maria and her team were always helpful. I cannot understand the very negative comments made by some reviewers as this was not our experience. The hotel is charming and the views at the front of the lake are fabulous. We enjoyed having a drink on the terrace each night after our meal and also the lakeside walks to other bars along the waterfront. The bar drinks were reasonable, the buffet breakfasts were plentiful and there were always a few options to choose from each evening. Malcesine is about a 15 minute walk along the lakeside and there are lots of nice bars and restaurants to choose from. There is also a market each Saturday and a castle to explore. This is not a five star hotel but if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel then this ticks all the boxes. We would definitely stay here again and were very glad we chose the Cristallo from the list of options on Lake Garda that were provided by Riviera Travel and which we were able to see during our airport transfer. We had a mountain view room with a balcony which was fine and gave us a different perspective from the beautiful lakeside views from the front of the hotel. I would recommend requesting a balcony though.

Stayed: June 2015
5  Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
4.1 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#16 of 71 in Malcesine
195 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Laura Christina
Hotel Laura Christina
#69 of 71 in Malcesine
112 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Antonella
Hotel Antonella
#21 of 71 in Malcesine
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#41 of 71 in Malcesine
31 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#50 of 71 in Malcesine
235 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#32 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Via Gardesana 7/9, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: C$148 - C$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristallo 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristallo Malcesine, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing